Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 10th January 2025, 10:39   #301

Re: Mahindra BE 6 Review

Originally Posted by shivangbhatt View Post
I have built an excel sheet to compare variants, with the information available from two different presentation, i.e. 26-Nov-2024, for Pack-1 and 7-Jan-2025 for Pack-3.

To me it looks like base pack seems VFM. It would be interesting to see what is on offer for Pack-2.
Thanks for compiling the feature list side by side. The only thing I miss from the base variant is ventilated seats. Fabric seats in the base are a plus. I wish Mahindra also offered the large battery pack in packs 1 and 2.
sri_tesla is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2025, 07:59   #302

Originally Posted by driver641 View Post
There is a segment where heart rules over the head and Mahindra usually places their product there.
The ratio of 10:20 is actually 10:35 in most cases. Debates aside I am anxiously waiting to see how the current scenario of each and every ev manufacturer unfolds in the coming 3 months.

Last edited by Turbanator : 11th January 2025 at 08:18. Reason: Quoted post trimmed.
Old 11th January 2025, 08:54   #303

I expressed interest to buy XEV9E to Mahindra SA as Pack1 on-road price was coming close to ₹23-₹23.5lakh in Telangana. BE6 and XEV9E top end would go above ₹28lakh and ₹31lakh on-road in Telangana respectively. Family isn’t comfortable to put anything beyond ₹25lakh on an EV at this time. I am now waiting for BE6 Pack2 or XEV9E pack2 feature list and price reveal.

I am only looking at variants with 79 kWh battery as getting max range is topmost priority for me. 79 kWh battery would give about 500km range and cover my highway travels with just 1 planned recharge stop.

Mahindra claims unlimited warranty for first buyer and 10 years for the next. This may not work well for company lease cars as first buyer is always the company and if the owner pays residual value then owner becomes second owner. Logically 10 years battery warranty will be available fid bought on company lease.
kgt.v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2025, 09:43   #304

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post

Mahindra claims unlimited warranty for first buyer and 10 years for the next. This may not work well for company lease cars as first buyer is always the company and if the owner pays residual value then owner becomes second owner. Logically 10 years battery warranty will be available fid bought on company lease.
I think the unlimited warranty is only for individual registration. Since the car would be registered under the company's name, it is anyway not applicable.
Old 11th January 2025, 13:05   #305

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Sorry for going off topic, but have you seen any battery degradation? Also is this your only car. Asking this as I am looking at BE6 as the only car, and skeptical about its highway performance despite the 550+ real world range (PS-I was a EV sceptic until very recently and despised them )
I just did a battery health scan at TaMo service and battery SOH stands at 99% after 30k km. What that means is that if I were getting 360 km range based off my driving habits and traffic conditions, I will now get 356 km range. In real life, that doesn’t change anything because I usually fast charge after 200 km on highways because it’s usually time for a pet pooja break too!

So go ahead and bindaas buy the BE6. Nobody drives 400 km non stop on highways without a food and bio break so any real world range beyond 300 km is just absolutely fine.

See attached pic of my SOH reading:
Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2828.jpeg  

navinmra is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 11th January 2025, 23:16   #306

Originally Posted by navinmra View Post
Nobody drives 400 km non stop on highways without a food and bio break so any real world range beyond 300 km is just absolutely fine.
I've done my Noida to Abu 850+ kms runs in a thar and scorpio N a few times without a break. Yet I'm getting one to replace the thar cause my comprehensive cost per km seems to be about 13 rupees to a liter (maintenance and urea compounded) and here it'll be 1.5 for the first leg, and probably 5 for the fast charged second leg, to an averaged cost of about 3 rupees a km.

However, I'll have to travel about 10 times a year to recover a lakh. Hmm, over ten years, if I keep it up, 10 lakhs. Choppy waters...

