Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 13th October 2024, 09:06   #256

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

Originally Posted by shubhank008 View Post
Acko is costing 36k for Zero Depo and most of the bells and whistle addons (including PA of 50L which is cheap for 799)
Immediately after closing their website, their customer care called and upon my interaction with them, they said that flood/water damage to the battery IS COVERED as can also be seen on their website they cover CALAMITIES (which does show while checking insurance but states war, riot, etc. as example and not specifically flood).

I asked for a copy of policy terms but they said that is only available/generated when policy is purchased and they cannot provide it otherwise (since they also don't have access to it).

We probably need to find some Nexon EV or diff EV owner with acko policy to read their policy terms Or someone bite the bullet and get Acko and if it doesn't cover water/flood damage, cancel the policy next day (no charges due to Look Back Period)

36k vs 60k (least MG quoted) is still a huge difference, can get ample of accessories in it

--UPDATE--
I called Acko again to get another person and he also confirmed their Zero Dep plan covers the EV car's battery.
They even generated a quotation for me to be able to get Policy Wordings and all the relevant docs and told me I can even get this confirmation in writing (sent a mail to hello@acko.com) to confirm the same.

I have attached the policy wordings I got, can someone check them for the legal language ? I will update once I get a written confirmation from Acko

Attachment 2665172

Attachment 2665173

Attachment 2665174

Attachment 2665175

Attachment 2665176

Final update

Acko DOES NOT COVER water logging or "rain" damage either, they are claiming to cover flood as they state and cover "calamities" but not giving in writing specifically for flood (even in policy wordings).
Furthermore, rain water logging is not considered flood for them.

Confirmed through multiple calls and emails (which they reply in roundabout way, then call and confirm on call probably to continue to mislead people without confirming anything in writing).
shubhank008 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th October 2024, 09:59   #257

Originally Posted by 250Nm View Post

Is the exposed orange wire a rat risk?
Attachment 2666169
The Nexons and Puches have even longer ones. Apparently no one has had problems with it (or at least the problems were lesser than other problems faced)

Why is this bar curved?
Attachment 2666171
Might be a catenary for better load carrying https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catenary Most likely a heavier battery pack is in the design phase or may be even a pickup is planned on the same chassis.

Last edited by electric_eel : 13th October 2024 at 10:02. Reason: typo
electric_eel is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 13th October 2024, 11:35   #258

Update from MG Delhi (Patparganj) now saying deliveries will only start after 20th now, as no cars received.
MG Noida (Frontier) is saying they received the cars and delivery started.
MG Patparganj is saying not possible as no cars reached NCR yet.

Absolute clown show happening, and that's after on Friday MG Delhi Sales GM said cars are reaching them that night and they will start Deliveries on Saturday/Sunday.

Also, considering the wait/delivery hype and demand happening, I am losing hope on all the insurance match or card payment 1% charge, etc. promises were made during sales.

I am already in process to finalize sale of both our existing cars already by this coming week and wanted the Windsor on Karva Chauth.
Well, F me.
Old 13th October 2024, 12:06   #259

Deliveries have begun.

MG Windsor EV Review-img_2084.jpeg

MG Windsor EV Review-img_2086.jpeg
Comrade is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2024, 12:42   #260

Originally Posted by Comrade View Post
Deliveries have begun.

Attachment 2666904

Attachment 2666905
I am feeling really spiteful now....
Being told deliveries will only begin after 20th now (missing Karva Chauth).
Thats 2 auspicious festivities missed by a mismanaged launch.
Also, I thought the colors available were White, Black, Green, Clay/Biege
The last pic looks like grey ?

