Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 24th October 2024, 07:44   #361

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
So I booked on MG website and have no firm date of delivery or any plan/interest from my dealer but here ackodrive is advertising delivery by Last week of November.

I had booked my seltos on launch and got it very close to ackodrive communicated timeline while my variant had long waiting.
Did you finally buy it from AckoDrive? If the timeline given by AckoDrive is actually right, this should be a no brainer (saves a huge amount in insurance).
deb_majumdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 09:58   #362

Originally Posted by deb_majumdar View Post
Did you finally buy it from AckoDrive? If the timeline given by AckoDrive is actually right, this should be a no brainer (saves a huge amount in insurance).
I am already having serious 2nd thoughts about going ahead with the purchase. I do not like the way allocations are being handled that cars are available with some dealers but primary dealer forcing Loan, Insurance and Accessories. I always consider showroom experience while making a purchase as I book with the dealer where I would also service my vehicle and so far the sales experience has been below par.
psbali is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 14:32   #363

Originally Posted by sgtitan5 View Post

I am completely confused about insurance though. Not getting any clarity from dealer on what is coved and what is not. More concerned about flood damage to battery which was discussed in some of the earlier posts.

As per my SA, dealership is okay if I take insurance from outside as well. Any thoughts on which insurance is currently the best?

Also attaching documents received from MG for reference. It does not mention anything related to EV Battery though.Attachment 2671934

Attachment 2671935
The ICICI quote seems to include battery and motor cover which will cover non accidental battery damage such as water ingress etc.

The default comprehensive cover of pretty much every insurer covers the HV battery for accidental and natural disasters but not non accidental damages.

You can get the same ICICI insurance directly and see if it's cheaper. For folks living in no road tax locations, RTI cover doesn't make a lot of sense if zero depreciation has been opted for because what I have noticed is that insurers don't discount RTI addon much even though their liability is much lower compared to ICE vehicles. I find stuff like tyre protection and key protection generally priced too high by insurers. Would rather pay out of pocket for those things but it's subjective.

Congrats on your new car purchase!
Old 24th October 2024, 14:54   #364

I am already having serious 2nd thoughts about going ahead with the purchase. I do not like the way allocations are being handled that cars are available with some dealers but primary dealer forcing Loan, Insurance and Accessories.
I think MG is trying to follow Mahindra by launching cars at a drool worthy price to pocket the booking money and delay deliveries with hiked prices.

I'm trying to get a proper highway test drive for the past two weeks with no luck citing "high demand" for test drives.
Old 24th October 2024, 16:27   #365
yuv

Originally Posted by UrbanRider View Post
As someone who is interested in getting the dashcam provided by MG, if you could spare time when possible after delivery and clear a few doubts regarding it with some photos, it would be a huge help.

1. Which model dashcam did you opt for?
2. How are the cables wired? I.e. through 12v port under armrest or hardwired directly to small 12v battery?
3. Do they work while parked and the engine off?
4. Are rear cameras included?

Thank you!
My bad, although I didn't mention any price for the same, I forgot to mention that it's not an MG dashcam, rather a gifted 70mai 4K. Cables are nicely hidden as much as possible and powered through the 12 volt socket. Rear camera is included and no parking support.

The MG is a top notch 2 channel dashcam. However if I was in the market for a new one, then I would go for a minimum 3 channel, if not 4, with Starvis 2 support.

Vantrue N5 comes to mind and if budget is an issue, then 70mai A810 (Please do your own research though before biting the bullet)

Good luck!
Old 24th October 2024, 16:54   #366

Originally Posted by abburiaditya View Post
Ladies and Gentlemen,

Presenting to you our "Beluga". Got the delivery a couple of hours back! Had to chase the dealer quite a bit to get it today. Apparently, this is the first delivery in Hyderabad and Telangana. Thanks to all for a very productive discussion. Looking forward to many miles and lots of discussion with the group here.
Many Congratulations on your "Beluga"

Could you please share the Air Conditioning experience basis the few days that you've had the car. Most reviews call that out as a concern and it can become a sore point for cities like Delhi which can get uncomfortably hot during Summers

I'm sure a lot of BHPians will benefit from your experience on the same.
amit_2025 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 17:23   #367

