Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th October 2024, 15:00   #211

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

Originally Posted by guptad42 View Post
For buyers negotiating on insurance, the Acko website quotes 28,862 +GST for comprehensive plan Windsor Exclusive (mid variant). The zero-dep version is 33,237 + GST.

Thanks, I think I might just go with Acko as long as all bells and whistles (addons) are covered.
One thing I learned with my ordeal of dealing with TataAIG last year for my Skoda Octavia was, whether reputed, private or whatever insurer/brand is, they are all jacks. As long as the Insurance fineprint is clear and you do are covered with insurance/addons, they are liable to pay the insurance.
Even if they try to delay or play hats, you can escalate it to IRDA (just like RBI for banks) and they will get in line.

So for me, "brand" of insurer doesn't matter as long as I have cashless claims at MG workshops, all my needs/addons covered and the IDV/Fineprint is clear (well tbh IDV doesnt matter for 3 years due to Return to Invoice)

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
This only shows the details that were set at the time of booking. Since sales person is not speaking I wanted to check if we can track booking online and get information about delivery date like Mahindra does.
duh, does it not show you expected date of delivery ? Thats how/where you should get delivery date EXCEPT that it doesn't show anything yet and says to be updated, cause dealerships also donot know yet.
But Dealership has same system of tracking allotment, which has not been done yet.

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th October 2024 at 08:32. Reason: Quoted post trimmed.
Old 7th October 2024, 16:06   #212

Just booked the Windsor EV Essence variant yesterday for my Wife whilst deciding to do away with my new-ish Seltos. Her running in the City is close to 100kms a day and we took this decision from purely an Economic point of view.

I particularly checked the screen, AC and Ride as they were points flagged by many. Didn't find the AC and the ride to be too far off the Seltos. The screen is a novelty and a learning curve. But once things are set as per a driver, the screen isn't a major problem. During an extended TD in city conditions, avg 3.5-4km were found to be covered per 1% charge in Normal+Eco mode usage.
Carma2017 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th October 2024, 16:23   #213

Disappointed to see that the Windsor is selling very poorly in China, as the Baojun Yunduo. The Baojun brand in general is a shadow of what it apparently was a few years ago, so the car’s failure may be attributed to the brand’s woes and not the product. Baojun is a sister brand of MG, Wuling, IM, Roewe etc.

Sources:

https://autonews.gasgoo.com/mobile-s...cle/74633.html
https://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2023...i-mufasa-land/

Last edited by Vikram9193 : 7th October 2024 at 16:26.
Old 7th October 2024, 17:43   #214

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
Hi. This is a question for all those who have booked MG Windsor especially with the dealer directly, does the link below work for you? .
Not working for me, it's loading!

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th October 2024 at 08:31. Reason: Quoted oist trimmed.
Twitcher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2024, 22:15   #215

Originally Posted by guptad42 View Post
I spoke to the acko customer service. They specifically told me flood damage and water damage to the battery will not be covered in their policy.

None of the other providers have Windsor listed in the vehicle list to obtain a quote. Not really sure how to go about bargaining with the SA without an actual quote. Any suggestions?
abburiaditya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2024, 23:47   #216

Windsor accessory brochure has ADAS badge on boot.

Twitcher is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th October 2024, 08:21   #217

Originally Posted by Vikram9193 View Post
Disappointed to see that the Windsor is selling very poorly in China, as the Baojun Yunduo.
The price and other available options also matter. Right now many people are seriously interested in Windsor EV because of what it offers at this price point. Had it been priced 4-5 lakh higher, things would have been different.

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th October 2024 at 08:31. Reason: Quoted post trimmed.
deb_majumdar is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th October 2024, 16:31   #218

Originally Posted by abburiaditya View Post
I spoke to the acko customer service. They specifically told me flood damage and water damage to the battery will not be covered in their policy.

None of the other providers have Windsor listed in the vehicle list to obtain a quote. Not really sure how to go about bargaining with the SA without an actual quote. Any suggestions?
As a negotiation tactic, the acko quote may still help to bring down the dealer's price. Looks like even a 60K insurance quote for the top-end Windsor has 20K+ dealer margin.
If the whole car is about 30K in insurance (mid variant), the EV component is let's say 10K. Logically, covering the risk of water damage on it should not be more than 20-30% of the battery portion of the premium. So, about 2-3K.

And please do check the fine print of the policy MG is offering. Many insurers anyway tend to invalidate flood water claims as an act of God, if it is not explicitly covered by the policy.
Old 9th October 2024, 11:24   #219

While MG talks about a lifelong warranty for the battery, is there a SOH (State of health) number below which they will replace the battery?

Assuming that at year 8, I am at an SOH of, say, 70%, would I be eligible for a brand new battery as part of its warranty program?

The battery's ability to hold charge reduces with age and charging cycles.
So, a vehicle that can run 250kms on one charge will reduce to say, 200 Kms after an year or two, at which point it becomes inconvenient for long runs.

So, at what point of degradation will MG agree to replace the batteries?
Old 9th October 2024, 11:37   #220

Originally Posted by realactivex View Post

So, a vehicle that can run 250kms on one charge will reduce to say, 200 Kms after an year or two, at which point it becomes inconvenient for long runs.
That is about 20% battery degradation in one or two years. Are you sure about the figures?
Old 9th October 2024, 11:47   #221

The numbers are fictitious. It was just for an exaggerated illustration of the problem statement.
This is an article from US that claims an average degradation of 2.3% per annum, and i think it gets worse with every passing year
https://www.evconnect.com/blog/how-l...r-battery-last
realactivex is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2024, 12:49   #222

Originally Posted by realactivex View Post
The numbers are fictitious. It was just for an exaggerated illustration of the problem statement.
This is an article from US that claims an average degradation of 2.3% per annum, and i think it gets worse with every passing year
https://www.evconnect.com/blog/how-l...r-battery-last
Hi, though I don't own an EV, but what I have read about EVs, battery degradation of 2% to 3% per 1 lac km is possible, but it is difficult to agree if someone or some study say that 2.3% degradation per year (without any km per year reference).