Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 28th November 2024, 23:36   #631

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

Originally Posted by drsachin View Post

Anyway i myself too is interested in Windsor EV but in 50Kwh and that too at similar price point at current Windsor 38.
As I am writing this 6 of my colleagues who were pushing their dealers for deliveries have now decided to hold on and wait for Mahindra Be and likely 50kwh Windsor variant
It's a wild chase.., cancelling delivery because 6 months later you may get your hands on a better vehicle and then again there may be another better choice even few months further.. Also, going through the same booking and waiting and pleading for delivery is not a great buying experience for everybody. If someone's in the market to buy a vehicle at present, then windsor is a great choice. As far as battery is concerned, the capacities are going to go up with every new launch. Also, whichever EV you may buy, whatever could be the battery capacity one has to get into the habit of pre planning a long drive and battery size wouldn't matter much.
Enthurious is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2024, 23:46   #632

Windsor in its current avatar is a good city car. I was initially sceptical about its size but if u have been driving a sub 4m or mid size SUV in cities, Windsor will be a breeze too. Cant compare it price wise to similar sized ICE cars plus low running cost.

Anyone looking for a second city car with budget of 12-14L and zeroed in on Punch Ev or entry level Nexon Ev can stretch the budget to buy Windsor (38 or 50Kwh) provided there are no space constraints in apartment or office parking. I was on lookout for a good automatic city drive, wary of TATA ICE converts when Windsor was launched. Also being a fan of First gen Jazz (looks and space), I jumped immediately to buy the Windsor. It is now my default car for city drives and unexpectedly also for long drives (150 -200km one way trips). I can easily use it for Mysore to Bangalore, Hassan or Wayanad runs.

But if i was looking for a primary car then i would wait for a year or two.
M&M has already launched the 59KWh and 79 KwH variants with real world range of ~500km per charge. But these will be priced closer to 25L for top variants and someone who has zeroed in on Nexon top variant or Curvv or ZS Ev will go for them. I am not a fan of buying lower end variants of higher segment cars.
The other car companies are bound to react. MG can quickly bring in its rebadged EVs to replace the Zs Ev. Tata will come up with their outdated ICE converts.

Even if budget permits, I dont think i will be able to jump in to buy the M&M twins like i jumped for Windsor though.
- Windsor is a global model that has been on sale elsewhere. I am not the guinea pig / Beta tester.
- Looks can be subjective but i dont feel the same (as Windsor) for M&M twins or for Curvv. Curvv i just hate because it feels like a lazy job of extending the Nexon. Similar to Indica:Indigo, Swift: Dezire, i10:Xcent, Polo:Ameo.

M&M have to be commended for bringing out fresh products and appear to have put a lot of effort and research, though i am not fan of their in your face designs and hideous DRLs( including their ICE cars). Looks are subjective but this launch will act as a catalyst for other companies to come out with competing products in a year or two. TATA have looted consumers in the name of being flag bearer for EVs. They will be put to place immediately. Launch of Windsor brought down the Nexon Ev to ground level in terms of pricing. M&M twins will send it underground.
The desi Urus tag is already taken up by the BE6E / XEV. I feel this event will be like the Symbian (TATA) to Android (M&M and others?) shift we saw in mobile phones.
Cheers to the exciting times ahead.

Regarding the motors, torque, performance etc : I feel dizzy with the acceleration i get with Windsor. This compares very well with other significantly higher segment ICE cars. What will we do with even more torque and bhp in real life scenarios?? we are not taking it to the race tracks, are we? I also saw in some reviews top speed of 140kmph as a con for TATA nexon. really??

Last edited by Voltzzzzz : 29th November 2024 at 00:15. Reason: Removed unintended smiley
Voltzzzzz is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 01:14   #633

Originally Posted by Enthurious View Post
It's a wild chase.., cancelling delivery because 6 months later you may get your hands on a better vehicle...
battery size wouldn't matter much..
It's not definitely a wild chase. I am very clear for what I need. And there are number of my friends who are in the same boat with similar thought process.
All of us booked the Windsor the moment we saw it. As it fulfilled our requirement. But almost all of us had the same query with Windsor even while booking it
1. Battery Capacity seemed lower than most newly launched mass market cars anywhere in the world. In both china and Indonesia Windsor was launched with 50Kwh. But why did they not launch it in India. The only reason being to sell Left over ZS EV inventories before they can discontinue it. And launch newer version at a later date.

But despite lessor capacity we still booked as it seemed the best EV below 20lakh price bracket. Dealers and the company (MG) both created lot of fear mongering by suggesting that these are introductory pricing, lifetime warranty may not be available from 2025, 50 Kwh will not available as it will canablise ZS EV sales.

Now after Mahindra launch all of these seems a distant probability.
1. Lifetime warranty is here to stay as Mahindra is also offering it now.
2. Prices are not likely to increase .
3. 50 kwh variant which is already available in Indonesia and china is expected to launch soon. I don't think as a company MG can afford to care too much about outdated ZS EV anymore and risk loosing potential customers to rivals.