I am already having serious 2nd thoughts about going ahead with the purchase. I do not like the way allocations are being handled that cars are available with some dealers but primary dealer forcing Loan, Insurance and Accessories. I always consider showroom experience while making a purchase as I book with the dealer where I would also service my vehicle and so far the sales experience has been below par.
Couldn't agree more after making a 2nd booking with MG Lucknow (different city 500km away) yesterday after losing all hope of getting a allotment/delivery of my original 30 Sept booking with MG Delhi (Patparganj).
It has totally killed all my hype and expectations of MG and the car itself, specially cause I wanted green color specifically and now having to settle for black instead out of a compromise.

Also, a friend got his windsor delivered in Delhi and was complaining same thing about AC being quite weak and not cooling the cabin enough even on "Max" mode, specially the rear cannot feel the AC enough.

Given the AC/Cooling remarks and already small range (200-240KM on highway), I am also having second doubt whether to even go for Windsor anymore. For a couple more Lakhs getting ZS EV which even though old, is still king of the roads in EV space and a all rounder.

Other option would be nexon but the variant I would like would anyway touch the Curvv/ZSEV prices anyway.

Had I not sold my car already counting on dealership's words for a 12th Oct delivery, I would have cancelled my booking all together and waited a few months to see how things pan out.
But here I am.
shubhank008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 17:38   #368

Originally Posted by shubhank008 View Post
Couldn't agree more after making a 2nd booking with MG Lucknow (different city 500km away) yesterday after losing all hope of getting a allotment/delivery of my original 30 Sept booking with MG Delhi (Patparganj).
It has totally killed all my hype and expectations of MG and the car itself, specially cause I wanted green color specifically and now having to settle for black instead out of a compromise.

Also, a friend got his windsor delivered in Delhi and was complaining same thing about AC being quite weak and not cooling the cabin enough even on "Max" mode, specially the rear cannot feel the AC enough.

Given the AC/Cooling remarks and already small range (200-240KM on highway), I am also having second doubt whether to even go for Windsor anymore. For a couple more Lakhs getting ZS EV which even though old, is still king of the roads in EV space and a all rounder.

Other option would be nexon but the variant I would like would anyway touch the Curvv/ZSEV prices anyway.

Had I not sold my car already counting on dealership's words for a 12th Oct delivery, I would have cancelled my booking all together and waited a few months to see how things pan out.
But here I am.

I am also facing the colour issue and a totally non-responsive dealership. I pre-booked green but on the day of the booking the dealership booked white. Today i was told white is available for dhanteras delivery. But i do not want to take the white. SO the option is to either take it or wait for green, which ofcourse means i will lose my place in the queue. And this, after all their tantrums about insurance, accessories etc. Their attitude really sucks! I am not sure if this is MG's regular behaviour or is the number of bookings they received that has gone to their head!
Old 24th October 2024, 17:40   #369

But here I am.
Hi, I would suggest you to get a used beater car for next 8-12 months. I am optimistic of having a 50kWh or 60kWh battery pack SUV with Creta level interior space will be available for 15 lacs to 17 lacs in next 8-12 months. I am also hoping that most State Governments will continue to keep zero road tax and Centre Government will continue 5% GST for EV till March 2026.

Windsor EV is a brilliant product, but with 50kWh battery pack only. Windsor EV is overall a product that can easily become a single car at home with 50kWh battery.
Old 24th October 2024, 18:07   #370

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
I am optimistic of having a 50kWh or 60kWh battery pack SUV with Creta level interior space will be available for 15 lacs to 17 lacs in next 8-12 months.
Which car will this be? I don't see any product on a minimum 9 month horizon.

Upcoming launches
1. Hyundai Creta with 45 KW battery will be 17-20 Lakhs.
2. Maruti eVX with 60 KW battery will be 20-24 lakhs.
3. Mahindra BE.05 with smaller battery variant of 50 KW will be 17-20 lakhs.