My loan is sanctioned, both cars sold and now I am just sitting like a idle duck.
If there was any other car anywhere close to Windsor in all aspects available, would cancel my booking and switch straightaway.
But even Curvv doesn't feel as good to Windsor from inside so no other options.
Old 13th October 2024, 13:24   #261

More questions to be answered:
  1. Crash test/safety rating. Can we trust MG based on its prior models?
  2. Cost of spare wheel.
  3. How do the other colors look (especially beige)?
  4. Is the sound quality that bad for a branded 9 speaker system?
  5. Owners manual & service schedule.
  6. Real world usable range from actual owners (100% to 20%).
  7. Road noise was evident during my short TD. Need a longer drive to assess its impact on buying decision.
  8. Charging recommendations (is daily plug-in vs longer gap between cycles).
  9. How good is the support from MG? Do they have control over dealerships unlike Mahindra who does not seem to care much like my 3XO fiasco (2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review)?
On the subject of reverse lights - they are meant to illuminate the rear for visibility primarily, rather than indicating the vehicle is reversing. I took a test drive of the Windsor at night and specifically took it to a really dark place to check out the headlamp throw and the rear illumination. Was impressed. Believe me, I am a stickler for illumination at night - having rejected many a vehicles just on this factor alone (maybe my personal quirk).

Trying to answer the questions as I too had some that were similiar
1 - Yet to be known
2 - To be announced (I specifically asked this, was shown the accessory list where TBA was written)
3 - I have seen Turquoise Green / Pearl White / Starburst Black (yet to see Clay Biege)
4 - Owner manual is available on the MG website. Service schedule is 1000 kms, 5000 kms, 15,000 kms followed by every 15,000 kms
5 - For my ears, the sound of the Infinity system was decent. By default in my existing car, my system plays soft rock of the 80s in my daily 3 hours of driving (1.5 hours to office and back)
6 - I have requested a long test drive (maybe about 30 kms), which was not denied, but with a small rider - kindly come on a week day as during weekends, the footfall at the showroom is really high (which I tend to agree, as customers at the showroom would else have to wait / deprived) of experiencing the Windsor (which definitely is worth the time expense and effort to get to the showroom).
7 - Tyre sound even I noticed (made sure the audio was off when I took the TD). Inherently EVs are silent machines, hence nothing to mitigate the tyre sound (which cannot be heard in ICE vehicles as the engine sound masks it).
8 - Charge it as per your requirement. Yet to hear about the HV critical error in MG products - spoken to quite a few MG EV owners. As a matter of fact, one of them has taken his ZSEV to Rohtang Pass from Gurgaon - was all praises. Recommend all to download eHub - it covers nearly all the CPOs.

Edit / Update

Two things which I didn’t like:
1. All Outside Door handles remain open up to a speed of 20kmph and get auto closed. It was an eyesore as during test drive when car was leaving showroom all handles were open which will happen when we leave home or office in the evening. May be there is option to close it but sales person was not aware of it.

An eyesore for sure. Even I noticed the same, when the previous prospective customer drove away for a test drive. When my turn to take the TD arrived, as I started to drive, I had to glance at the ORVM, the door handles was an eyesore - what I did was, pressed the door lock button, the door handles retracted, sore eyes vanished

Last edited by Axe77 : 13th October 2024 at 21:15. Reason: Fixing quoted post (pls proofread and be careful while quoting) and merging back to back posts.
ALTIMAed is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th October 2024, 18:51   #262

Originally Posted by ALTIMAed View Post
On the subject of reverse lights - they are meant to illuminate the rear for visibility primarily, rather than indicating the vehicle is reversing. I took a test drive of the Windsor at night and specifically took it to a really dark place to check out the headlamp throw and the rear illumination. Was impressed. Believe me, I am a stickler for illumination at night - having rejected many a vehicles just on this factor alone (maybe my personal quirk).
I lived with pretty bad headlamps but always wished I had better. Good to have this confirmation from someone who has been very particular about it. Thank you so much.

2 - To be announced (I specifically asked this, was shown the accessory list where TBA was written)
It should be something standard. If one goes for a steel wheel, shouldn't it be same as any lower variant of Hector? Tyre is anyone's choice. Do we need to buy this from MG / MG dealer anyway?

5 - For my ears, the sound of the Infinity system was decent. By default in my existing car, my system plays soft rock of the 80s in my daily 3 hours of driving (1.5 hours to office and back)
What are people comparing this with? This car should be compared with an ICE vehicle that costs 12 lakhs ex-showroom for the top-variant, or Punch EV top variant / Nexon EV mid-variant. May be some of the Kia/Hyundai cars have Bose sound system, but comparing with the top-variant of Sonet or Venue would be unfair, let alone Seltos / Creta.