I drive Hyryder hybrid and this is going to be out 2nd car ( for my wife). She drives Brio currently which is due for replacement but can be delayed a bit.

Range definitely matters a lot. And the biggest worry right now is drop in range after say 5-7years.
Presently it may suite our use case but this range anxiety will keep on increasing after 5-7 years. This is where extra range would act as a buffer.

So I believe 50Kwh variant would be available soon, and it would be hardly Rs1-1.5 lakh more than current Windsor. It might even be launched at same price point.
Also DC charging speeds are better than the current 38kwh variant.

MG would not be required to do much to launch 50kwh variant as they already have it in international market.

Last edited by drsachin : 29th November 2024 at 01:20.
drsachin is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 01:53   #634

I actually started looking for a new car this August. At the time Curvv had just launched and Nexon top end was going for 18.6 Lakhs. My family rejected the Curvv as they are used to under 4meter vehicles and felt the curvv was huge.

They liked the Nexon and Punch, but the Punch top end for 15.3 Lakhs was like huge no from my end because apart from the small size it offered absolutely nothing. I wouldn't pay anything above 10-11 lakhs for that vehicle. Nexon I rejected because it is built on an EV 1.0 platform where the curvv and punch are built on a 2.0 platform. So I was not ready to pay 18.5 for petrol converted vehicle and already 3.0 platform vehicles or the born ev platform vehicles were coming up.

At the time Windsor was slated to launch on Sept 10, there were rumors of Byd bringing in the Seagull in October which we were looking forward to. The Mahindra vehicles were slated for November and E-vitara in Jan. It was pretty clear that the EV industry will go into a massive price correction. As soon as the Windsor launched the Nexon top end fell to 16.2 Lakhs and the 45Kwh variant came at 17Lakhs.

The Windsor when it launched, with its pricing ate up all three tata ev's because it was priced like a Punch, competed with the Nexon and provided more space than the Curvv. Only downside was battery and ADAS but ADAS doesn't matter to most people. Only the Curvv top end has ADAS. My family instantly liked the Windsor despite its length.

Tata at the moment is selling heavily outdated cars both in terms of features and specs. I mean the nexon doesn't even have automated seat adjustment controls. The Mahindra vehicles are massively spec'd out in features. Using Mobileye's L2+ ADAS was a huge step in the right direction because future updates will enable these cars for self driving like the Teslas. Infact, mobileye had posted a self driving test video. The car maneuvered the city like a breeze. The chipset is capable, its on Mahindra to push these updates in the future to the vehicles. Also, the tata's ev platform supports L2+ ADAS and uses mobileye but the curvv only has L2 ADAS.

Now my predictions for the next set of price corrections (ex showroom) is as follows.
1. Mahindra 6e 60KWH entry model will launch at 18.9L
2. E-Vitara with 50Kwh should start at 15L and top end will cost around 18L. 60KWh will start at 16L and top end will cost around 19 - 20L with L2 ADAS.
3. Curvv 45KWH entry model will drop from 17.5L to 16.5 or 16L
4. Nexon 45 top end will drop from 17L to 15.5L or 15L
5. Windsor top end will drop from 15.5L to 14.5L or a 50KWH will be introduced at 15.5L.

Oh and the Creta EV is also suppose to launch next year so that too will change the game. Tesla is also entering but it will be above 25L.

The 10-20L segment is going to see massive price corrections by next year May. It's a great time to be in this segment and buy a vehicle. Having said this, this is a never ending game. As the EV platform has enabled manufacturers to bring their dream concept cars to life at a very low price. So if you like a vehicle and it fits your use case just go for it. Because as we have seen in the case of Windsor, the wait time is easily 2-4 months and manufacturers like Tata push out updates like candies. I mean the 45KWH nexon was just launched overnight in response to the Windsor. A week before that the price of top end had dropped to 16.2L and two weeks before that the price was at 18.5L. So just see your use case and go for what feels right. If you can play the waiting game go for it and the best time for people who can wait is next year November or Jan 2026 because don't forget the Nexon EV on 2.0 platform will also launch end of next year and they will give it their all to bring it to number one again. It will be feature loaded to the core. Autoparking, L2+ ADAS, high torque and power are all going to be standard now.
Ashwathama is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 09:17   #635

Originally Posted by DIY410 View Post
Not sure they can squeeze that much more kWh with the wheelbase and ground clearance they have. The MG4 EV also has similar wheelbase as the Windsor but for LFP pack option, it only gets 50 kWh.
Hi, my comment was to give a perspective that Windsor is priced very well (not just Mahimdra BE 6e or XEV 9e). I don't think MG will be able to put more than 50kWh battery pack in Windsor EV, however a 50kWh Windsor EV will.have approx 320km to 330km range 100% to 10% in city drive.
Old 29th November 2024, 10:44   #636
HTC

Insurance quote update:

My brother is buying windsor mid varient. He is getting zero dip + battery protect insurance from New India Assurance for 25k (IDV 13.7 Lacs). Showroom quotes were around 60k including all add-ons.

Whoever is buying the car can explore getting insurance from outside instead of dealer quotes.

HTC
HTC is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 13:05   #637

Originally Posted by HTC View Post
Insurance quote update:

My brother is buying windsor mid varient. He is getting zero dip + battery protect insurance from New India Assurance for 25k (IDV 13.7 Lacs). Showroom quotes were around 60k including all add-ons.
HTC
Hi. Did you find the insurance on Policy Bazaar?. If yes, could you please confirm if you have spoken to United India Insurance agents regarding Battery protect because I did speak to a couple of their agents & both said they will get back to me with further details about what all is covered under Battery Protect. They weren't sure about what all is covered in the Battery protect add-on.
racer-85 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 15:58   #638

My dealer in Noida is quoting 67000 including all addons (100%battery) for Essence variant for ICICI which is the same as what ICICI told me on the phone.

Plan Details are below:
MG INSURANCE SECURE ELITE PRO PLAN COVERAGE:-
1) ZERO DEPRECIATION (100% claim all rubber/nylon/plastic, fiberglass components parts) -unlimited claims of nil Dep in a year

2) CONSUMABLE - (Unique coverage of consumable like nut and bolt, screw, washer, grease, lubricant, clips, A/C gas, bearings, distilled water, engine oil, oil filter, fuel filter, brake oil and the likes which get reduced at the time of claim settlement)

3) Battery & Motor Cover : Hydrostatic cover protects against damage to the Battery due to water ingress which is not covered under a standard Car Insurance Policy. Hydrostatic Cover is most useful during driving your vehicle in monsoons)

4) Rim & Tyre- Standalone damages to tyres like bursting, puncture and cut will be covered depending on the depth of the tread (Max 4 tyres in a policy period)

5) Personal Belonging Cover(50000/-)- Covers your personal belongings against loss & theft (Laptop & Mobile covered)

6) Key & Lock Cover (50000/-)- Covers repair/replacement of car keys &/ lock &/lockset upon occurrence of any theft/burglary/loss/damage

7) Return to invoice - which covers the gap between the insured declared value and the invoice value of your car along with the registration RTI helps you in fetching purchase value of the car in case of theft or total loss

8) *Rodent

9)0% salvage - No salvage deduction at the time of claim settlement
PAN INDIA Cashless
Old 29th November 2024, 16:22   #639
HTC

Originally Posted by racer-85 View Post
Hi. Did you find the insurance on Policy Bazaar?.
No buddy. This is through insurance agent who happens to reside in our apartment. He said that battery protect covers motor aswell. But will sure ask for full details. Thanks for the pointers though.

Also I stopped trusting Insurance middlemen like policy bazaar where they are utterly unreliable during claim situations. Learnt it the hard way by being a customer before. Now I directly deal with insurance companies or through the known agent.
Old 29th November 2024, 18:35   #640

PDI query:

Has anyone availed PDI service before taking Windsor's delivery. I would really appreciate if you can share your experience and share the contact details of the PDI experts in Mumbai.

Thank you
Enthurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 19:21   #641

Originally Posted by stak321 View Post

7) Return to invoice - which covers the gap between the insured declared value and the invoice value of your car along with the registration RTI helps you in fetching purchase value of the car in case of theft or total loss

8) *Rodent

9)0% salvage - No salvage deduction at the time of claim settlement
PAN INDIA Cashless
If there is no road tax and just 6k registration charges, then we may not need the RTI Addon right?

Many insurance brokers including dealers push this as a big thing. I understand for ICE vehicles but I don’t get it for an EV in a state that has zero road tax.
Voltzzzzz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2024, 07:20   #642

Originally Posted by Enthurious View Post
PDI query:

Has anyone availed PDI service before taking Windsor's delivery. I would really appreciate if you can share your experience and share the contact details of the PDI experts in Mumbai.

Thank you
I have the same query. I was planning to use the Cars24 PDI service because Zekardo doesn't have Windsor EV listed. Any recommendations ?
Old 30th November 2024, 18:52   #643

Has anyone taken extended warranty ? Please advise what all is covered and the price. My dealer Iis quoting 42000.
Old 30th November 2024, 21:50   #644

Originally Posted by Voltzzzzz View Post
If there is no road tax and just 6k registration charges, then we may not need the RTI Addon right?

Many insurance brokers including dealers push this as a big thing. I understand for ICE vehicles but I don’t get it for an EV in a state that has zero road tax.
My understanding is that RTI is not just about road tax and registration fees, it is mainly about depreciation over years (because that decides the limit on IDV). For the first year, depreciation is zero and they probably use full value inclusive of these taxes as IDV anyway I guess, so what you said may hold true only for the first year, if at all. Whereas, I believe insurance companies offer it for a first few years, not sure how many but it is in the ballpark of first 3-5 years (not after that limit).

Last edited by santosh.s : 30th November 2024 at 21:53.
Old 1st December 2024, 00:53   #645

Music system update:

The 9 speaker Infinity audio system seem to be pretty average even in top of the line. Has anyone upgraded them? Any suggestions on better ones?
Enthurious is offline   (1) Thanks