Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 15th April 2025, 12:00   #736

Re: MG Comet EV Review

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
Tax savings due to depreciation is what I expect. It should come back to normal in the next few months. This car has a cult following
Sorry didn't quite get the depreciation point. Can you elaborate please.
carhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 13:33   #737

Originally Posted by carhead View Post
Sorry didn't quite get the depreciation point. Can you elaborate please.
As per this link.

"Section 80EEB: Eligibility and Conditions

Any individual who has taken a loan to purchase an electric vehicle can claim a deduction under Section 80EEB. However, the following eligibility criteria and conditions must be satisfied to claim the deduction:"

Apparently you can get a 1.5 lakh deduction. Mine's a company car so I did not investigate.
Chrome6Boy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 15:04   #738

Originally Posted by Chrome6Boy View Post
As per this link.

"Section 80EEB: Eligibility and Conditions
This is no longer applicable, and due to the date, never was for the Comet

Originally Posted by The Link
The loan taken for the purchase of the electric vehicle should be from a financial institution such as a bank or a non-banking financial company (NBFC). The loan should also be sanctioned between 1st April 2019 to 31st March 2023.
Comet was launched after this date, mid 2023.

For standard depreciation benefits one would want to purchase on March 31st to get the benefit right from.the next day, April 1st, but that would've been an increase, not decrease.
MindFreak9874 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 23:27   #739

Originally Posted by carhead View Post
Highest ever Comet monthly sales is 1268 in Apr'24. Steep decline to 173 in Mar'25. What's the reason?
I read somewhere that JSW-MG was renovating/modifying their Halol plant to increase the production of EV's (Windsor in particular). Maybe that's the reason why they didn't push for Comet sales. Hector used to clock around 1800+/month sales but ever since Windsor got launched, all the other cars including Hector lost sales. Now they are providing huge discounts on Hector, Gloster, Astor along with Comet.

I think Comet is still the best fit solution for urban mobility & will always find customers who understand the utility this niche product provides.
Lolafied is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th April 2025, 12:50   #740

Re: MG Comet EV Review after 7000 km use in Chandigarh

Originally Posted by GOLU View Post
MG Comet: 7,000 km Later, a City EV Delight!
I just posted my humorous take on MG Comet Ownership in India - All the BHPians please have look and let me know what you feel about it

<link removed>

3 Devastating Reasons Why You Should Absolutely Refuse to Buy an MG Comet EV!

Mod note: Please don't use TBHP to divert traffic to your blog. Post the content here, if you want.
GOLU is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2025, 12:13   #741

Here is the article that I posted on Medium Take with a pinch of salt (unless you are a hypertensive

3 Devastating Reasons to Never Buy the MG Comet EV -Tragic Confessions of a Man Who Abandoned Petrol, Saved Money and the Environment!

Non members can read the story for free here

The Terrible Burden of Involuntary Fame
Look, I’m just trying to save you from my fate, okay? Your peaceful life will evaporate the moment this black menace enters your driveway. Think you can just pop to the shops without human interaction? Think again.

Every traffic light becomes an impromptu Q&A session. “What is that thing?” they shout from bikes, autos, even BMWs. I’ve become so tired of explaining specs that I’ve perfected my “multiple of 5” pitch: costs 10L, goes 200km, charges in 5 hours. When they inevitably wince at the price tag, I reluctantly mention the 5L subscription option — knowing I’m luring another innocent into this trap..

My driveway has become a tourist attraction. I’ve considered charging admission, but that would only draw more attention to this vehicular spectacle.

The Cruel Deprivation of Petroleum Culture
Remember the soothing routine of weekly gas station visits? The meditative experience of watching numbers spin rapidly on the pump? The character-building sting as you hand over astronomical sums for fossil fuels?

All gone. Replaced by the clinical efficiency of home charging.

Sometimes, desperate to reconnect with my former life, I drive to petrol pumps just to check my tire pressure or purchase overpriced snacks. But even there, I’m accosted by the curious (see Reason #1). The glorious bouquet of petroleum fumes has been replaced by the odorless tyranny of electricity. I find myself occasionally sniffing markers just to remember what toxicity smells like.

The Crushing Disappointment of Effortless Parking
God, I miss the challenge of proper parking. The thrill of the hunt. The creative vocabulary that emerged when someone took the last spot.

This ridiculously compact car slides into spaces barely larger than a scooter’s. The other day I parked between two motorcycles just because I could. The owners were not amused, but what else am I supposed to do with this maneuverable menace?

And if you’ve got a driver — which anyone with self-respect should — watch their professional dignity crumble as they navigate this two-door contradiction of everything a proper car should be.

My Ongoing Misery
Against my better judgment, I must disclose other hardships: the eerily quiet operation, the embarrassingly swift acceleration, the mere 20 moving parts denying mechanics their livelihood, and the offensive 1–2 Rs per kilometer operating cost.

My wife and I now battle daily over who must endure driving this nimble abomination. Our marriage hangs in the balance.

Consider yourself warned: this vehicle will make conventional cars seem absurdly outdated while drawing attention even among vehicles costing 10 times more. Unless, of course, you enjoy being the center of attention while spending less on transportation than you do on coffee.

