Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 5th April 2022, 11:04   #1

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

Having launched the iX electric SUV, BMW is now gearing up to introduce the i4 electric sedan in India. The car is likely to be unveiled on April 28, 2022.

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-bmwi4showcasedinproductionformmarch172021.jpg

BMW offers two variants of the i4 in the international market. These include the eDrive40 and the M50. The former comes with a single-motor setup producing 335 BHP and 430 Nm, while the dual-motors in the M50 variant pack 537 BHP and 795 Nm. Both variants use an 83.9 kWh battery pack that offers a maximum range of 590 km and 521 km, respectively (WLTP cycle).

The i4 is the electric version of the 4 Series Gran Coupe. It features the same tall kidney grille as the IC-engine powered 4 Series. However, on the i4, it has been blanked out with a textured panel. The car also gets different front and rear bumpers and aero optimized wheels.

Inside, the i4 comes with a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen infotainment system equipped with the latest iDrive OS 8.

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 5th April 2022 at 11:05.
TusharK is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th April 2022, 11:20   #2

re: BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

I hope they price the M50 at about 1.0 - 1.4cr on road, and the 40e at the price of the m340i. if they can price at these prices it would be a fair price.
Old 5th April 2022, 23:51   #3

re: BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

I was hoping they would skip the ugly grill on the electric versions at least since it has zero functional purpose. But hey, you get funky blue highlights on the side of the car to tell everyone you are in an electric 4 series, great.
Cresterk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th April 2022, 18:28   #4

BMW India has unveiled the India-spec i4 electric sedan ahead of its launch on 26th May.

The new BMW i4 in India is expected to be sold in two variants - eDrive40 shown today and the more powerful M50 xDrive.

Both variants use a floor-mounted, lithium-ion battery pack that has a gross (total) energy capacity of 83.9kWh and a net (usable) capacity of 80.7kWh.

The i4 eDrive 40 has a claimed range of 590km (WLTP cycle), while the performance-oriented M50 xDrive has a range of 510km (WLTP cycle).

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-20220428_185406.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-fb_img_1651150579465.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-fb_img_1651150581557.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-fb_img_1651150583961.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-fb_img_1651150588347.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 28th April 2022 at 18:54.
Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th April 2022, 11:57   #5

What I am told by the BMW dealer is that theyre still targeting a price of 1 cr for this i4. Is that worth it ? I mean the iX is like 1.20 and this is also almost the same price. I hope they price it sensibly around 75. Dont know where these new car prices will go and stop and stabilise.
Old 29th April 2022, 12:42   #6

You would think they could have skipped that monstrosity of a grill on the electric version atleast.
Cresterk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th April 2022, 14:41   #7

Saw it yesterday in person. Looks really good! Even the grille (not a fan of standard 4 series) but this one works.

The screens inside are bigger than they look in the pictures.
Old 30th April 2022, 17:14   #8

BMW i4 electric sedan to be launched on May 26

BMW has announced that the i4 electric sedan will go on sale in India on May 26, 2022.

The BMW i4 was recently showcased in India for the first time. The car is likely to be offered in two variants - eDrive40 and M50 xDrive.

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-i4_100.jpg

The eDrive40 variant comes with a single-motor setup producing 335 BHP and 430 Nm, while the dual-motors in the M50 xDrive variant pack 537 BHP and 795 Nm. Both variants use an 83.9 kWh battery pack that offers a maximum range of 590 km and 510 km, respectively (WLTP cycle).

The i4 is based on the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe. It looks similar to its ICE version except for a few details like the blanked-out grille, reworked bumpers and the aero-optimized wheels. Inside, the car gets a 14.6-inch touchscreen infotainment system with the latest iDrive 8 interface and a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 12:58   #9

Moments before its launch in India:

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-ftqip2kacaahs7f.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-ftqs6pzwqaaurmk.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-ftqtfsmxsaaedqk.jpg

BMW Group in India after the BMW iX and the MINI Cooper SE. The BMW i4 has a 590 km range, it’s a CBU & is priced at ₹ 69.90 ex-showroom

- frameless doors, the new iDrive 8 system with a 12.3 inch driver’s display and a 14.3 inch touchscreen

- Promises 590 km on a single charge

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-000.jpg

BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-ftqvhuhwqaikj_i.jpg
BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh-ftqwawuuaaj3ur.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 26th May 2022 at 13:15.
volkman10 is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 13:36   #10

₹69.9 lakh ex showroom translates roughly to ₹72 lakh on the road pricing. For reference, a brand new C220d costs ₹68 lakh on road. Brilliant pricing.

Last edited by ADI7YAK : 26th May 2022 at 14:06.
ADI7YAK is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 13:38   #11

Good pricing, I guess this would be cheaper than M340i. KIA EV6 cannot be costlier than this.
SKC-auto is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 14:02   #12

Good to see some sensible pricing for a change,especially for a CBU.
BMW is keeping their head on their shoulders unlike MBIL.

Attaching the Spec Sheet and Brochure for everyones reference

Last edited by Sahil : 26th May 2022 at 14:12.
Sahil is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 14:07   #13

Great pricing. Even the Mini seemed decently priced. This launch might affect the XC40 electric badly, which is extremely overpriced at 75L. BMW doing things right in terms on pricing their electric vehicles.
kartavya is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 14:32   #14

Time for a poll, i4 vs ev6

Kia is taking booking at 3 Lac whereas BMW is happy with 1 lac. As I understand, some units are in-transit and may be available if booked early. Kia deliveries will start around September. i4 gets rear Air-suspension as standard and even though it looks very similar to the regular 3 series (except for that ugly grill) I reckon, Kia EV6 may get blended with other hatches. Yesterday, after seeing the ev6, for some reason, I was seeing more of i20 sports and even Baleno's

If Kia is around the same range in prices, I will pick the i4. Though I have not driven either of these, it will be safe to assume that BMW will be more engaging.

Last edited by Turbanator : 26th May 2022 at 14:33.
Turbanator is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 26th May 2022, 14:47   #15

Re: BMW i4 electric sedan India unveiling on April 28. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 69.90 lakh

i4 gets rear Air-suspension as standard and
Just noticed this in the spec sheet. Great that they are giving air suspension but I wonder why they were compelled to. I presume they could have given regular suspension and brought the price down even further. Unless the ground clearance is too low and air suspension is needed to be raised on big speed bumps?

Not sure if height adjustable ride is possible and what is the actual ground clearance as this is a big concern with EV sedans.
Sahil is offline   (17) Thanks