Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 1st October 2022, 13:51   #76

re: BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh

Is that Atto3 or the E6? Atto3 is not even launched right?
Old 1st October 2022, 16:03   #77

re: BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
I didn’t expect to see one in flesh so soon. A neighbour got home two days back. I didn’t know BYD until I saw this car, and saw the posts in our forum.

Haven’t had a chance to speak to him yet.

The car does look good.
Attachment 2363473
Thats a E6 not a Atto3.

Last edited by aim120 : 1st October 2022 at 16:04.
Old 1st October 2022, 20:13   #78

Yes. The E6 indeed. I should have been clearer in my previous post.
Old 5th October 2022, 09:34   #79

BYD Atto 3 getting ready for the launch on 11th October -

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-d11690ffad7f4fe4a3401c8f9ccd72ba.jpeg

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-0805a40f3d4a4af3b7f0bbd2fb136134.jpeg

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-9492d3c803de400296d631326911d849.jpeg

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-0495053156f8419ebc784bec70a1da06.png

Credits - u/makohe & v3cars
lonetraveller89 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 07:40   #80

It even provides vehicle to load option to charge appliances at home probably needs some V2G option from ABB in the future to enable it to power up our homes in case of failures Atto3VehicleToLoad.zip

Credits Mody BYD Service Lead/Manager for the earlier post. Kindly request admin to merge this with the earlier as I have missed providing this information and cannot edit it until approved.

Last edited by ampere : 10th October 2022 at 07:57. Reason: Back to back posts merged
ng565 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 10:18   #81

The E6 and now Atto 3 are supposedly the only mainstream, ground up proper EVs to hit Indian shores. The other competitors are ICE derivatives. With that being said I hope BYD prices the Atto 3 sensibly. From what the dealers have dished out so far, it seems the Atto 3 is aiming for a 35 lakh price bracket, which unfortunately takes away the 'mainstream' tag along with it. Looking forward to the launch.
Old 10th October 2022, 10:41   #82

BYD Atto 3 design sketches revealed ahead of launch

BYD has released a set of design sketches of the Atto 3. The electric SUV will be launched in India on October 11, 2022.

Name:  bydatto3frontview3.jpg
Views: 519
Size:  50.8 KB

The Atto 3 features a blanked-out silver grille with sleek LED headlamps on either side and wraparound LED tail lights with a light bar in the rear. The SUV has a dual-tone exterior with a black roof. The sketches also show a set of dual-tone alloy wheels.

Name:  bydatto3leftfrontthreequarter1.jpg
Views: 497
Size:  32.6 KB

The interior of the Atto 3 looks futuristic with its wraparound dashboard design. It has a 12.8-inch touchscreen in the centre which can be rotated into portrait mode. The car gets a 3-spoke steering wheel and a digital instrument cluster.

Name:  bydatto3rightrearthreequarter0.jpg
Views: 500
Size:  32.2 KB

Powering the Atto 3 is a permanent magnet synchronous motor that develops 201 BHP and 310 Nm, which is said to propel the car from 0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds. It is rumoured to come with the larger 60.48 kWh battery pack, which has a maximum claimed range of 420 km (WLTP cycle).

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 10th October 2022 at 10:42.
TusharK is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 11:11   #83

TBH not really sure the purpose of 'releasing' the sketches when the car is already available in flesh and has been reviewed in multiple countries - don't believe there is going to be any change, let alone a significant one for India region.

1. Review I watched yesterday for the Aussie market -

2. Although it might be a gimmick and another mechanical-electrical component which can go bust, but I'm impressed with the IFE screen orientation selection - depending on what app you use or want at a specific time, you can have it in vertical/horizontal orientation.

3. Also, the range seems to be really impressive - depending on how they price this here in India, it's going to be a pretty decent car - still unsure if this can be the 'only' car in a household.

-Djay.
djay434 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 11:31   #84

Originally Posted by GKR9900 View Post
The E6 and now Atto 3 are supposedly the only mainstream, ground up proper EVs to hit Indian shores. The other competitors are ICE derivatives. With that being said I hope BYD prices the Atto 3 sensibly. From what the dealers have dished out so far, it seems the Atto 3 is aiming for a 35 lakh price bracket, which unfortunately takes away the 'mainstream' tag along with it. Looking forward to the launch.
Unfortunately, i dont think BYD is exactly EXCITED at aiming for the 35 lakh. Its more like a forced decision, as the Atto 3 is coming as an as SKU, which means it incurrs sufficient taxes to push the price up. At a starting price of around 22 lakhs in their homemarket, i doubt they can push it any lower than 30lakhs at the start. As more localization starts in the future, the price should drop (along with battery prices).

BYD has always been pushing for the CHEAPER price more features concept from the start, which lead them to become the biggest EV manufacturer in the world. Their biggest advantage has been their battery building (experience & tech) over the years, so they defintely will aim to keep prices in check to ensure the keep the momentum going.