Is that really a cross you’re willing to bear?
GOLU is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 12th May 2025, 09:09   #742

Originally Posted by herculesksp View Post
Given a choice I would probably go for a Tata EV, but truly there is nothing else in this size and convenience and I don't have an alternative for my requirements. Whether it's worth paying Rs 10 lakhs for this car? - I don't think so!
Thanks for the insights. Few queries:
1. Why would you rather go for a Tata.EV?
2. For 10 lacs on road would you suggest PunchEV (base)?
Old 20th May 2025, 11:54   #743

Hello Everyone,

I didnt think I would ever consider an EV while I am alive, but here I am looking at the MG Comet and rationalizing this purchase!

Technically I want to get this for my sister to do office runs on weekdays and errands on weekends. Home to Office is 25 KMS one way which has a mix of open roads (no signals at all), but some stretches of state and national highways as you move. There is typical Pune traffic in the evening but the work timings are not peak hours. 6am to office and 4pm back home. she might get stuck in traffic on the way back home if she decides to leave by 5 or it rains... Given the purpose of this use I wanted to get the Comet Excite variant with BAAS.

Could you guys let me know if this is a wise choice given its intended purpose? Also the parking spot is tight and this one will share the space with either the Alto or Brio besides it.
Old 23rd May 2025, 15:17   #744

Originally Posted by DeBAPS9002 View Post
Hello Everyone,

I didnt think I would ever consider an EV while I am alive, but here I am looking at the MG Comet and rationalizing this purchase!

Technically I want to get this for my sister to do office runs on weekdays and errands on weekends. Home to Office is 25 KMS one way which has a mix of open roads (no signals at all), but some stretches of state and national highways as you move. There is typical Pune traffic in the evening but the work timings are not peak hours. 6am to office and 4pm back home. she might get stuck in traffic on the way back home if she decides to leave by 5 or it rains... Given the purpose of this use I wanted to get the Comet Excite variant with BAAS.

Could you guys let me know if this is a wise choice given its intended purpose? Also the parking spot is tight and this one will share the space with either the Alto or Brio besides it.
Having done 46,759 kms in one and a half years, in my Comet, for your sister's use case, it is the perfect buy. Additionally, BaaS has been designed in such a way, it reduces the cash outflow, perfect for the salaried class. In my opinion, please do opt for buy back if one intends to sell the vehicle after 3 years or extended warranty for sure, if long term retention is in mind - go ahead with the purchase - the Comet shall turn out to be the first choice to drive at every occassion.
ALTIMAed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2025, 15:24   #745

Originally Posted by ALTIMAed View Post
Having done 46,759 kms in one and a half years, in my Comet, for your sister's use case, it is the perfect buy. Additionally, BaaS has been designed in such a way, it reduces the cash outflow, perfect for the salaried class. In my opinion, please do opt for buy back if one intends to sell the vehicle after 3 years or extended warranty for sure, if long term retention is in mind - go ahead with the purchase - the Comet shall turn out to be the first choice to drive at every occassion.
Thanks ALTIMAed, Thanks for sharing your experience and the BAAS option to consider.

I read through the entore user manual online to see what it is like to live with it. I am pretty convinced but I am kinda scared with the WARNING of not taking it in water logged road AT ALL!

This is kinda deal breaker for me because given where we are water logging with just a 1 hour cloud burst is inevitable. I will still weigh in the other benefis but not knowing when I will have to leave it behind in office gives me jitters.
Old 23rd May 2025, 15:44   #746

Originally Posted by DeBAPS9002 View Post
Thanks ALTIMAed, Thanks for sharing your experience and the BAAS option to consider.

I read through the entore user manual online to see what it is like to live with it. I am pretty convinced but I am kinda scared with the WARNING of not taking it in water logged road AT ALL!

This is kinda deal breaker for me because given where we are water logging with just a 1 hour cloud burst is inevitable. I will still weigh in the other benefis but not knowing when I will have to leave it behind in office gives me jitters.
Fear not - that the car will stall. I reside at Delhi and work at Gurgaon. Last year, during the monsoon, I was compelled to drive on a road (was driving on it for the first time, as my regular route was jammed due to traffic), thanks to the heavy downpour and water logging. The route I took was unknown to me, hence was blindly following what google maps was dishing out. I found myself in a water logged road, not a single vehicle in front of me. The water level completely submerged the tyres, might have been an inch higher. I wass confident the car would not stall, hence drove through, with, I would say over confidence. The car easily crossed over, but I realised, it was not a wise thing to have done as
- Comet is my primary car
The water was murky, hence could not see the road surface. Even though I was driving slowly, I was not aware if there would be an open manhole / tree branch / speed breaker or big stone etc., which could have resulted in suspension / underbody damage - apart from this, its absolutely reliable.
ALTIMAed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th May 2025, 19:23   #747

Fear not - that the car will stall. I reside at Delhi and work at Gurgaon. Last year, during the monsoon, I was compelled to drive on a road (was driving on it for the first time, as my regular route was jammed due to traffic), thanks to the heavy downpour and water logging. The route I took was unknown to me, hence was blindly following what google maps was dishing out. I found myself in a water logged road, not a single vehicle in front of me. The water level completely submerged the tyres, might have been an inch higher. I wass confident the car would not stall, hence drove through, with, I would say over confidence. The car easily crossed over, but I realised, it was not a wise thing to have done as
- Comet is my primary car
The water was murky, hence could not see the road surface. Even though I was driving slowly, I was not aware if there would be an open manhole / tree branch / speed breaker or big stone etc., which could have resulted in suspension / underbody damage - apart from this, its absolutely reliable.
With the monsoon arriving...

