Team-BHP > Electric Cars
Register

Old 11th December 2024, 14:55   #136

Re: Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range

Originally Posted by Jazzybala View Post
Can others who have the Nexon 45kwh share their readings and observations for comparison and understanding?
Was there another car charging at the same time? That can bring the charging rates down?

For DTE, what kind of range did you actually get from say 100 to 10% SOC between the 3 charging sessions? I think Nexon 45 should do 300+ under normal conditions. (AC 25, Normal mode, L2 regen)

Last edited by aah78 : 9th January 2025 at 02:22. Reason: Quote trimmed.
coldice4u is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 15:34   #137

Originally Posted by coldice4u View Post
Was there another car charging at the same time? That can bring the charging rates down?
No other car on the same charger. I am assuming that there was no dynamic load sharing enabled and the whole capacity was equally divided.

Originally Posted by coldice4u View Post
For DTE, what kind of range did you actually get from say 100 to 10% SOC between the 3 charging sessions? I think Nexon 45 should do 300+ under normal conditions. (AC 25, Normal mode, L2 regen)
I have never taken the battery down to 10% yet. The lowest i have done is 23%, which was yesterday. I have done about 893kms since delivery going from 100% to 41% first time and then from 100% to 25% the last 2 times and once did a top up from 70% to 94%. Driving in city mode 99% of time, L2 regen, with AC mostly off.

Last edited by Jazzybala : 11th December 2024 at 15:54.
Jazzybala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2024, 18:53   #138

The Nexon 45 kWh EV charges from 23% to 80% in 29 minutes with a peak charging speed of 60kW.

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241220_185302.jpg

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241220_185308.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 21st December 2024, 14:11   #139

Tata motors achieves cumulative 2 Lakh Ev milestone sales to celebrate this feat Tata Evolve Origami workshop had a ceremony.

Received as WhatsApp forward (courtesy /credits : Sharad Sharma).

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-e34588e06843404b9f2f7a3d736f8ebb.jpeg

Last edited by aah78 : 30th December 2024 at 18:18. Reason: Image inserted in-line. Typos.
XRoader_001 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 16:02   #140

Friends, I got delivery of Nexon EV 45 Empowered + - Intense Teal - On Tuesday. While the buying experience was nothing to write about, the delivery experience was ok.

Coming to the CAR, the product itself is Great, well-built and fun to drive. I have driven about 226 Km in last 3 days and still it shows a DTE of 176 Kms, this is in eco mode with Regen3. AEC is falling progessively from 286 -when I took the delivery to 146 now.

I also got a 16 amp socket with lock and key installed in my parking - it includes a 60 mtr Finoloex 3 phase 4 mm cable with a separate cutout and line, cost 10K.

I am looking for a Whatsapp group of Nexon 45 to learn tips and tricks for this new age car. Any recommendation will help.

Manish
MaNishi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th December 2024, 19:07   #141

At the beginning of October (first week I think), I went and got the 40kWh Empowered+ model booked. At the end of October, I was notified that this model was being discontinued due to the arrival of the new 45kWh model. We then proceeded to change our booking to the Nexon 45 Empowered model.

I was told that they would be able to give me the car (Daytona Grey 45 Emp) by November 15. We waited, but then that day elapsed and then the sales rep said he'd be able to deliver it by November 30 confirmed, even going as far as to say that he could put it in writing. A few days before the end of November (around 27th), he called me saying that the PDI by the Tata team was done and that I could come and have a look at the vehicle. My father was out of town at the time, so I asked him to give me 1-2 days. He asked me to pay some amount to get the car "retailed" under my name.

Thankfully, I was aware enough to simply deny this, as advised by many people on this forum. I told the rep that I would look at the vehicle, and if I found it satisfactory, I wouldn't have any issue paying even the entire amount. He then relented.

My father arrived in town later. I called the sales rep multiple times but suddenly he wasn't picking my calls up. I went to the dealership myself, where the EV Sales Manager brings out his laptop and tells me that my car hasn't even arrived yet.

I was absolutely livid. I told him (in my calmest angry voice) that I'd be canceling the booking. You guys don't even have the car and you have the audacity to ask me for money? If they could pull off such things before I even bought the car, what would they do after I bought it? I was in the mood to cancel that booking and go to another dealer, even if I had to wait another month. The sales manager apologized for this mistake, and I simply asked him the process of refunding my booking amount. He gave me his business card and said I could email a canceled cheque on it. And then again requested me to give them a chance.

