Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 27th June 2022, 14:12   #76

Re: BYD e6 electric MPV, now launched at Rs 29.15 lakh

BYD EV I spotted today on the way to Blr Airport.

BYD e6 electric MPV, now launched at Rs 29.15 lakh-20220627_074652.jpg
Old 27th June 2022, 18:26   #77

Originally Posted by arun1100 View Post
BYD EV I spotted today on the way to Blr Airport.
Yes, have seen almost 2 personal (non-commercial) BYD's in last 1 month. Have been trying to catch hold of these guys to get to know their experience. But i guess a cycle is no match to a car on an open road, Waiting to catch one in traffic jam.

Originally Posted by porsche_guy View Post
Nice thread, i mean i had heard of this, but this is quite a detailed write-up.

This is a proper company and these were proper media channel, so there might be a grain of truth in these broadcasts. What i wanted to know was, how they managed 1000km in a single charge, what were the driving conditions/parameters, was it on actual road or test track?

Last edited by EV Fan : 27th June 2022 at 18:29.
EV Fan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th June 2022, 19:44   #78

The 1000km/ charge is fake news.

BYD India website itself mentions they charged the vehicle 5 times, during its 2203km run. No mention of 1000km range.
https://bydautoindia.com/all-new-byd...e-in-india.php

Last edited by aim120 : 27th June 2022 at 19:47.
Old 5th July 2022, 18:06   #79

Just booked one, I would be willing to answer any questions about the car in the coming days. Will post pictures and review the car. There is nothing to write about the decision process. The Sales rep from Krishna BMW drove one over, all of us family members took a test drive and were sold.
Bimmer_Sage is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th July 2022, 16:36   #80

Got opportunity to ride in a BYD during last trip to Hyderabad. They have 1 as airport taxi. Few observations from what I can remember:
1. Smaller than Innova but 2nd row space was great
2. Very good pickup, smooth and persistent. Driver was going above 100 and had to ask him to slow down
3. Interiors felt well appointed, better than Innova
4. Driver said they are trying to get some more

Overall it was a positive experience.
omzworld is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th July 2022, 10:16   #81

I had a test ride in the EV6 and FYI what I am looking for is an almost purely driver driven city car. couple of things of note.
1) in the city if feels great does not accelerate fast and that is a good thing when sitting at the back
2) feels heavy over bad road that minimises movement and makes it a comfortable ride.
3) looks like the claimed range is possible with light driving basis the KWH consumed on my rather long test drive.

Now for why not
1) 31L on-road is fairly steep for a very stark interior car. and it is bare bones the seats feel cheap quality and the plastics used look and feel like recycled plastic. The dash and console have some shiny bits that seem to be a dirt and dust magnet.
2) back seat has no options. No arm rest, no tilt, nor adjustment at all.

Given quality what I would compare it to is a base variant XL6 or possibly lower, in which case the delta in price is 16L (~15L for an XL6 and ~31L for the BYD) and with that compare a ICE make a lot of sense.

IMHO BYD need to give better than Innova rear seat experience or drop the price on this by about 5L to become viable
Old 24th July 2022, 09:17   #82

I got my BYD delivered this past week and I have clocked a little more than a thousand kilometers. Range is as advertised. If you push it hard then obviously it is going to affect the range a little bit. But you don’t feel like pushing it. The ride is super plush. The android tablet as the infotainment works seamlessly. It is a no frills practical vehicle and if I charge at home it costs me around 360 bucks from 0 to a 100 percent range. Since the battery is big, almost 72 KW hr I have installed a ABB 22 kW AC fast charger. This car is capable of both AC fast charging up to 40KW and DC fast charging up to 60 KW. It is just 10 centimeters shy of length compared to innova and is a 5 seater which translates to a huge cabin and a lot of real estate for even super tall folks.
I have changed the light bulbs from halogens to LEDs. At the 5000 km mark when the service is due I would like to get the speakers upgraded from the dealership itself.
A big shout out to Gurpreet ji, GM Krishna group and Sukhwinder from Krishna BMW ludhiana. We have been associated with them for the better part of the decade and they have always been courteous and professional.
The car is almost 32 lakhs on road but if you can look for the right government schemes you can manage to lower the costs.
BYD e6 electric MPV, now launched at Rs 29.15 lakh-2b0e91cb95c3444198b3195aedb781c4.jpeg  

Bimmer_Sage is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 27th July 2022, 14:37   #83

Originally Posted by Bimmer_Sage View Post

I got my BYD delivered this past week and I have clocked a little more than a thousand kilometers.
Did you get a private number or commercial?
Old 27th July 2022, 14:44   #84

Originally Posted by KI07 View Post
Did you get a private number or commercial?
I got a private number.
Bimmer_Sage is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2022, 12:05   #85

Wait wasn't this car only available for commercial use?
Are they selling to private customers now?.
Old 2nd August 2022, 11:29   #86

Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
Wait wasn't this car only available for commercial use?
Are they selling to private customers now?.
Yes, they have started selling it to private customers. Depreciation for commercial use is 40% though. Depends how you want to plan your finances.
Bimmer_Sage is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th August 2022, 08:34   #87

Spotted this e6 on the way to work today. First time am spotting a privately owned e6 in Madras
BYD e6 electric MPV, now launched at Rs 29.15 lakh-a_20220812075305.jpg  

Old 12th August 2022, 12:15   #88

Originally Posted by Bimmer_Sage View Post
I got my BYD delivered this past week and I have clocked a little more than a thousand kilometers. Range is as advertised.
Congratulations on acquiring new vehicle!
Could you share the actual number of KMs you managed to drive on single charge?
Does the car of private buyers have anything different (feature / materials used in cabin etc.) from the initially launched 'commercial only' variant?

Sorry for asking for specific number.
Old 6th December 2022, 18:42   #89

Spotted this BYD E6 in Baner. First time saw one in flesh in Pune.

BYD e6 electric MPV, now launched at Rs 29.15 lakh-20221205_105941.jpg
catchjyoti is offline   (1) Thanks