Last edited by ferrarirules : 24th October 2024 at 18:18.
ferrarirules is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 18:42   #371

Originally Posted by amit_2025 View Post
Many Congratulations on your "Beluga"

Could you please share the Air Conditioning experience basis the few days that you've had the car. Most reviews call that out as a concern and it can become a sore point for cities like Delhi which can get uncomfortably hot during Summers

I'm sure a lot of BHPians will benefit from your experience on the same.
Today is day 4 with a daily run of 97 kms exactly. This is a mix of 60 kms of ORR(ring road, with speed limit of 120) and 37 kms of city driving. I am driving on normal mode on the ORR @100kmph and in city on Eco/Eco+ mode. I am getting a range of about 260 with this mix. For pure city driving, there is a 1% drop for about 2.8 to 2.9 kms.

No complaints regarding the ac. If I am driving after 9.30 am, I am ensuring the sunshade is completely closed. It was quite warm a couple of days back and I did not have any complaints from the rare passengers.

I will do a post with delivery/initial reactions/ownership review soon. Please feel free to DM or post here if you have any other questions.
abburiaditya is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 19:06   #372

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
Hi, I would suggest you to get a used beater car for next 8-12 months. I am optimistic of having a 50kWh or 60kWh battery pack SUV with Creta level interior space will be available for 15 lacs to 17 lacs in next 8-12 months. I am also hoping that most State Governments will continue to keep zero road tax and Centre Government will continue 5% GST for EV till March 2026.

Windsor EV is a brilliant product, but with 50kWh battery pack only. Windsor EV is overall a product that can easily become a single car at home with 50kWh battery.
The Cloud EV in Indenesia has a claimed range of 460km with the 50kWh battery and 360km with the 38kWh battery. The 50kWh battery in India will provide a claimed range of ~ 430km, translating to a real world range of ~ 310km (assuming the 38kWh gives 240km). Is that enough?

Factoring in things such as -- you often may not be able to charge to 100%, you cannot take the risk of going below 30% etc, and charging is not as quick as filling up your tank, even the Nexon or Curvv EV are not really good for long trips. I remember covering 850+km with my Cruze (Varanasi to Jaipur) in a day [started at 10am and arrived at 11pm]. However, the Curvv EV will be good enough for people who often travel 350km (e.g., Delhi to Shimla).

About upcoming cars: The base variant of Creta ICE can be had for 12.5L on road. Will you buy that? You will start to miss so many features and will end up at 20L, may be even 22L. That's ICE. I do not see how Hyundai can sell a well-featured Creta EV in even 20L. If that happens, great! The same goes for other upcoming EVs. The top variant of Nexon EV, even after the price cut, costs 2L more than the top variant of Windsor. I haven't checked the features, but does the cheaper ZS EV have all the goodies?

Buy the Windsor if all of these are applicable for you.
1. You don't need to make long road trips with this car.
2. You are on a budget (want to stay within 15-16L, not more). Among the cars within 15-16L, you only get Windsor, Punch and barely Nexon fearless 45 which misses out on some of the modern features. If you can go to the 20-25L range and don't like the old ZS or new Curvv, wait for 2025. The price is a primary deciding factor for Windsor. You may at best compare this with Punch EV, not with ZS or Curvv.
3. You like the car A LOT.
deb_majumdar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 21:14   #373

My dealer asked me to pay 5% advance yesterday (stating that car will be cancelled otherwise). Once I paid, today I get a message that insurance price has increased by 16K!! Now the total insurance cost is coming out to 76K!!! Even with this price, dealer is unable to confirm whether the insurance provider will be ICICI/ Bajaj or reliance.

Dealer has no information about MG Shield plan and most of the accessories are not available with them (parcel tray, etc.).

Feels like walking into a black hole!
Old 25th October 2024, 05:24   #374

The MG dealers have gone crazy with the Windsor it looks like people are after their blood for their vehicle. The allocations are going as per the dealer choice who buys insurance, accessories are likely to get their vehicles first. People aren't buying the base or the mid spec variants. The dealer in chandigarh has 3 base models he says sir I can deliver in a day and people aren't buying it. Top model as said is dealer and staff sweet wish. I have been struggling with them for the vehicle for past couple of days now and my calls to the dealer are more than he's given to me.
Old 25th October 2024, 10:23   #375

According to the MotorInc assessment, the non-UV cut glass in Windsor prevented the cabin from cooling (time line 17:16).