Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th February 2023, 18:10   #106

Re: Hyundai Ioniq 5 @ Auto Expo 2023

I wish they gave the center infotainment in black glass instead of that atrocious white. The whole point of Mercedes, Mahindra etc using black glass was to make it look like a seamless single screen which is totally ruined when you use white glass.
Cresterk is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 21:11   #107

It is a good looking car. Somehow reminds me of the Maruti Suzuki 80's era Hatchback. I don't see any rear windshield wiper either.

Will definitely go for a TD once it starts.
Abhinav6683 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 23:08   #108

There is no rear wiper in this car (not just in india but even globally). Hyundai says they have designed the car in such a way that the airflow will make it such that rain water won't stagnate on the rear glass. But unfortunately that's not actually the case and in heavy rain or snow it can be a problem. The one saving grace is that you can keep the rear parking camera (which is high resolution) turned on permanently on the infotainment screen as a backup in such a condition.
Old 8th February 2023, 08:20   #109

This car costs roughly $43k in US (35 lakhs INR) and is considered an entry level EV but it costs 55 lakhs in India on-road. How does this even make sense? And it's not like it's a CBU model.
Old 8th February 2023, 08:40   #110

Originally Posted by ulag62442 View Post
This car costs roughly $43k in US (35 lakhs INR) and is considered an entry level EV but it costs 55 lakhs in India on-road. How does this even make sense? And it's not like it's a CBU model.
55 lakhs? It is 47-48 lakhs on road in Delhi at least. Compare the Indian pricing to other cars sold at this price in the US and you will realise what a great deal this is.

And also the model we are getting in India is somewhere between the SEL Trim (47.5k $ = 39.6 Lakhs ₹) and Limited Trim (52.6k $ = 43.5 Lakhs ₹).
The indian model is closer to the Limited Trim in features.

These prices are the MSRP prices in USA which can be compared with the ex showroom price in India and not the on road prices / out the door prices.
koolkunz is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 10:43   #111

Saw the demo car right before the media drive was scheduled. It truly is an impressive car. Yes there is no rear wiper but lets give Hyundai some credit, they seem to have got a lot of other things right.

The display console can be made black with a simple cover that's available on Amazon US. Also you can always ask your local PPF applicator to put a black glossy PPF on it if you so wish. I personally like the white finish.

Other than the already most other discussed features the one that stood out to me was the rear seats memory function - that can save memory settings for all 4 seats via the center console.

The working ventilated cooled/heated seats (Which I don't even have in my G30 and are sorely missed) along with the rear seat sun shades are a winner for sure (which god knows why all luxury manufacturers are slowly discontinuing).
Hyundai Ioniq 5 @ Auto Expo 2023-img_0018.jpg  

Hyundai Ioniq 5 @ Auto Expo 2023-img_0021.jpg  

Last edited by zandot : 8th February 2023 at 10:55.
zandot is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 11:12   #112

It's time like these that I wish I had lots of money to splurge on cars like this. Sadly, reality is different, will have to enjoy this car by seeing it on the road.
DarthVeda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 11:23   #113
vij

Will this be slippery in traffic? Are test drives being offered? Has anyone here managed to get a test drive?
Old 8th February 2023, 11:33   #114

It's gorgeous. Has that entire 'Back To the Future' vibe goin' on. Never wanted an EV more!
Uthappa is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 12:50   #115

Originally Posted by vij View Post
Will this be slippery in traffic? Are test drives being offered? Has anyone here managed to get a test drive?
Test drives are expected to start next week. With the first deliveries coming in end March.
Old 8th February 2023, 14:40   #116

55 Lakhs is impossible. I barely paid 2L for my EV6 on road. I don’t expect more than 1.6-1.8L over ex showroom.

Also, you have to consider Indian taxation. It’s nowhere near the taxes in the US.

I find it amazing how people are always railing on companies no matter what they price the cars at. When the EV6 came out, people said it was too expensive! I didn’t feel so because no other car, ICE included, can offer the same performance at the price. Also the range is one of the best out of the EVs available and the 800V charging architecture is the most advanced out there (more advanced than the Germans too). Now that the Ioniq is out at 20L less for almost the same spec and one less motor meaning more range, and even now they’re getting railed for it.

Let’s be honest if you consider the duties and taxes we pay here and the fact that we’re not that far off from the UK prices, let’s give them some credit for what they’ve done.
venom_op is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 9th February 2023, 10:12   #117

In Maharashtra, I was told there is no registration fees for EVs. The dealer quoted me the 45 lac list price + approx 2 for Insurance (which you can get on own) So Mumbai OTR from dealer is 47.
Pls correct me if I am wrong and am not aware of Registration costs in other states.
srgntpepper is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2023, 23:05   #118

Originally Posted by Abhinav6683 View Post
It is a good looking car. Somehow reminds me of the Maruti Suzuki 80's era Hatchback.
It is a huge car. Dimension wise it may equal Tucson. I had seen it in person on the launch day.
Old 10th February 2023, 00:17   #119
vij

Originally Posted by vinodvayyat View Post
It is a huge car. Dimension wise it may equal Tucson. I had seen it in person on the launch day.
Yes. Ioniq 5 is slightly longer and wider than Tucson. It does not look it in pictures, but looks BIG in real life. And 20” tyres and those alloys make it imposing.

Mod Note: Our Hyundai Ioniq 5 Review has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

Last edited by Aditya : 11th February 2023 at 11:11.
vij is offline   (2) Thanks