2023-2024 is going to be a massive set of years as almost all mainstream manufacturers are going to flood the market with one or more models of EV, so BYD defintely needs everything going well for them, if they want to remain in the lead.
daywiz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 12:01   #85

According to Mody BYD sales representative that I enquired, the prices for ATTO 3 would be around 34-35 lakhs. Looking steep when we compare it with MG's offering.
ottocycle is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 12:22   #86

Originally Posted by daywiz View Post
Unfortunately, i dont think BYD is exactly EXCITED at aiming for the 35 lakh. Its more like a forced decision, as the Atto 3 is coming as an as SKU, which means it incurrs sufficient taxes to push the price up. At a starting price of around 22 lakhs in their homemarket, i doubt they can push it any lower than 30lakhs at the start. As more localization starts in the future, the price should drop (along with battery prices).
BYD ATTO3 (Yuan plus) China price is not 22 lakhs. It was priced between RMB 131,800 (Rs 15.26 lakhs) and RMB 159,800 (Rs 18.5 lakhs). Even the bigger battery base variant is just Rs 1.2 lakhs more than the smaller battery base variant. These were the launch prices. Recently, the prices are increased due to an increase in raw material prices. Even after the price increase, the base variants costs Rs 15.96 lakhs. Of course, all these are after subsidies but subsidies in China are reduced a lot over the last few years, and currently around RMB 11,000 (Rs 1.27 lakhs) for these vehicles.

Taxes in India (GST of 5% and import tax of 15% for CKD and 25% for SKD) units are very low. That is why Hyundai Kona and MG ZS EVs are priced low. So, even BYD ATTO prices should start at Rs 23 lakhs (Rs 17 lakhs + 25% SKD + 5% GST). But I am not sure BYD will do the same. BYD priced all their vehicle in international markets much higher than the home market, especially in Europe.

Last edited by sri_tesla : 10th October 2022 at 12:25.
sri_tesla is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 13:47   #87

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
BYD ATTO3 (Yuan plus) China price is not 22 lakhs. It was priced between RMB 131,800 (Rs 15.26 lakhs) and RMB 159,800 (Rs 18.5 lakhs). Even the bigger battery base variant is just Rs 1.2 lakhs more than the smaller battery base variant. These were the launch prices. Recently, the prices are increased due to an increase in raw material prices. Even after the price increase, the base variants costs Rs 15.96 lakhs. Of course, all these are after subsidies but subsidies in China are reduced a lot over the last few years, and currently around RMB 11,000 (Rs 1.27 lakhs) for these vehicles.
Correct me if I am wrong, but I dont think subsidies are passed onto vehicles that are being exported out of China. Besides, in China, if my memory serves me correct, the subsidies are collected after the sale of the vehicle, not at the manufacturing /production stage. The overall subsidy would defintely be more than the RMB 11,000 as we have to take the central govt & individual province provided subsidy to manufacturers and add it to incentives given to individual customers. So if u ask me, the 17lakh price is a bit too low as an export consideration.

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
Taxes in India (GST of 5% and import tax of 15% for CKD and 25% for SKD) units are very low. That is why Hyundai Kona and MG ZS EVs are priced low. So, even BYD ATTO prices should start at Rs 23 lakhs (Rs 17 lakhs + 25% SKD + 5% GST). But I am not sure BYD will do the same. BYD priced all their vehicle in international markets much higher than the home market, especially in Europe.
Considering that Kona gets a headstart with a 10% lower tax by using the CKD, while the ATTO 3 goes with SKD. Even if we are to consider Rs 17 lakhs + 30% taxes), i doubt we are considering assembly costs, freight, marketing, warranty, dealer markups (small or big),etc. before the final ex-showroom price and if you have considered it, i would say Rs 85k is too low, considering the ATTO 3 is not yet a HIGH VOLUME model, yet.

However, like we all hope, if they do come up with an introductory pricing around 23-25lakh, it would defintely be a steal but to be honest, I wouldn't get my hopes too high. The European pricing is an indication it may be just around the 30lakh.
daywiz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 13:56   #88

In run up to the launch tomorrow Byd India posted a video sharing some screenshots of it.
BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-a259ea43f5ce408cbe88fc7c8799d9b4.jpeg  

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-e3b0fc6d855a4d9c92058627a3716c95.jpeg  

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-2fa7460968744a4c944db9429a22e519.jpeg  

BYD Atto 3 electric SUV to be launched this festive season. EDIT: Priced at Rs. 34 lakh-8256459c8cf34dfa891c1e9f47ca93b7.jpeg  

XRoader_001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 14:03   #89

By this time tomorrow we will know the exact pricing of the Atto3. Lets hope it is <30L.
TheRandomGuy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 14:10   #90

Originally Posted by daywiz View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but I dont think subsidies are passed onto vehicles that are being exported out of China.

Considering that Kona gets a headstart with a 10% lower tax by using the CKD, while the ATTO 3 goes with SKD. Even if we are to consider Rs 17 lakhs + 30% taxes), i doubt we are considering assembly costs, freight, marketing, warranty, dealer markups (small or big),etc. before the final ex-showroom price and if you have considered it, i would say Rs 85k is too low, considering the ATTO 3 is not yet a HIGH VOLUME model, yet.

However, like we all hope, if they do come up with an introductory pricing around 23-25lakh, it would defintely be a steal but to be honest, I wouldn't get my hopes too high. The European pricing is an indication it may be just around the 30lakh.
All the numbers I mentioned are excluding subsidies and include expected taxes for SKD vehicles and GST. All the freight costs, marketing, warranty, etc... applies to all other vehicles like Kona, and ZS as well. My point is, ATTO3 belongs to the same segment as Kona and ZS and Indian pricing should reflect that. Kona and ZS EVs are also very limited-volume models. If BYD prices it above 30 lakhs it will be an even more limited edition. BYD E6 is priced at Rs 29 lakhs and ita much bigger vehicle with a bigger battery (71.7 kWh).

Last edited by sri_tesla : 10th October 2022 at 14:15.
sri_tesla is online now   (2) Thanks