Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 19th June 2024, 16:34   #31

Re: Tata Harrier EV caught testing; interior spied

Originally Posted by nidhikapoor View Post
60kw will never take such a big car 500kms. Real world will be at most 300-350kms.
500kms would be the ARAI figure. And yes 300 - 350 kms would be what we get. I hope they put in atleast 60kw charging
coldice4u is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 09:25   #32

I remember when Tata said that there's not enough demand for AWD when (I think) asked about AWD in Safari (ICE). Is there enough demand in our market for AWD in EVs alone somehow? Or is it a yet another press-prototype that won't hit the road? Or, worse yet, is it going to be exorbitant pricing for the early adopters?
BullettuPaandi is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 09:59   #33

Is this going to be primarily FWD with an additional rear motor for AWD? Or are they going the other way with RWD setup with an added motor in front for AWD?
Considering Mahindra is benchmarking the Xuv700 EV derivative against the Ioniq 5, I’m inclined to think these will be RWD by default.
BRZRKR is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 18:20   #34

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

First they don't provide automatics.
Then when they do, they don't give AWD/4WD with it.
Now that they are trying to test an AWD automatic, it turns out be be an EV.

Would it actually kill them to make an ICE AWD (of course, with an automatic)?

Why Tata? WHY?!

P.S. let my bashing by Tata fans begin
vredesbyrd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th August 2024, 10:51   #35

As curvv now offers 55kwh battery pack, I think Harrier might offer 65kwh battery pack. my doubt is, considering form factor, kerb weight and increased battery weight, would it be able to offer more range than curvv ?
Old 18th August 2024, 21:43   #36

Originally Posted by elevator View Post
As curvv now offers 55kwh battery pack, I think Harrier might offer 65kwh battery pack. my doubt is, considering form factor, kerb weight and increased battery weight, would it be able to offer more range than curvv ?
Hope it can break the 500 kms real world barrier, the range on the Curvv as per the P75 cycle is 425 kms, so with a 65kwh pack it should be achievable I think. Plus the added advantage of AWD.
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 11:21   #37

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
Hope it can break the 500 kms real world barrier, the range on the Curvv as per the P75 cycle is 425 kms, so with a 65kwh pack it should be achievable I think. Plus the added advantage of AWD.
500km real world with a heavier SUV is going to be difficult with just 65kwh pack. However, Mahindra seem to be coming up with 78kWh battery which IMO should certainly reach 500kms. Fingers crossed on the actual release date though.
ottocycle is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 12:00   #38

so with a 65kwh pack it should be achievable I think. Plus the added advantage of AWD.
Originally Posted by ottocycle View Post
with 78kWh battery which IMO should certainly reach 500kms. Fingers crossed on the actual release date though.
Achieving a real-world range of 500 km for a heavy SUV is quite challenging, even with a 78 kWh battery pack. While 156 Wh/km would theoretically provide a 500 km range with a 78 kWh battery, the weight of the Harrier suggests that the average consumption would likely be 175 Wh/km or more.

Bjorn Nyland EV results
ecenandu is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 12:17   #39

Originally Posted by ottocycle View Post
500km real world with a heavier SUV is going to be difficult with just 65kwh pack.
Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
Achieving a real-world range of 500 km for a heavy SUV is quite challenging,
Tata has consistently improved the efficiency of its EVs with each new iteration. However, you guys are right, the weight penalty of the Tata Harrier will hinder its range. I'm currently trying to find the kerb weight of the Curvv diesel for comparison, but I anticipate the weight difference to be around 300-350 kg. While removing the 2.0 JTD engine, which weighs approximately 130 kg, will help offset some of the added battery weight, the Harrier remains a larger and heavier full-size SUV. We'll have to wait for the official launch of the electric Harrier, which is expected in a few months, to gain more insight.
shortbread is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 22:33   #40

Originally Posted by elevator View Post
Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
Achieving a real-world range of 500 km for a heavy SUV is quite challenging, even with a 78 kWh battery pack. While 156 Wh/km would theoretically provide a 500 km range with a 78 kWh battery, the weight of the Harrier suggests that the average consumption would likely be 175 Wh/km or more.