Yet to hear about the HV critical error in MG products - spoken to quite a few MG EV owners. As a matter of fact, one of them has taken his ZSEV to Rohtang Pass from Gurgaon - was all praises. Recommend all to download eHub - it covers nearly all the CPOs.
This is a great relief. Before the Windsor was launched, I met one Comet owner and asked about MG's service. Surprisingly, in his opinion it's better than Maruti's, as he compared his experience with his other car - a WagonR. In this forum, people are talking about niggles in Tata cars and Mahindra seems to be a mixed bag. Overall, we need to get lucky, I guess.

Last edited by deb_majumdar : 13th October 2024 at 19:11. Reason: Typo.
deb_majumdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2024, 23:29   #263

4 - Owner manual is available on the MG website. Service schedule is 1000 kms, 5000 kms, 15,000 kms followed by every 15,000 kms
Windsor is not yet uploaded to the website. If you happen to get one, please do share.

5 - For my ears, the sound of the Infinity system was decent.
Originally Posted by deb_majumdar View Post
What are people comparing this with? This car should be compared with an ICE vehicle that costs 12 lakhs ex-showroom for the top-variant, or Punch EV top variant / Nexon EV mid-variant. May be some of the Kia/Hyundai cars have Bose sound system, but comparing with the top-variant of Sonet or Venue would be unfair, let alone Seltos / Creta.
I compare it with my 2016 Tiago (8 speaker Harman Kardon) and Windsor is definitely powerful than mine. That said, Windsor lacks the options to tune the sound to one's needs. All it has is a simple 5 band EQ and that's about it. In comparison, the HK setup of 3XO (top variant costs 14L vs 15.5L of Windsor) has a lot of audio tweaks on offer. I hope MG / Infinity adds a few more options in future software updates. I got a chance to test the sound quality for ~30 minutes and felt it to be quite good with the right EQ tuning. At high volumes, we notice minor rattling from the LHS dashboard and even the floor felt slight vibrations from the sub-woofer (which I liked).

6 - I have requested a long test drive (maybe about 30 kms), which was not denied, but with a small rider - kindly come on a week day as during weekends, the footfall at the showroom is really high (which I tend to agree, as customers at the showroom would else have to wait / deprived) of experiencing the Windsor (which definitely is worth the time expense and effort to get to the showroom).
Luckily, our showroom was quite empty today and I got to drive it for a good 15 km within the city. Came back quite happy this time around, with the touch screen controls getting more familiar to use without distractions. Range dropped around 5% for the test drive which is in-line with the youtube reviews. However, we should include idle time drain for the real world use cases. For reference, my Ola S1 Pro (Gen 1) drops 1 to 1.5% of SOC for every 24 hours just to keep its electronics and telematics working.

7 - Tyre sound even I noticed (made sure the audio was off when I took the TD). Inherently EVs are silent machines, hence nothing to mitigate the tyre sound (which cannot be heard in ICE vehicles as the engine sound masks it).
Surprisingly, today's test drive car had relatively less tyre noise compared to the previous TD last week (a different car). I wonder if it has to do with the new tyre run-in period? I also observed the horn sound heard louder inside the cabin, which is usually not the case with many cars (including my Tiago where only 60% of the sound is heard inside). This is my bigger concern with respect to not-so-good cabin insulation. I hope I am wrong.

Windsor is dimensionally a huge upgrade from Tiago:
MG Windsor EV Review-image_20241013_230641916.png

The bonnet step could have been removed to have a sloping front look instead (remember Daewoo Matiz?)
MG Windsor EV Review-image_20241013_230745371.png

Black & White colours will be painful to maintain during monsoons. My Tiago has the same amount of dirt and its orange shade masks it quite well:
MG Windsor EV Review-image_20241013_230914198.png

Rear wiper is sorely missed:
MG Windsor EV Review-image_20241013_231444006.png
250Nm is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 15:38   #264

Originally Posted by shubhank008 View Post
Final update

Acko DOES NOT COVER water logging or "rain" damage either, they are claiming to cover flood as they state and cover "calamities" but not giving in writing specifically for flood (even in policy wordings).
Furthermore, rain water logging is not considered flood for them.