I returned home. Talked to my father about this, and he said that if we want this car in the end, it'd be foolish to cancel the booking. My dad had his sights set on this car; my mind was telling me to wait for a few months to see how 2025 pricing would look. Anyway, fast forward a week, and we got the call that the car has arrived and that we were welcome to come and have a look. This was on the 5th of December as far as I remember.

I went with my father and extended family, where we did a comprehensive PDI. I inspected the entire outer, making sure that there were no panel gaps or scratches. I found the vehicle satisfactory; in fact I was surprised that there wasn't a single panel gap. I sat in the car and checked relatively everything; funnily enough I forgot to check the horn. I found everything to be in order. I gave the dealer my thumbs up and asked them to keep it ready for delivery.

On December 6th, we did the full payment in the morning itself. However, there was some issue at the RTO portal that day, so we waited until Sunday, 8th December to take the delivery.

Delivery experience was smooth, they polished the car and everything, had a nice little ceremony for unveiling the car (my parents did the honors), gave us the FastTAG then and there, and I drove the car back home quite smoothly.

Fast forward 3 weeks, and the car has run ~650kms. It is a pleasure to drive. One thing I am worried about is the protruding battery pack at the under body of the car. If someone more knowledgeable than me could confirm the actual ground clearance; Tata advertises it as 190mm unladen but I am having doubts. The car is great to drive. My father and I drive it at an average of 118-120 wH/km. Have to be very careful with the reverse gear though; lots of times I feel like I'm in Drive mode, I bury the pedal and the car shoots off in reverse (usually when I'm parking somewhere). The brakes have insane stopping power, I try to minimize their usage as it can be somewhat jerky if applied suddenly (the regen breaking helps with this).

The car set me back 16.67 OTR in UP. Road tax was waived.

The only major con I felt is the lack of space in the rear ... then again we can't exactly have everything we want. Creta EV and eVitara will solve that issue next year for sure.

Also, the steering wheel leather cover is a silver/whitish one. I believe it will get dirtied easily. Would love to hear workarounds from my fellow BHPians.

If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask.

Name:  Screenshot_2.png
Views: 576
Size:  249.7 KB

Last edited by aah78 : 30th December 2024 at 18:19. Reason: Image inserted in-line.
shaundub is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 30th December 2024, 17:53   #142

A fellow BHPian messaged me asking about the breakdown of the 16.67L, but as I am a newbie, couldn't reply. I'll share the breakdown here:
  • 15,99,000 ESR price.
  • 15,990 TCS.
  • 49,907 Insurance [(TATA AIG, included pretty much every add on (including battery protect)].
  • 1500 RTO charges.
  • Road tax was 0 (waived thanks to Yogi ji's scheme in UP).
Which leads to a total of ₹16,66,397. Can't remember anything else off the top of my head.

One thing which I forgot to mention, as the dealer team messed up in communicating with me properly regarding the arrival of the car, they allowed me to have 10k worth of accessories installed free of cost. I went with:
  • Mud guards
  • Door visors
  • 7D Mat
  • Ganesh ji idol
  • Number plate frame
I think the total rang up to ₹10,807 exactly, but they didn't bugger us about the ₹800 (thankfully!!).

Last edited by aah78 : 30th December 2024 at 18:20. Reason: LIST, spacing, typos.
shaundub is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 12:31   #143

Glad to inform that have booked Nexon EV Empowered+ 45 in Intensi Teal last month. Will get delivery within a week.
Sandeep Singh, from Puneet Motors Prabhadevi has joined only about a year back, but has great knowledge of EVs, and has helped a lot through the booking process.

Anyway, coming to the car, the PDI was done succesfully and everything seemed to be in place, except that the rubber beading was inconsistent, but seems like it is common across all cars.

Further things observed were the incredibly cheap looking acrylic Tata badges (new in the 45 variants?), and bad finishing of the rear armrest plastic/wiper and cheap feeling headlight stalks.
Other than those, there seemed to be no panel gaps, and everything else worked fine.

P.S. Also attaching a few pics of the car, intensi teal is a very hard colour to describe. I think it looks black at night, and dark teal only when the sun directly hits or is under blight lights. The website's colour is very different and a lot more bluish.

P.P.S. Thank you: Jazzybala, Shaundub and electric_eel for your recent inputs on the car which helped me book the car.

