Team-BHP > Electric Cars
Register

Old 11th November 2024, 12:15   #121

Re: Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range

Originally Posted by shaundub View Post
Hey everyone. As Mahindra is showcasing their new EV lineup on the 26th of November, and my car will reach the dealership on the 16th, I am wondering if I should wait a bit and have a look at what Mahindra is offering as well. Thoughts?
It maybe a good idea. But Mahindra BE.6e will not be a sub 4M car and does not have an ICE powertrain, economies of scale will not be high and because of which Mahindra may price it higher than Curvv. So estimated price range of around INR 17 to 22L, you will not get it at the Nexon.ev price anyways. But it is a Skateboard platform and will be more spacious in the inside. Also launch is still 5-6 months away.
DRPSREDDY is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th November 2024, 16:39   #122

Does anyone have any information about how the rear headroom is in the 45, compared to the Nexon 40.5kwh variant?
For reference, I'm 5'10 and found the headroom in the Curvv quite inadequate. However, it was adequate in the Nexon 40. Had about a 2 finger clearance.

My local dealer doesn't have the 45 variant to see. I believe the panoramic sunroof might have reduced the rear headroom. Kindly help, thanks!

Staraptor.
Staraptor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 00:45   #123

Originally Posted by Staraptor View Post
Does anyone have any information about how the rear headroom is in the 45, compared to the Nexon 40.5kwh variant?
For reference, I'm 5'10 and found the headroom in the Curvv quite inadequate. However, it was adequate in the Nexon 40. Had about a 2 finger clearance.

My local dealer doesn't have the 45 variant to see. I believe the panoramic sunroof might have reduced the rear headroom. Kindly help, thanks!

Staraptor.
Hi Staraptor,
I am about your height and I don't find any issues with the headroom in the Nexon 45's rear seat.

What i am given to understand is that he battery is physically the same dimensions as the 40.5 one with the additional power capacity coming from changing to prismatic cells from cylindrical cells.
Jazzybala is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 08:49   #124

Staraptor.
Did you check whether there is a version without sunroof ? The sunroof is mostly useless in India but I have to admit that it adds a more "open" feel to the cabin (like the light coloured interiors) in my Nexon Max. So if you are not particularly inclined, you can go for the version without one.

Last edited by electric_eel : 14th November 2024 at 08:50.
Old 14th November 2024, 09:31   #125

Originally Posted by Jazzybala View Post
Hi Staraptor,
I am about your height and I don't find any issues with the headroom in the Nexon 45's rear seat.

What i am given to understand is that he battery is physically the same dimensions as the 40.5 one with the additional power capacity coming from changing to prismatic cells from cylindrical cells.
Thanks for your reply Jazzybala, this is really helpful. Hope you are not facing any niggles/quality issues with the same. Enjoy your ride!

Originally Posted by electric_eel View Post
Did you check whether there is a version without sunroof ?
Hi electric_eel, that is what I'd ideally like- the top Empowered+ without the sunroof. Especially in the EV where the vertical space is also at a premium.
However, unlike the Punch. EV, there's no such option. The sunroof is tied to the variant. Hence, stuck with the sunroof. Want the top-end variant for the ventilated seats and the bundled faster 7.2kWh charger.
Old 14th November 2024, 10:06   #126

Hi electric_eel, that is what I'd ideally like- the top Empowered+ without the sunroof. Especially in the EV where the vertical space is also at a premium.
However, unlike the Punch. EV, there's no such option. The sunroof is tied to the variant. Hence, stuck with the sunroof. Want the top-end variant for the ventilated seats and the bundled faster 7.2kWh charger.
Tough luck mate. Exactly the same reason I too went with sunroof in Nexon Max. If there are so many variants I do not understand why tata does not have a "Everything but the sunroof version". It is such a polarizing feature.
electric_eel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 11:32   #127

The sunroof is tied to the variant. Hence, stuck with the sunroof. Want the top-end variant for the ventilated seats and the bundled faster 7.2kWh charger.
I feel you, man! I am stuck with the sunroof for my car as well. The plus side was that it scored brownie points with the Mrs as she wanted one and i was forced to get one irrespective of myto

Also thank you for your wishes, my car is still to be delivered, scheduled on sunday, will post a review once I get the car and do a quick long ride after delivery.
Jazzybala is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2024, 23:12   #128

Originally Posted by electric_eel View Post
Did you check whether there is a version without sunroof ? The sunroof is mostly useless in India but I have to admit that it adds a more "open" feel to the cabin (like the light coloured interiors) in my Nexon Max. So if you are not particularly inclined, you can go for the version without one.
Seconded. I am glad that there are others with the same opinion. If I was going for a petrol Nexon, I'd have the luxury of buying a variant without the sunroof. I do not care for one anyway. If Tata can manage to have 8 variants for a single vehicle, I am sure they can spare 1-2 sunroofless variants for their EV cars as well. The sunroof is simply a liability due to the reduced headspace.
Old 30th November 2024, 18:47   #129

Anybody considering / recently bought Nexon 45 now that Mahindra BE6 is also an option, lack of enthusiasm about nexon is evident in the lack of messages in this thread as well !
Old 30th November 2024, 19:32   #130

Originally Posted by tumordox View Post
lack of enthusiasm about nexon is evident in the lack of messages in this thread as well !
Nexon EV is too old. There are proper born EVs available now with the MG Windsor and Mahindra BE 6E. Infact the Curvv itself is superior to thr Nexon. Tata should launch the 2nd generation Nexon EV asap.
Aditya_Bhp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2024, 20:18   #131

Originally Posted by tumordox View Post
Anybody considering / recently bought Nexon 45 now that Mahindra BE6 is also an option, lack of enthusiasm about nexon is evident in the lack of messages in this thread as well !
Funny how you just asked this today. I wanted to share my recent experience with a Tata dealer in Ghaziabad.
I booked my Nexon 45 around 1.5 months ago. First the sales rep said that the car will arrive by Nov 15. After that he said by the end of the month. A week ago he calls me and asks me 1 lac rupees for "retailing the car" under my name". This was on the 26th. I told him I'd come and inspect on the 28th and pay him the entire amount in one go and he agreed. On the 28th I called him and he wasn't at the dealership. I called him on the 29th and he gave some excuse about the driver not being there. Today I drove to the center and his senior is saying that he is on a Kashmir visit (obviously lying out of his ass). I basically told him that I was going to cancel my booking and that they wasted a good amount of my time. Took their email ID and everything. Just wanted to paint a picture for tentative Tata buyers. Asking for money before my PDI was suspect enough. Turns out the sales rep was lying to me the entire time. I asked him for the VIN number numerous times and he never shared that either. Massive thumbs DOWN
shaundub is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 15:04   #132

Originally Posted by shaundub View Post
Funny how you just asked this today. I wanted to share my recent experience with a Tata dealer in Ghaziabad.
sdown
I am curious if your message to Tata motors about that experience got any response. Its funny if dealerships are not taken for a task for losing potential customers to callousness.
Old 9th December 2024, 09:24   #133

Hey guys. I got my Empowered Nexon 45 delivered yesterday in Daytona Grey. I wrote about a miserable sales experience in a previous post but the dealers really broke their back trying to fix their mistake and so I went forward with the purchase. I'll drive the car more and update with pictures and stats. It set me back 16.66 OTR in UP.
shaundub is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 09:10   #134

I have now completed 3 full charge cycles to 100% SoC (2 AC and 1 DC) and i am constantly seeing my DTE at 100% not crossing 330kms(AC off, City Mode, L2 regen). I recollect my DTE reading showing over 345-350kms earlier. My average AEC is usually between 120-130wh/km, so by a rough calculation it should show me between 346-370kms for DTE.

Also, I did the first DC Fast charging of the battery yesterday on a Glida charger capable of 60KW(Dual Gun), but my car showed a peak charging rate of only 30KW, when theoretically this car is capable of charging at over 50KW.

Can others who have the Nexon 45kwh share their readings and observations for comparison and understanding?
Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241210_200311.jpg  

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241210_210005.jpg  

Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-20241210_210647.jpg  

Last edited by Jazzybala : 11th December 2024 at 09:30. Reason: Back to back posts merged.
Jazzybala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 14:06   #135

Received this from my RM, hope it helps.
Tata Nexon.ev launched with a larger 45 kWh battery; 489 km range-img20241211wa0022.jpg

P.s. couldn't find it updated for December on Tata Motors' website, so do take it with a pinch of salt. Also, the fair usage limit is 1,000 kWh, or about 20 charge cycles (checked from September's T&Cs.)
Staraptor is offline   (1) Thanks