Confirmed through multiple calls and emails (which they reply in roundabout way, then call and confirm on call probably to continue to mislead people without confirming anything in writing).
Hello all. I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I booked my Windsor on 3rd October, but yet to receive confirmation on the expected delivery date. I went to the showroom yesterday but they seem to have no clue. They are also not willing to negotiate on the insurance, although as mentioned by some members earlier some dealers are okay for the customer to get insurance from outside. As regards the fine print on insurance, when i was checking the quotes on poilicy bazaar, i noted that only ICICI Lombard seems to be providing a 100% cover on battery. others (United, ACKO and Bajaj) are providing only a 50% cover. Does anybody have any views on this?
vijay3349 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 16:23   #265

Windsor is not yet uploaded to the website. If you happen to get one, please do share.

The owners Manual for Windsor is here, got it from the MG Website [ATTACH=mg-dc-pdf-0375.pdf]2667450[/ATTACH]

In addition under Warranty header Page 5- 53 and subsection 2.10.8 of the owners manual it clearly states " Damage caused due to Hydro- Static Shock" is not covered under the JSW MG Motor New vehicle warranty.
Clubbing this with the lack of underbody protection is a bit worrisome.

I am booked with the Essence variant and expecting delivery any day. Should this be of concern?
File Type: pdf mg-dc-pdf-0375.pdf (8.88 MB, 73 views)

Last edited by Aditya : 14th October 2024 at 17:46. Reason: Quote tag fixed
Speedme is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 17:54   #266

Originally Posted by Speedme View Post
got it from the MG Website
Thanks for the manual, appreciate that. Please also share the link if you can.

Originally Posted by Speedme View Post
it clearly states " Damage caused due to Hydro- Static Shock" is not covered under the JSW MG Motor New vehicle warranty.
Clubbing this with the lack of underbody protection is a bit worrisome.
Even I am not comfortable with these vague clauses, including the ones below printed on the very first page of manual

1. What is the point of having OTT Play and stuff if one is not allowed to use the system at idle?
2. What is the definition of "High" water level in case one has to drive in emergencies/unforeseen situations?

MG Windsor EV Review-image_20241014_174936587.png
250Nm is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 18:56   #267

1. What is the point of having OTT Play and stuff if one is not allowed to use the system at idle?
2. What is the definition of "High" water level in case one has to drive in emergencies/unforeseen situations?
For point 1, by "IDLE" they mean without the car being in "ready" or "started" mode. This is true for all cars, you should not run blower and Infotainment without starting the car to avoid aux drain.
For point 2, there could have been water wading depth provided but I don't see any manufacturer providing it irrespective of ICE or EV.
ferrarirules is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 19:00   #268

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
For point 1, by "IDLE" they mean without the car being in "ready" or "started" mode. This is true for all cars, you should not run blower and Infotainment without starting the car to avoid aux drain.
For point 2, there could have been water wading depth provided but I don't see any manufacturer providing it irrespective of ICE or EV.
In the Windsor owner manual, water wading dept is mentioned as 300 mms
ALTIMAed is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 19:15   #269

Thanks for clarifying. It makes much more sense now on what they were trying to communicate.

Thankfully, Windsor's manual claims 300mm of water wading at less than 10 km/h speeds.

Adding the specs of some other cars for reference:
Tata Curvv EV - 450mm
Tata Nexon EV - 300mm
XUV 4OO - Not mentioned
250Nm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 20:23   #270

Thanks for clarifying. It makes much more sense now on what they were trying to communicate.

Thankfully, Windsor's manual claims 300mm of water wading at less than 10 km/h speeds.

Adding the specs of some other cars for reference:
Tata Curvv EV - 450mm
Tata Nexon EV - 300mm
XUV 4OO - Not mentioned
To put this in perspective, what would be these limits for petrol hatchbacks or Sedans, say Polo, Swift, i20, Verna, etc? Aren't we at risk of damaging the engine if we drive through water deeper than 300mm?