Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 23rd September 2024, 13:56   #16

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

On the other hand, a 250 km real-world range is on the lower side by current standards. With my kind of driving style (heavy right foot), it will drop even further. MG should launch the bigger battery as an option to those customers who need it (like the Nexon EV Max).
The car is easily giving 300km in ECO+ mode when driven at DME or Old Jaipur Highway with 80 kmph as top seed. So this is completely like Nexon EV Max on the range end.

The difference being with Tata cars -
1. There is no turtle mode beyond 10%
2. No AC cut off beyond 5%
3. Car runs after 0% as well so there is some reserve in the car.

The 50 KWh one if launched at similar pricing, it will be outright best seller.

I have some recommendations for the Mods for reviewing EVs. These are

1. Charge the car at a DC fast charger to see charging speed.
2. Do a range test as these youtubers are doing.
3. Try and capture the make of the battery

Link to range test by DDS where he covered 285 kms with 3% to spare -

Link to range test by Gaadiwaadi.com where he covered 323 kms with car running 3-4 kms beyond 0% as well -

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
1. While the front visibility is great. One specific point is, I couldn't see where the front bumper is from the drivers' seat, even if I crane my neck up front. Both of you being similar height as me (5'11"), what do you feel about the front bumper judgement of the car from the drivers' seat?
2. The Essence variant on display was shod with 215/55/R18 Goodyears, which I see on the review car too. I was told Excite would get 215/60/R17. Could you confirm?
I cannot see the bumper of my Nexon as well from my seat and I am 5'10''. This is what 360 camera is for. The base model get 17" steel wheels and the other two get 18" alloys.

Last edited by ferrarirules : 23rd September 2024 at 14:16.
ferrarirules is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 14:22   #17

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
I cannot see the bumper of my Nexon as well from my seat and I am 5'10''.
Maybe the phrasing wasn't right. Am looking for a reference point of where my edges are (specifically the left edge)

In my Alcazar, I can see the left edge of the bonnet which isn't exactly where the bumper is. But I can make an educated guess on where the edge is. I saw no such reference point from the Windsor drivers' seat.
narayans80 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 14:56   #18

Hello Friends,

I visited the MG showroom last weekend to check out the Windsor. Walking towards the showroom, I noticed that the showroom was crowded with people, an unusual site for the MG showroom. Everyone was checking the Windsor only.

With a lot of questions in mind (about BaaS), I discussed with the SA.

1. RENT : The minimum rent will be charged based on the 1500 Km per month running which translates to Rs. 5250 INR per month. (For ZS EV it is Rs.4.5/Km)

2. RENT FOR HOW LONG: There is no concrete answer to this but the standard is till the battery cost is recovered.

3. HOW MUCH IS THE BATTERY COST: Approximately 4 lakhs. He was not sure.

4. It is mandatory to take both the loans (car and battery)from Bajaj Finance.
Vidyut Finance which does not have a minimum 1500 KM barrier is not available in Maharashtra.

5. Battery loan is without interest. I could not digest it though.

6. After 3 years, if we want the buyback, we need to close the battery loan first.
MG will provide 60% of the ex-showroom price (including the battery). The terms & conditions of the buyback are not clear to SA yet.

7. BaaS scheme is also available for ZS EV and Comet.

Somethings about the car

The looks are subjective but the car looks better and bigger in flesh than the pictures.
More like an MPV than an SUV. From a certain angle (side view), it looked like a stretched nano to me (pl don't slap me for this).

MG Windsor EV Review-wind1.jpg

Headlamp housing is big for the size of the car according to me.
MG Windsor EV Review-wind2.jpg

Side profile
MG Windsor EV Review-wind3.jpg

Rear 3rd quarter
MG Windsor EV Review-wind12.jpg

Massive glass roof will through a good amount of light inside the cabin. It will also heat up during those harsh summers. AC will have to work extra for this.
MG Windsor EV Review-wind4.jpg

The rear seats are very comfortable and provide a good recline angle. There is no shortage of leg space and headroom.

Leg Space (I am 5'10")
MG Windsor EV Review-wind5.jpg

The rear seat can easily accommodate three passengers. Thanks to the flat floor.

Rear AC Vents
MG Windsor EV Review-wind6.jpg

View of dash from the rear seat. Look at the ICE screen. It is massive for my liking.
MG Windsor EV Review-wind7.jpg

Center console
MG Windsor EV Review-wind8.jpg

Switches on the door
MG Windsor EV Review-wind9.jpg

Alloys are more like a concept design but look cool.
MG Windsor EV Review-wind10.jpg

Outdated washer nozzles in an otherwise feature-rich car
MG Windsor EV Review-wind11.jpg

All in all, the car attracts you and gives you a rich feeling when you sit inside. Nowhere does it feel like a cheap Chinese car.

The 250-260 Km actual range is disappointing and will limit the usage best for the city. In this price bracket, we have better options from Tata (for range-specific).

So, my take. If one likes the design and is OK with the range go for the full ownership at 15.5 Lakh which is around 17.7 lakhs OTR. BaaS is very confusing and not worth IMHO.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 23rd September 2024 at 15:49. Reason: Minor spacing and formatting
satish.gawai is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:03   #19

The only negative INMO and it is a big one is Lack of buttons for OVRM adjustment etc. otherwise this car could be the new Honda City what Honda City was in 2003- 2013. The perfect middle class family car with oodles of space, better built quality than current competition and much better Image value than a TATA, and fairly decently priced.
AyushB is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:28   #20

This is the most value for money EV currently in the Indian market in my opinion. Creta like size for less than ICE Creta like money.

It has made life difficult for Tata Nexon and Punch, would have created difficulty for Curvv if they had launched the 50kwh battery.

This could be the watershed car for EV adoption. BYD also has the potential to disrupt the market but the lack of local manufacturing has been a limiting factor. The price of Seal, Atto 3 and M6 are mouth watering in Thailand and Indonesia. Given 5% GST we could have had almost similar prices.

Hope Tata and Mahindra wake up fast and create something new and fresh for the EV market rather than a Nexon with a boot. Sierra and Harrier EV can play that VFM card from day one rather that price gouging and then giving discounts.

Creta EV and Suzuki EV also will be interesting. Next year could be a big “coming of age” year for EVs in India in passenger vehicle category.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 23rd September 2024 at 15:49. Reason: Formatting
rkv_hunter is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:32   #21

Noticed the Windsor at our nearby MG showroom as we were driving past on saturday and decided to stop and check it out.

- The car looks much better in person, no pictures can do justice to its looks
- The front end of the car is either a hit or a miss. (I liked it, and thankfully the missus too)
- I am about 5'10" and found the rear seats comfortable in terms of thigh support and cushioning.
- The rear seat recline is a good feature but not too sure how many are going to use it.
- The boot space felt adequate for a week long trip for a family of 4.
- The interior finish feels premium
- The cabin overall has good light due to the large windows, windscreen and the glass roof
- Front of the cabin felt modern with all the finishes at the touch points
- Using the large screen for all the functions will take some getting used to
- The consoles in the front have ample space for storage of bottles, phones and other accessories
- The sales guy mentioned the realistic range would be around 290-300 for city driving and about 275-300 for highway driving
- They only had the white model in display and it looks amazing from the side profile. Feels so much larger than it appears in the pictures and videos
- We are primarily going to use it in the city but with about 80kms a day. We would definitely cross the 1500 kms a month so still debating if we should go for full buy (battery included) or try out the BaaS since we only pay for 1500kms a month on the battery rental. (COmments and suggestions welcome)

We decided to take the plunge and made the 21k payment for booking. Waiting for the dates and all other formalities now. Fingers crossed
abburiaditya is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:55   #22

Originally Posted by abburiaditya View Post
Noticed the Windsor at our nearby MG showroom as we were driving past on saturday and decided to stop and check it out.
Is the seats on the softer side (sofa like where one just sinks in) or the hard side ? I for one prefer the harder seats (not just in cars but even otherwise) due to soft seats creating back issues on long drives.
electric_eel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:57   #23

Originally Posted by electric_eel View Post
Is the seats on the softer side (sofa like where one just sinks in) or the hard side ? I for one prefer the harder seats (not just in cars but even otherwise) due to soft seats creating back issues on long drives.
They weren't very soft like the sofas, they had good cushioning at the top but felt firm enough at the lower layer. I don't think sitting for long hours will be uncomfortable.
abburiaditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:09   #24

One miss I feel is an option to opt for the glass top or exclude it altogether like tata offers for sunroof on punch for 50k. I think for Indian heat the huge glass roof is too much. But the ventilated seat is offered only in the car with the roof.

Still waiting for information on Vidyut tech scheme where we have no minimum running requirements in the baas scheme. Currently the showroom employees are clueless and different information is given by different employees.
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:15   #25

Hi, thank you for the excellent review Omkar & team.

JSW-MG has put every other players in shock with Windsor EV pricing. I think Tata will have to think about reducing Curvv.ev price in coming weeks. I think JSW-MG can launch Windsor EV with larger battery as:

Windsor EV 38kW selling at a price of 13.50 lacs (Top model 15.50 lacs)
Windsor EV 45kW at a starting price of 14.99 lacs (Top model 16.50 lacs)
Windsor EV 50kW at a starting price of 15.99 lacs (Top model with ADAS, V2L etc. 18.99 lacs)
Windsor EV 55 kW at a starting price of 16.99 lacs (Top model with ADAS, V2L etc. 19.99 lacs to get psychological advantage of less than 20 lacs ex showroom)

External dimensions of Windsor EV is good enough to have upto 55kW battery pack and head on fight with Tata Curvv.ev.

MG should also consider buy back scheme for 5 years 80000km at 45% of ex-showroom price.
GoBabyGo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:19   #26

'Royalty model' for the battery and the name 'Windsor'! Sounds thoughtful!!
n_pathak is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:27   #27

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post

External dimensions of Windsor EV is good enough to have upto 55kW battery pack and head on fight with Tata Curvv.ev.
The ZS EV is sold with a 70+ KWH battery in some markets. MG could even target the BYD E6/M6 with such a setup.

They really have to cover all bases with this car before the competition catches up.
BRZRKR is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:34   #28

Small things MG should be able to fix easily -

- Faster software or faster processor for touchscreen. In the Chinese market, which Snapdragon chip is in the car is actually a selling point.

- Tinted glass. Our Jimny and Hyryder have it, feels like a must have now.

- Dual AC vents at the back. Who wants to fight over an AC vent.

- Parcel tray. India is not China, haha.

- Rear wiper

Things like independent rear suspension, advanced ADAS (better than level 2) and super fast charging are going mainstream in China, but this is a budget car over there, and here, so that might be unrealistic.
Vikram9193 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:35   #29

A very good review Omkar!

I am so surprised how a car with so much bashing has turned every hater into 'take my money' with its pricing reveal. The only other car I remember is XUV700, when everyone was comparing it to its predecessor, without knowing what Mahindra had kept as a surprise

Windsor is a nice sensible car. This could easily create a benchmark (in terms of space) in its segment like WagonR did to hatchbacks.

Everything looks so set now for MG which was relying majorly on discounts & price cuts. This along with MG's refreshed lineup could really bring MG in top 5 auto-makers in India. They are building some nice showrooms, service has been Hyundai like and possibly no niggles like many new launches, as most of their cars are already being driven in other countries before MG launches it in India.

I'm very sure that MG is losing money on Windsor and promoting the car just like Mahindra does with low pricing at launch. If anyone wants to get into EV mode, this really is a killer product, and even killer pricing. The 3L discount on the Nexon EV suddenly starts looking low, With Mahindra/Hyundai/Maruti about to launch their EVs, TATAs honeymoon looks everything but over now.

Except the not so great styling, I can't think of anything that's wrong with Windsor. Hard to believe that we are getting a full Glass roof + Premium Interiors + EV + Leather Sofa at 15 Lacs. Windsor might very well become the chauffeur driven's favourite choice.

Hope MG gets the safety ratings sticker soon.

Originally Posted by Omkar View Post

Space & Comfort

Something you don’t see very often is fully quilted leather seats. They offer very good comfort and almost feel like a leather sofa. The cushioning is on point and even after long hours of driving, they didn’t feel uncomfortable. These seats are focused on comfort and not enthusiastic driving which is why the side bolstering is very little.
Never thought that we can actually enjoy sofa like comfort in a car too! I know that these might do more harm than good for long journey's but going with the reviews, the in-city comfort of Windsor would be something else.

Originally Posted by Omkar View Post
Accessory stickers on the bumper connecting the headlamps look awful IMO:
Windsor will look egg without this.
viren83 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:37   #30

Originally Posted by BRZRKR View Post
The ZS EV is sold with a 70+ KWH battery in some markets. MG could even target the BYD E6/M6 with such a setup.

They really have to cover all bases with this car before the competition catches up.
Hi, in my view, MG should stop selling MG ZS EV & continue with Windsor EV with 38kW and 50kW battery. MG ZS EV is not a successful product just like flopped MG Astor.

JSW-MG should immediately launch 50kW version of Windsor EV on 3rd October with deliveries to start from Dhanteras day. They probably will have an opportunity to deliver 500+ Windsor EV 50kW on Dhanteras day
GoBabyGo is offline   (3) Thanks