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241223_170018.jpg

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241225_200705.jpg

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241223_165512.jpg

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241225_200904.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 9th January 2025 at 02:22. Reason: Thanking fellow BHPians. EDIT: Pictures inserted in-line.
Staraptor is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 4th January 2025, 09:37   #144

Originally Posted by Staraptor View Post

P.P.S. Thank you: Jazzybala, Shaundub and electric_eel for your recent inputs on the car which helped me book the car.
Beautiful color. Many congratulations.
shaundub is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 00:44   #145

Glad to inform that have booked Nexon EV Empowered+ 45 in Intensi Teal last month. Will get delivery within a week.
Sandeep Singh, from Puneet Motors Prabhadevi has joined only about a year back, but has great knowledge of EVs, and has helped a lot through the booking process.

Anyway, coming to the car, the PDI was done succesfully and everything seemed to be in place, except that the rubber beading was inconsistent, but seems like it is common across all cars.

Further things observed were the incredibly cheap looking acrylic Tata badges (new in the 45 variants?), and bad finishing of the rear armrest plastic/wiper and cheap feeling headlight stalks.
Other than those, there seemed to be no panel gaps, and everything else worked fine.

P.S. Also attaching a few pics of the car, intensi teal is a very hard colour to describe. I think it looks black at night, and dark teal only when the sun directly hits or is under blight lights. The website's colour is very different and a lot more bluish.

Congratulations, Staraptor, on the new car!! Intensi Teal is a beautiful colour and was my second choice after Daytona Grey, but was vetoed by both the ladies in the house on this point.
Jazzybala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2025, 10:32   #146

Congratulations the Intensi Teal is a great colour. I hope you have a long and exciting ownership.

You are welcome although I am not sure what gyan did you really get from me .
electric_eel is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2025, 00:17   #147

@Shaundub, @staraptor,

Are you guys planning on getting sun films for your cars? If so, what are your options?
Old 7th January 2025, 11:53   #148

Originally Posted by electric_eel View Post
Congratulations the Intensi Teal is a great colour. I hope you have a long and exciting ownership.

You are welcome although I am not sure what gyan did you really get from me .
The general discussion on headroom and sunroofs

Originally Posted by shaundub View Post
Beautiful color. Many congratulations.
Congratulations, Staraptor, on the new car!! Intensi Teal is a beautiful colour and was my second choice after Daytona Grey, but was vetoed by both the ladies in the house on this point.
Daytona grey is an absolutely fantastic colour too. It's a rare car which looks good in any colour.

I also wish they had the Pure Grey not tied to the Pure variant in Nexon; like is the case with Curvv.

@Shaundub, @staraptor,

Are you guys planning on getting sun films for your cars? If so, what are your options?
Thank you very much, all of you, for the compliments! Best of luck for your car ownerships too. Got the delivery yesterday.

@Jazzybala, no plan for a sun film as of now. At least in Mumbai "winters", the AC is an absolute chiller.
Old 9th January 2025, 01:52   #149

Dear Members

I am in the market for an EV and have almost shortlisted Nexon ev 45 kwh. With strict budget constraints and based on use case I had to choose between Curvv ev and Nexon ev. But somehow I felt Curvv ev seats are uncomfortable and inadequate. Also Curvv's rear space was too cramped. Hence opting for Nexon ev.

But the sales advisor has put me in a dilemma with respect to charging. As per him : " Continued slow charging will reduce battery longevity and one has to use DC fast charge once after 4 slow charging. Or else battery will degrade and warranty too may get breached incase battery capacity reduces due to continuous slow charging".

When I asked for the manual or any written communication from Tata on how to charge EV , he said he is not having any at hand, but this was what told to him in training. I cross checked him by asking a few ev related queries which he was not able to answer properly. But he affirmed that his judgement is based on the TD vehicle which was slow charged only and after a year it is showing reduced range in full charge.

I understand cell balancing and it's logic of charging slowly to 100 percent, but this warranty breach logic seemed rubbish to me and also put me in a vulnerable position.

In my Ather 450x , it is advised to charge slowly and use DC fast when needed urgently for better battery health.

Hence requesting esteemed members and owners to shed some light on the Nexon ev charging advisory as per manual and real world experience.
Old 9th January 2025, 08:53   #150
REN

Originally Posted by The_Apex View Post
But the sales advisor has put me in a dilemma with respect to charging. As per him : " Continued slow charging will reduce battery longevity and one has to use DC fast charge once after 4 slow charging. Or else battery will degrade and warranty too may get breached incase battery capacity reduces due to continuous slow charging".
Complete and utter nonsense from the SA. Tata recommends one full slow charging after every 4 fast charging cycles — not the other way around. It is completely fine to use only slow charging.
REN is online now   (1) Thanks