Team-BHP > Electric Cars
Register

Old 4th July 2025, 15:13   #2011

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

Originally Posted by Devdivin View Post
It's high time I posted a follow up to my above post.
I may have missed out on some stuff above and if and when i remember I will update accordingy.
Awesome update, Devdivin! Really appreciate the detailed insights.

I wanted to get your thoughts on one specific aspect: the suspension and overall ride quality. I’m part of a few owner groups on WhatsApp, and there seems to be a growing concern around the ride being on the firmer/bouncier side, some even saying it falls severely short of the plushness Mahindra hinted at (especially in those dramatic glass-on-boot demos).

Could you share your experience in terms of ride comfort, suspension behavior, and whether you’ve encountered any suspension-related noises? Also curious to know what tyre pressures you typically run, and whether that has made a noticeable difference.

Has your opinion on the suspension evolved over the course of 10,000 km? Was there a noticeable difference from Day 1 to now?

Lastly, any progress in identifying the source of those dashboard creaks you mentioned earlier? Have you noticed any additional rattles or build quality niggles over time?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!
DeKay is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 15:24   #2012

It's high time I posted a follow up to my above post.
Thanks for documenting everything in detail!

Reverse-to-Dip feature
On my car the ORVM plunges straight to its lowest stop, so it ends up being counter-productive. I did not realise the dip angle can be “learnt” manually. Could you please walk me through the exact procedure? If it can be taught once and then stored to a seat-memory preset it would be perfect.

Exterior door cladding that scraped against each other
Could you upload a photo of the affected portion? That will give the rest of us something concrete to check in our vehicles too.

Juddering wiper blades
Same issue here—intermittent and occasionally even in heavy rain, so a dry screen is clearly not the only trigger. Please let us know whether a simple blade swap fixed it for you.

7. Range mode shows less range than Default
8. The never-ending disclaimer
+1. Minor niggles, but they dent an otherwise slick interface. Hoping Mahindra will tweak these soon.

9. Cabin light linked to door switch needs to be turned on each time
Same here. Sometimes the switch remembers the last setting, other times it forgets. I’ll flag this during my 10 k service and update the thread.

10. Inablity to view the menu options on DID when the ultra sonic proximity sensors are detecting something

3. UI for amazon music

4. customise power delivery/suspension setup
Seconded on all three counts. A true “Custom” drive mode would be fantastic—I personally find the suspension most comfortable in Everyday, but would love to pair that suspension tune with the throttle response of Range.
adithya.m.bhat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 15:26   #2013

BE 6 Pack TWO 79kWh launched at ₹23.50L

Mahindra BE 6 Review-mahindraelectricsuvs_14040414_152458156.jpg

Last edited by sharmanova : 4th July 2025 at 15:28.
sharmanova is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 16:40   #2014

Thanks to Tata Harrier!

Now pack2 79 KWh Be6 comes at 23.5 lakhs

That’s just 1.6 lakh extra for 20 kwh additional battery.

God bless competition! Hope they would’ve launched Pack 1 79kwh as well in both mahindra twins
Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2542.jpeg  

Last edited by puntolover : 4th July 2025 at 16:56.
puntolover is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 17:46   #2015

Testing my BE6 for city efficiency.

Some points to note here:
  1. This was in Bangalore, where we spend more time in traffic per day than doing something productive
  2. I traveled the same route almost everyday. Deviations were very minimal but neglible.
  3. It was only me in the car at all times. No other person and change of load. AC was on Driver only mode. Was on the drive back but not during the drive to office.
  4. Weather in Bangalore was the same throughout the testing so ambient temperature impact on the car was quite low
  5. I did this by resetting my Trip at the beginning of the day and taking a picture when of it when I was done for the day
  6. I don't do Home to Office and Office to Home trips. My day usually has Office, Home and a couple standard stops everyday. Which is good because you get more accurate data from more realistic human nature trips is my theory. Its not the usual test where you go on a track, select a mode 5 different times and make observations. Nothing against it, just this is more realistic is my opinion.

I wanted to do this from a very long time but always lacked the motivation or simply forgot to change modes when I started driving. This time I ensured it had a 100% pass rate so I could do these runs.

I was also nearing the end of a charging cycle and I needed to bring down the charge to under 5% on recommendation from my BEV owners' club [whoop whoop] having not let it drop under 12% before

Day 1 - Monday - One Pedal Mode - Power Saving Mode

It was a disaster. This was the day 1 of bike taxis ban so it was an absolute traffic nightmare. My testing was not off to a good start. But I stuck to it.

Mahindra BE 6 Review-one-pedal-mode.jpeg

What you can see here is:
Decent distance of 27 kms which I didn't know I do everyday
I was stuck for 2 hours on the road for just one way so not surprising to see the time here.

But the average speed is a good indicator of how I was just standing still for a very long period of time

Honestly the efficiency of 6.6kms/kwh was so surprising though. I thought standing the vehicle with the AC for a long time would definitely eat into the range, but it didn't!

Day 2 - Tuesday - Auto Regen* - Power Saving mode

Like I said, I needed to charge my car soon so stuck to Power Saving Mode but decided to use Auto Regen. Start of my day had shown me around 50kms range so I wasn't worried at all about running out.

Thankfully it had a normal traffic which meant it was going to take me 50 minutes to reach my office which was 8kms away. Nope, I did not miss a 0 there.

Mahindra BE 6 Review-auto-regen-power-saving-mode.jpeg

As you can see, because I'm driving relatively more and power saving mode was On throughout, the efficiency goes upto 8.3km/kwh. The time driven is reasonable what my daily commuting is like. What also helped a lot here was the traffic being absolutely normal as it should. Spoiler Alert: This was the highest efficiency I got during my drive.

Day 3 - Wednesday - L1 Regen - Default

So. You've woken up on Monday and decided not to go to office. You eventually get yourself out of bed on Tuesday and go to office to at least have 1 of the 3 mandatory in office days. But Wednesdays. Wednesdays are when all HRs and Managers have decided they will have in person callibrations and meetings. So every tom dick and harry and their second cousin twice removed is on the road. Absolute nightmare of a morning even when I've left at 7.45am to ensure I beat traffic. I hate going out on Wednesdays

Mahindra BE 6 Review-default-l1.jpeg

I had forgotten to put the car for charge and by the time I remembered I could charge it only to 80%.

Efficiency as expected drops because default mode + only L1 regen mode. There's so much potential regen that is wasted on this run because I've decided to keep it on L1.

Efficiency is just above 6.1km/kwh. This also increased above 6 because I was standstill at a signal for about 10mins due to a problem.
I'd taken a slightly different route but the same traffic principles applied.

Day 4 - Thursday - L1 - Everyday Mode

Everyday Mode used to be my favourite. Simply because the suspension used to turn to buttery smooth and comfort mode was a go! Ever since that Carplay update was added to my car, because I went in for my first service, that's all gone. I don't even use Apple. So loss-loss overall.

Mahindra BE 6 Review-everyday-l1.jpeg

There was normal amount of traffic i.e. 50mins for 8kms kinda traffic i.e. finish a fifth of your audiobook in one day kinda traffic. This meant Everyday mode should have normally taken more power but because the suspensions are now the same as default. So you'll see the suspension being close to what a everyday run should look like. 6.6 for the most normal day possible. That's basically the benchmark now.

Day 5 - Friday - One Pedal Mode - Default

So on Friyay, my WFO was about to end but I was really thrilled that I was able to complete my test on Take 3. It was what Friday traffic is like. Mornings are a breeze and evenings are dull because everyone is trying to leave the city for the weekend. I also traveled a bit more on this day because of a detour I had to make

Mahindra BE 6 Review-one-pedal-mode-normal-traffic.jpeg

So what you see here is what the most preferred way of driving is supposed to look like, for someone who commutes within the city, in Bangalore and other high density areas. The efficiency was between 6.2 and 7.2 throughout the day. One of the stops in between was for about 3kms and it gave me an efficiency of 11km/kwh. This happens time to time with me.

It gave me a efficiency of 6.4 which I don't mind. Traffic was smooth throughout but expected amount. But that brought my testing to the end. So here I go with my observations.

Final Observations
  1. Power Saving mode is built very well. As our friend Anuj on XEV9 thread keps praising it rightly, the Power Saving mode is enough for your daily use. Even on highways. Built really well when you don't plan on going fast and with people.
  2. Default mode is not my favourite modes at all. Actually it might just be my least favourite mode. What we need is a custom mode and default will probably die because nobody will use it is my guess. At least not us EV heads.
  3. When in city, and when you're in choked traffic which needs quick bursts of pick up but also immediate braking, the One Pedal Mode is basically the most convenient and efficient way to go about. OPD reduces the time you'd take to swap between brake and the accelerator pedal and vice versa making you really quick on the road. Did I mention its super convenient. Takes the stress away.
  4. Bring back Everyday mode Suspension Settings Mahindra. PLEASE!
  5. All in all, love this car! It has made my commuting to an absolute nightmare to something I can actually tolerate now because I'm sitting in a comfy cabin not having to worry too much.

Mahindra BE 6 Review-whatsapp-image-20250702-20.07.52.jpeg

* Auto Regen is a mode that allows the car system to decide which level of regen to use real time based on the traffic in front of you. So it can vary regen from 3 in heavy traffic to coasting when there's no cars in front of you. Very useful on highway runs, especially the bad highways. Huge fan of this mode and designed beautifully whoever did it.

Last edited by kennethomas : 4th July 2025 at 17:47. Reason: Formatted the title
kennethomas is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 18:44   #2016

Originally Posted by DeKay View Post
Awesome update, Devdivin! Really appreciate the detailed insights.

I wanted to get your thoughts on one specific aspect: the suspension and overall ride quality.
Thank you.

Regarding the suspension, I don't think Mahindra can pull of the champagne flue test now without destroying each and one of them. The suspension setup is definitely on the firmer side. Although it corners like a charm it takes away from the pulsh-ness.

I distinctly remember that the test drive vehicle had a very soft plush ride and I remember even complimenting the same with my sales advisor.

From my observation, the current setup eats up tiny potholes and gravely roads easily. Its when we throw uneven craters and even stuff like those ramblers/roadhumps when we notice the side to side motion. It tosses you proper. I have been tossed so much that I now identify as chinese food.

But its not all bad. The setup is great for handling. And if you aren't the kind who travel with people who suffer from back aches, this may not be a big issue( until you develop one )

I don't see the role of the semi-active suspension as I have personally not seen any difference in behevior over different terrains or different drive modes.

Take this bit with scepticism. I heard from a lil birdie that the brand hears us and is working on a "update" to make suspension plush. I can't verify the source or its authenticity.
Devdivin is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 19:08   #2017

After the Car Play update, which drive mode is having the most convenient and comfortable suspension settings? My drive is mostly in the City and I am usually driving in Default mode, and feel that the suspension is very hard.
Old 4th July 2025, 21:05   #2018

Hi Team BHP,

This is my first post in the Forum.

Its been 3 Weeks since i got my Be6 and this is the first long trip.

I was travelling from Bangalore to Chennai for a Meeting, started early in the morning from bangalore and at 5:45AM reached Krishnagiri. While driving on the krishnagiri highway suddenly my MID showed 0 Psi and lost tyre pressure of my left back tyre instantly, i was stuck at the middle of the highway with no tyre pressure. As it was dark early in the morning decided to drive slowly to the side of the road.

Got someones help to change to the spare tyre. The spare tyre is too small and can only go at 80Kmph as indicated in the spare tyre. Tried searching for puncher shops and finally found one. They told me that the tyre is gone as the tear was about half an inch and the subsequent cut which was for about an inch. They told me that they are not able to do either mushroom puncher or Tyre vulcanisation, they also indiacted that the tyre got run down as i was driving to the side of the highway with 0 Psi.

Tried searching for tyres at Mahindra showrooms at krishnagiri and vellore, they indicated they dont keep tyres in stock and its only based on order based purchase. Slowly drove to chennai at 60 - 70Kmph seems like i took all day to reach chennai, finally reached my hotel at 4:30PM with the spare tyre.

Started hunting for Goodyear Tyres in chennai at all the Mahindra service outlets and also Goodyear Dealership. The prices quoted was exorbitant, it was daylight robery as they were quoting 26K for single tyre. Finally found goodyear dealer with one tyre availability, negotiated to 22k and got the tyre. It was 10PM after getting the new tyre, have been on this ordeal since 5:30AM.

In this process, i understood that the stock Good Year tyres are not suited for the vehicle and the goodyear delership told me that he has replaced 5 single tyres in the past 3 months for the BEVs. The Goodyear tyre is too soft as they designed it for reducing noice, but its not reliable.

Those who got MRF Markus Tyres are the lucky ones.

Did anyone experience similar tyre related issues?

Also, i still have the punchured tyre with me still. Can i claim insurance for this? I am back to Bangalore today.

I didnt claim the insurance at chennai because its a tedious and time taking process.
Mahindra BE 6 Review-20250702_063417.jpg  

TH3JU5 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 4th July 2025, 22:32   #2019

Originally Posted by ilikesiva View Post
After the Car Play update, which drive mode is having the most convenient and comfortable suspension settings? My drive is mostly in the City and I am usually driving in Default mode, and feel that the suspension is very hard.
They're all the same. Earlier everyday mode had better suspension but they're all same now
kennethomas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2025, 17:10   #2020

With XEV 9e Pack 2 79KW Mahindra also launched BE 6 in Pack 2 79 KW. This launch makes BE 6 the first sub Rs. 25 lakh car to get a battery as big as 79 KW. The car competes with Creta Electric, Curvv.EV and Windsor Pro in size. So I made a comparison for the prospective buyers

Mahindra BE 6 Review-b6-vs-competition.png

Brochure for BE 6 - Link
Brochure for Cruvv.EV - Link
Brochure for Windsor Pro - Link
Brochure for Creta Electric - Link
ferrarirules is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 7th July 2025, 12:16   #2021

Originally Posted by adithya.m.bhat View Post
On my car the ORVM plunges straight to its lowest stop, so it ends up being counter-productive. I did not realize the dip angle can be “learnt” manually. Could you please walk me through the exact procedure? If it can be taught once and then stored to a seat-memory preset it would be perfect.
This is quite simple.
1. Select drive mode to reverse.
2. Adjust the dip position as per your needs on the ORVM using its controls
3. Assign it to memory seat using the buttons on the seat (M followed by 1, 2 or 3)

Please note that this isn't perfect yet & will probably get fixed ones we get the profiles feature enabled and you may have to repeat the process every fortnight or so because it tends to forget or something.

Could you upload a photo of the affected portion? That will give the rest of us something concrete to check in our vehicles too.
Attaching a video below. you can probably hear the cladding hit each others.
Also attached an image of the indicator water issue on the ORVM

Same issue here—intermittent and occasionally even in heavy rain, so a dry screen is clearly not the only trigger. Please let us know whether a simple blade swap fixed it for you.
I finally got the replacement from Shell. I got the Bosch aero ones. The blades themselves are slightly shorter by a few mm mostly owing to the end covers/caps. The cleaning surface area remains the same & the problem is solved. Now my wipers are very silent and clears the windshield effectively. Noticed that the OEM blades were made by a brand called Syndicate. I have kept the old blades so as to possibly get it examined/replaced with new ones at the SC during my next visit.

+1. Minor niggles, but they dent an otherwise slick interface. Hoping Mahindra will tweak these soon.
Hopefully sooner than later

Same here. Sometimes the switch remembers the last setting, other times it forgets. I’ll flag this during my 10 k service and update the thread.
It only remembers until the car goes into deep sleep(fully shut down)
Mahindra BE 6 Review-20250602_111434.jpg  

File Type: zip Door cladding issue.zip (11.80 MB, 12 views)
Devdivin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2025, 12:33   #2022

whether you’ve encountered any suspension-related noises? Also curious to know what tyre pressures you typically run, and whether that has made a noticeable difference.
No noises related to suspension but that random telltale on DID as mentioned above.
I do make a point to maintain the recommended tyre pressure.

Has your opinion on the suspension evolved over the course of 10,000 km? Was there a noticeable difference from Day 1 to now?
Compared to my initial Test drive and my own car, I feel there is a huge difference.

Lastly, any progress in identifying the source of those dashboard creaks you mentioned earlier? Have you noticed any additional rattles or build quality niggles over time?
I am yet to properly identify the exact locations of it but on hitting potholes or ramblers or those tiny speed breakers, I notices a loud plastic rattle from possibly the back of the dual displays. It's only when I hit potholes or joints on flyovers & can live with it I suppose.

The center console divider thing sometimes rattles on gravely roads or rough patches. And since the last SC visit, I hear a persistent but faint rattle from somewhere near or around the passenger side B pillar. ( Once i identify the exact location, I will probably get it addressed at the SC or possibly some jugaad solution on severity and how complicated it is to remove said panel)

I absolutely hate rattles in any car, so I am used to solving it across everything in my garage. Shouldn't be an issue.
Devdivin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2025, 09:18   #2023

I have used Cruise Control before in other cars, but not used Adaptive Cruise Control on any car. Recently, I took my BE6 on a highway and tried to enable Cruise Control and it was popping a message saying, Automated Emergency braking has to be enabled before I can start cruise control.

Is this true? Are both linked?

I have heard earlier posts about AEB creating sudden breaks that can potentially make rear end collisions. So, I am not "in" mentally to enable AEB. Does it mean, I cannot use Cruise Control on this car?

Is there a normal "Cruise Control" without "Adaptive" that makes life simple for driver with drive being in control ?
Old 8th July 2025, 10:09   #2024

I have used Cruise Control before in other cars, but not used Adaptive Cruise Control on any car. Recently, I took my BE6 on a highway and tried to enable Cruise Control and it was popping a message saying, Automated Emergency braking has to be enabled before I can start cruise control.

I have heard earlier posts about AEB creating sudden breaks that can potentially make rear end collisions. So, I am not "in" mentally to enable AEB. Does it mean, I cannot use Cruise Control on this car?

Is there a normal "Cruise Control" without "Adaptive" that makes life simple for driver with drive being in control ?
You cannot, not sure why it's like this on EVs, some ICE cars with ADAS, such as Hycross allow CC with AEB off.
mally2 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2025, 12:10   #2025

Not sure why its needed to enable, I keep it disabled at all times because it does tend to brake suddenly, especially in traffic (even when I've kept it at early setting)

But I do turn it on only when I'm turning on Adaptive Cruise Control. I had kept it on during a highway run and a non-helmet wearing, Rx100 decided to swerve in front of me to overtake another vehicle which led to sudden 100 to 20kmph in 4 seconds. Its too sensitive I felt so always keep it off unless I know I'm on a highway with sensible drivers.

So whenever I decide to use ACC, I turn on AEB, and then turn it off when I turn off ACC. Try it out if you can, keep AEB at early so there's minimal jerk braking. We should request for a feature to turn on ACC without AEB though