What is the the estimated water wading depth for the Comet EV?
Has MG provided adequate protection against water ingress to the essential battery, motor and electronics?
Are these certified by the rating agencies?

All useful information to know before trying to cross a flooded road in the upcoming monsoon season.

Old 28th May 2025, 22:23   #748

1 Year and 8,000+ kms later.

Pros:
- Love the acceleration to the bits. It is superbly fun to drive car in the city
- Cheap to run. I drive 100% in sports mode and a/c ON always and I get 130kms for 100 to 20%. I charge at home. whenever it goes below 20%. That's about 1re/km electricity cost.
- No lag even with 5% range left. No limp mode, it pulls even at single digit battery % lefts. And never was an instance I need to worry about %. I think for city rides and a dedicated at home charger, one need not worry about range anxiety.
- Excellent space inside.
- I love the wireless car play.
- Small overall footprint allows me to go on extreme left lanes (like the autos).

Cons:

- The service isn't actually that cheap. I enquired about cost of annual services and it's as much as a 10L ICE car. No reason it should cost this much. The "free" annual service isn't free either. Be very careful with what is being included by the service reps. A/C cleaning for a 5,000 6month old car? Who are you trying to fool? There are lot of unnecessary line items that creep in (wash fluid top up, axle greasing etc.). I think this is the only way dealerships can make money servicing EV cars.

- On potholes and thumps on the road, there's a jarrging sound sometimes and immediately that regenerative braking cuts off. It comes back within 20 seconds, but this is dangerous and you except the decelleration to happen (as it always has been happening in the drive) and suddenly you find there's no regen (think losing engine braking) and you are rolling faster on leaving the foot from the accelerator. This is a known problem and with no resolution insight. MG probably needs a recall to fix this.

I'd strongly recommend this car for anyone looking for a 2nd car (this can't be your ONLY car if you love to go for drives out of the city).
jagan88 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th May 2025, 09:12   #749

Originally Posted by jagan88 View Post
1 Year and 8,000+ kms later.

Pros:
- Love the acceleration to the bits. It is superbly fun to drive car in the city
- Cheap to run. I drive 100% in sports mode and a/c ON always and I get 130kms for 100 to 20%. I charge at home. whenever it goes below 20%. That's about 1re/km electricity cost.
- No lag even with 5% range left. No limp mode, it pulls even at single digit battery % lefts. And never was an instance I need to worry about %. I think for city rides and a dedicated at home charger, one need not worry about range anxiety.
- Excellent space inside.
- I love the wireless car play.
- Small overall footprint allows me to go on extreme left lanes (like the autos).

Cons:

- The service isn't actually that cheap. I enquired about cost of annual services and it's as much as a 10L ICE car. No reason it should cost this much. The "free" annual service isn't free either. Be very careful with what is being included by the service reps. A/C cleaning for a 5,000 6month old car? Who are you trying to fool? There are lot of unnecessary line items that creep in (wash fluid top up, axle greasing etc.). I think this is the only way dealerships can make money servicing EV cars.

- On potholes and thumps on the road, there's a jarrging sound sometimes and immediately that regenerative braking cuts off. It comes back within 20 seconds, but this is dangerous and you except the decelleration to happen (as it always has been happening in the drive) and suddenly you find there's no regen (think losing engine braking) and you are rolling faster on leaving the foot from the accelerator. This is a known problem and with no resolution insight. MG probably needs a recall to fix this.

I'd strongly recommend this car for anyone looking for a 2nd car (this can't be your ONLY car if you love to go for drives out of the city).
Having done 47,362 kms in one year and 6 months, I agree with all that you have penned down. My Comet (Puchku) is my primary car!! Its doing absolutely fantastic.

Yes, regen does cut off, as you have mentioned, but this happens in all EVs, experts could comment on the reasons why. At just 42 bhp, the Comet accelerates really briskly keeping me ahead of traffic specially at traffic lights. Even accelerating from low speed, it just moves!! Top speed at 105 kmph, is pretty fine too. Apart from the Comet, I have driven the Windsor. A different vehicle all together, comparing to a Comet, I found it to be huge. Maybe, am so used to the nimbleness of the Comet, any other vehicle seems to be a pain to drive in the routes I normally take.
ALTIMAed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th May 2025, 11:40   #750

Yes, regen does cut off, as you have mentioned, but this happens in all EVs,
Disagree, I have never noticed this in my XUV 400. Nor did I notice this when test driving nexon 45 or windsor 38. Havent driven comet though.
atin001 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com