Bjorn Nyland EV results
However, you guys are right, the weight penalty of the Tata Harrier will hinder its range. I'm currently trying to find the kerb weight of the Curvv diesel for comparison, but I anticipate the weight difference to be around 300-350 kg. While removing the 2.0 JTD engine, which weighs approximately 130 kg, will help offset some of the added battery weight, the Harrier remains a larger and heavier full-size SUV. We'll have to wait for the official launch of the electric Harrier, which is expected in a few months, to gain more insight.
My take is that this car will not come on the the old OmegaArc platform but on the Acti.ev platform that is lighter and is scalable. Tata motors engineering team is not that stupid to use a heavy body that they know will drag down the efficiency. Electric cars will need light weight construction. It will only use the top hat design that is similar to the Harrier's design, just like the Curvv is similar to the Nexon's design but nothing is similar (don't know about the kerb weight difference). Keeping that in mind that Sierra too will have similar length and little more width than that of the Curvv and will be on a similar platform. They will be differentiated by body design and features like AWD and luxurious features and creature comforts. Harrier too is similar but will be longer by 15 cms and weighs slightly more and will carry a torquer motor.

So I don't expect much of a difference in range and performance between the Curvv, Sierra and Harrier.
DRPSREDDY is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 14:59   #41

Rumoured conversation between a Engineering junior and his senior

Pune, 21:45

Sri JR. :'Ram Ram Panse Sir'

Panse SR. :'Ram Ram Sri, kya hua itna late'
(Why so late?)

Sri: 'Sir ek idea ayaa abhi, sunaoo?'
(Sir, I had an idea, want to hear?)

Panse: 'Itne raat ko? Chal sunaa'
(So late, ok, tell me)

Sri: 'Sir Harrier ko hum dual motor/AWD set up dene wale hain, pucca?'
(Sir, we're planning to deploy a dual motor all wheel drive set up on the Harrier, confirmed?)

Panse: 'Haan, pucca'
(Yes, confirmed)

Sri: 'Sir phir do do Curvv ka motor laga dete hain?'
(Sir, lets use two Curvv motors then)

Panse: 'Kya, tera dimag kharab hua kya?'
(Have you lost your mind?)

Sri: 'Nahin Sir, 300+ hp, single motor mein range bhi milega, aur dual motor sport mode mein performance bhi. Hila dega market ko.'
(No Sir, we'll get more than 300 horses and it'll have great range in single motor mode and lots of performance in dual mode, will shake the market)

Panse: 'Dhyaan se sun Sri'
(Listen carefully Sri)

Sri: 'Haan Sir'
(Listening Sir)

Panse: 'Hamare zamaane mein, Safari ko 90 horsepower tha, sab khush, kisi ko koi dikat nahin.'
(In our days, the Safari had 90 horses, everyone was content, no one complained)

Sri: 'Sir parr'
(Sir but)

Panse: 'do do, Tigor ka motor laga de, 150 hp aa jayega, gaadi sasta banega'
(Use two Tigor motors, it'll have 150 horses, will cost much lower as well)

Sri: 'Sir parr'
(Sir but)

Panse: 'Sri tera appraisal kab hai?'
(Sri, when's your appraisal)

Sri: 'Sir July'
(Sir, July)

Panse: 'Ok, aur kuch?'
(Ok, anything else?)

Sri: 'Nahin Sir'
(No Sir)

Panse: 'Chalo phir, Good Night, Jai Hind!'
(Ok then, Good Night, Jai Hind)
shortbread is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 21:43   #42

Saw this on the Mumbai Pune expressway on 2nd Sept. I presume it's the Harrier EV?
Tata Harrier EV caught testing; interior spied-20240902_091956.jpg  

Tata Harrier EV caught testing; interior spied-20240902_092006.jpg  

Tata Harrier EV caught testing; interior spied-20240902_092023.jpg  

Old 4th September 2024, 21:47   #43

Originally Posted by Karthik Mathur View Post
Saw this on the Mumbai Pune expressway on 2nd Sept. I presume it's the Harrier EV?
No this is Nexon EV only. Harrier EV is way bigger. You ca also tell based on the roofline, rear headlights and silhouette.
chiefpk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 22:34   #44

Originally Posted by chiefpk View Post
No this is Nexon EV only. Harrier EV is way bigger. You ca also tell based on the roofline, rear headlights and silhouette.
Oh ok, see your point.

But why would a camouflaged version of the Nexon EV be on the road now?? I don't suppose it's due for a face-lift for the next 3-4 years.
Old 5th September 2024, 00:26   #45

Originally Posted by Karthik Mathur View Post
I think you might've spied the Nexon CNG undergoing testing, I could be wrong.
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks