Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 1st December 2024, 07:40   #646

Re: MG Windsor EV Review

Originally Posted by Ashwathama View Post
I have the same query. I was planning to use the Cars24 PDI service because Zekardo doesn't have Windsor EV listed. Any recommendations ?
I would recommend giving them a call or just registering with any other model that’s close enough. They would still be able to complete the PDI.
boolean is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 11:53   #647

Originally Posted by boolean View Post
I would recommend giving them a call or just registering with any other model that’s close enough. They would still be able to complete the PDI.
So I called the Zekardo guys and they said they don't do PDI for Windsor EV yet
Old 1st December 2024, 12:48   #648

MG Windsor retails 3000+ units in November.

The Windsor EV became the highest-selling vehicle for MG Motor with a volume of 3144 units sold. The previous month, MG sold 3,116 units units of Windsor.
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 12:54   #649

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
MG Windsor retails 3000+ units in November.
So seeing the trend it looks like they have a capacity of producing 3000 Windsors per month. So that’s 9k by Dec, 12k by Jan and 15k by Feb. By that logic, I won’t be getting mine till March as I booked on 4th Oct and first day bookings were 15K.
Ashwathama is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 21:17   #650

By that logic, I won’t be getting mine till March as I booked on 4th Oct and first day bookings were 15K.
Please factor in the cancellations due to the hype of Mahindra's BEV launches earlier this week .

I really hope MG launches the 50kWh battery pack by Jan-2025 to handle the heat from M&M
250Nm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 01:39   #651

Originally Posted by 250Nm View Post
Please factor in the cancellations due to the hype of Mahindra's BEV launches earlier this week .

I really hope MG launches the 50kWh battery pack by Jan-2025 to handle the heat from M&M
So the bharat mobility expo is from Jan 17- Jan 22. If anything has to happen it will happen then as E-Vitara, Creta EV and Mahindra cars will announce prices along with starting pre orders. As deliveries start in March I don’t think MG will bother to do anything but lets see. I heard the Skoda Kylaq will also be there with deliveries starting from 27th. Also, BYD has said they will come with something but in the premium segment. Tata Harrier or Sierra EV will also be there battling the Mahindras, Vitars and Cretas higher variants. What would really surprise me if they somehow launch the Nexon 2.0 which is actually expected in October 2025. That will change the game.

The Creta EV can really arm twist MG to reduce prices as the E-Vitara is expected to be priced on a higher side because of Adas and higher KWH battery. Although I don’t expect them to launch a new model like the 50kwh within just 3 months of release. I don’t know if it has happened before where a car company has launched an upgraded 50kwh model or added things like adas within 3 months of release. I have heard new colors being added or price drops happening but let me know if something like this has happened before.

Last edited by Ashwathama : 2nd December 2024 at 01:45.
Ashwathama is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 08:12   #652

MG ZS EV (45 kWh) was first launched in India in Jan 2020 (just before COVID).

The current iteration of the ZS EV (50 kWh) was launched soon after (relatively speaking) in March 2022.

Timelines can be inflated during that period due to we know what. Windsor could do with some course correction as well on a more expedited timeline but don't expect anything before the all new ZS EV gets launched. The ZS EV facelift will be 3 years old in March 2025, an eternity in the EV world. So it is definitely due an upgrade. MG would never want the Windsor undermining the ZS.

What is heartening is that the Windsor managed to hold its own even after the Mahindra onslaught. This is literally the only EV thread with any activity apart from the 2 Mahindras. Clearly there is value to be had when opting for a Windsor. All these 3 Born EV cars offer different but compelling packages and though some Windsor sales will be affected, the effect will not be as bad it will be on the Tatas.

There is a good 3.4 lakh rupees gap between the prices of the top end Windsor and the base BE 6E. The gap is 5.4 lakh if you consider the base models of both these cars. This price difference is enough for both a 50 kWh Windsor and a 60 kWh (MG4 based) ZS to slot in. Once these 2 are here, we will have a compelling Born EVs to buy all the way from 13.5 lakh (9.99l with BaaS?) to 25 lakh (for the 80 kWh XEV 9E). What a time to go shopping!
antz.bin is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 08:57   #653

Originally Posted by antz.bin View Post
There is a good 3.4 lakh rupees gap between the prices of the top end Windsor and the base BE 6E. The gap is 5.4 lakh if you consider the base models of both these cars. This price difference is enough for both a 50 kWh Windsor and a 60 kWh (MG4 based) ZS to slot in. Once these 2 are here, we will have a compelling Born EVs to buy all the way from 13.5 lakh (9.99l with BaaS?) to 25 lakh (for the 80 kWh XEV 9E). What a time to go shopping!
We cannot compare the base Windsor with base BE 6e just because both are base variants. The base BE 6e is as well equipped as top-end Windsor if not more. Most importantly, all the EV specs of BE 6e (battery, range, performance, charging speeds) are much better than Windsor or even the recently launched ES5 (ZS EV successor) and Baojun Yunhai.

Having said that, I think out of all the EVs currently on sale (Nexon EV, Currv EV, Windsor, ZS EV, Atto 3) in the Rs 12 to 25 lakhs category, Windsor is best placed to withstand the pressure from Mahindra EVs. But MG should bring in the Windsor 50kWh and ES5 or Yunhai as quickly as possible.
sri_tesla is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 08:59   #654

What is heartening is that the Windsor managed to hold its own even after the Mahindra onslaught. This is literally the only EV thread with any activity apart from the 2 Mahindras. Clearly there is value to be had when opting for a Windsor. All these 3 Born EV cars offer different but compelling packages and though some Windsor sales will be affected, the effect will not be as bad it will be on the Tatas.
For all practical purposes top end of Windsor ev is a namesake top end. Apart from 360 deg camera there is nothing that BE6E is missing apart from certain cosmetic features.

A 50 kw variant would have made this car a no brainer as 38Kw seems a little restrictive when you can have a much more powerful motor, better battery tech and battery capacity for 3 lacs more.

With every next EV launch making the already available models look obsolete it is a no brainer to wait till Bharat expo.

At this moment MG can only mess it up for themselves by not making a car available to those who are still interested, by hiking the price next month and by not offering a 50 Kw version.

Not a sound strategy to hold off on a 50 kw variant for an imaginary model that may or may not get launched as 6e and e9 have already made that model obsolete as well.

This is akin to saying that Mahindra should not have launched Thar ROXX as it would cannibalise sales of 700 and Scorpio N.

Last edited by psbali : 2nd December 2024 at 09:04.
psbali is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 09:21   #655

MG ZS EV (45 kWh) was first launched in India in Jan 2020 (just before COVID).

What a time to go shopping!
That is true indeed! I booked my Windsor a couple of weeks ago but I am not sure if I want to go ahead with the booking. As I already own Tiago EV which is doing quite well I wasn't too sure to get another city car but needed a bigger vehicle for the family. Now, I think I will wait for the BE 9E to launch. I still think Windsor has an edge when it comes to space for the rear passengers.
bhargav_dave is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 09:29   #656

Originally Posted by bhargav_dave View Post
I wasn't too sure to get another city car but needed a bigger vehicle for the family. I still think Windsor has an edge when it comes to space for the rear passengers.
If you need a spacious vehicle go for the Windsor. At 2700mm wheelbase it has one of the largest backseat space. Extremely comfortable. From the Mahindra reviews I read the Windsor provides better space and headroom. If you need a bigger battery, Adas related tech then go for Mahindra or you can wait for Creta EV and E-Vitara.
Ashwathama is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 12:09   #657

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
A 50 kw variant would have made this car a no brainer as 38Kw seems a little restrictive.
Actually, the 50kw version should have launched with the current models. I understand not bringing ADAS but the 50kw absence made no sense to me.

If I go by the current trend, the BAAS version is 10L and with battery is 13.5L. So that's almost 1L per 10kw and 3.5 lakhs for 35kw or 38Kw. By that trend 50kw should be 1.5L extra. So 15L for lower, 16L for mid and 17L for top end which is still amazing. Now in my opinion you should get ADAS, auto parking, and electrical tailgate like the foreign version for 17L but even if they charge for another 1-1.5L which would make it 18-18.5L I would very easily pick this vehicle over the Mahindra 6e base variant as I don't have to pay charger and installation costs which I will have to in the 6e. That will cost another 30-50K. Also, I haven't read the in depth reviews of the 6e but I doubt the base variant of 6e will have ADAS and autoparking. If it does massive thumbs up.

On paper, the 6e is a beast. BYD blade battery, lifetime warranty, great power, torque, suspension, Mobileye's L2+ ADAS. It will be more fun to drive and has a very sporty look and of more course range than the Windsor. On the other hand the Windsor gives you great space at the back, less agressive look, better fit and finish (although this is a personal opinion). Going by the experience my neighbors have had with Mahindra, I will trust MG more with electricals and after sales service. Actually even with the sales service.

Also, every car company advertises the base model price and showcases the top end variant in reviews which I feel is very misleading. I mean, I don't even know why the Windsor base model exists when for 1L more you get everything you want. The top end is also a joke because you just get a roof, lights and a charger. Ohh and lets not forget the PM 2.5 filter. Very crucial for a top model. Fun fact, this jokes on me because i booked the top end as they quoted 50K for fast charger with the mid variant. So I was like, I will just get the top end for another 50K and be done with it. With the 6e too, I feel getting the base variant will be difficult. One will easily spend around 22-23L on road, on some mid variant with charger and installation.

Last edited by Ashwathama : 2nd December 2024 at 12:12.
Old 2nd December 2024, 12:49   #658

Actually, the 50kw version should have launched with the current models. I understand not bringing ADAS but the 50kw absence made no sense to me.
. One will easily spend around 22-23L on road, on some mid variant with charger and installation.
You have summed it up quite well. I'll only add that they will have total 3 variants in 6E for 59 and 79 kw models. The one reviewed on Tbhp was Pack 3 variant and we have seen how variant distribution in EVs is such that the next variant is mostly a lac or 2 more.

I agree it won't be possible to add ADAS but not introducing 50kw only to keep a low selling model like ZS EV relevant is a bad strategy. Whatever footfalls windsor brought would have had a low conversion to ZS EV anyway.
psbali is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 13:10   #659

I agree it won't be possible to add ADAS but not introducing 50kw only to keep a low selling model like ZS EV relevant is a bad strategy.
The ZS EV will die a slow death if they don't bring a newer model. Because the 6e, 9e, Curvv, Harrier EV, Sierra EV, Creta EV are all direct competitors to the ZS EV and not the Windsor.

The Windsor is actually battling the Nexon EV and Punch EV, which by the way are already absolete in my opinion as neither of them have features worth the price or space like the Windsor. Battery capactity is just here and there. It's because of the space and low pricing that the Windsor has also started rivaling the Curvv. Had the Curvv given ADAS from the base variant it would have steered clear but to me it looks like apart from the ADAS variant of Curvv which is the top end variant the entire lineup is dead on arrival post the Windsor launch. Only battery capacity is a plus but that too the 55KWH which sadly starts at 19.25 lakhs so again it is dead on arrival.

They will have total 3 variants in 6E for 59 and 79 kw models.
I guess then the 59kw will have 3 variants priced at 18.9, 20.9 and 22.9 lakhs and the 79kw will be 21.9, 23.9 and 25.9 lakhs and additional charges for charger and installation.

Last edited by Ashwathama : 2nd December 2024 at 13:22.
Old 2nd December 2024, 13:54   #660

I don't have to pay charger and installation costs which I will have to in the 6e. That will cost another 30-50K. .
Sir installation provided by MG is useless for most.
They are only providing 10m of wire from electricity meter till the charging point with Windsor ( Tata provides for 100m and with MG ZS EV you get 50m). That's is the most costly affair in EV charger installation. For instance I my Electricity meter is 100meters from Car parking. Situation would be same for most people staying in society flats.
100meters of cabeling costs Rs60000 for 7.5 Kwatt AC charging( you require 10 cu mm copper wire), and Rs 20000 for 3.3 Kwatt AC charging ( 4 cu mm ).
Even installation of cable is to be done by your own electrician in case of Excite and exclusive variants as confirmed by installation team which visited my place.
Most companies provide 3kwh portable charger for free with EVs , it's only the higher rating chargers that they don't provide. So I believe it would be same for Mahindra too( Anyway it doesn't cost much). MG is providing 7.5Kw charger only with essence variant..

Last edited by drsachin : 2nd December 2024 at 14:12.
drsachin is offline   (1) Thanks