Yeah no, range anxiety is a real thing for me until I am proven wrong. I'm buying the car for its intangibles too, like the advanced ADAS and stress free NCR commute. I haven't been to work in 3 years, but I *want* a BE6. I'm sure that trumps logic.
I really wish they would commit to an AWD at launch. Or even say whether the batteries are going to trend towards 90/100 KHW anytime soon.
wooka is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2025, 10:38   #307

Both the vehicles were in my apartment yesterday. Was heading out for some personal work and was running late so could not stop and get better pics. Both cars look stunning. Very futuristic. Love the BE6 looks more. Seems more proportionate.

Hoping test drives start soon and we will have more of these on the road.

PS: the CEO/founder of an electric 2W company stays in my apartment complex. Perhaps these could have been there for some initial reactions from him. Just a guess though.
Mahindra BE 6 Review-pxl_20250111_070100768.jpg  

sachinayak is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 12th January 2025, 22:08   #308

Originally Posted by wooka View Post
I've done my Noida to Abu 850+ kms runs in a thar and scorpio N a few times without a break.
That’ll be more an exception than a norm I guess

Yet I'm getting one to replace the thar cause my comprehensive cost per km seems to be about 13 rupees to a liter (maintenance and urea compounded) and here it'll be 1.5 for the first leg, and probably 5 for the fast charged second leg, to an averaged cost of about 3 rupees a km.
I think the feeling that you don’t have to spend thousands on fuel every time you drive out is actually quite liberating!

However, I'll have to travel about 10 times a year to recover a lakh. Hmm, over ten years, if I keep it up, 10 lakhs. Choppy waters...
In my experience I tended to put more miles on the EV than in my ICE car. So the break even may be sooner, although not in a year…

Yeah no, range anxiety is a real thing for me until I am proven wrong. I'm buying the car for its intangibles too, like the advanced ADAS and stress free NCR commute. I haven't been to work in 3 years, but I *want* a BE6. I'm sure that trumps logic.
Stress free driving in an EV is very real thanks to near zero NVH. Coming from a Thar, you will notice it prominently. Truth be told, this was my #1 criteria to go electric.
I really wish they would commit to an AWD at launch. Or even say whether the batteries are going to trend towards 90/100 KHW anytime soon.
More than higher capacity batteries, faster charging rates > 1C to 2C will make a bigger difference for longer journeys.
navinmra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2025, 09:27   #309

Understood, thanks a ton for your inputs.

I just did a quick sprint to Dehradun and back. For what it's worth, the scorpio N gets moving (both me, and people in the way), which the BE6.. I hope it can mirror the road effect. It's not bullying per se as is easy to interpret, but when people are drifting mindlessly across lanes, a toot and a typical UP scorpio in the rear view gets them to wake up a bit. I tend to drive either very late or very early, so people are inattentive and generally sleepy.

Another thing going for the transition is safety. I really need radar based ADAS, and the 6 seems to check all the right boxes. I'm also quite *done*. Sadly the vehicle is out of reach as a company car lease, and the unlimited kms warranty goes if I were to buy it via my employer, so the perceived 27L cost of entry will be fairly high.
Old 13th January 2025, 14:45   #310

Had the chance to test drive the BE6 and XEV9 for a short while.

The Good:
Both cars offer great value for their performance, with nice dynamics
The stock audio system delivers a stellar sound
A taut suspension setup ensures a composed ride.
The 15-year warranty (for the first owner) is reassuring
Packed with cameras and tech
Large tires provide a solid stance, giving the cars a commanding road presence.
XEV9 Interior: Plush interiors reminiscent of the XUV7OO, elevating the premium feel.

The Not-So-Good:
Both cars lean towards a concept-like aesthetic that feels a bit exaggerated.
Fake engine noises and flashy rear light displays seemed over the top.
BE6:The rear bench is too high, and the sloping roofline could make it uncomfortable for taller passengers.
The excessive use of piano black surfaces is a scratch magnet, and touch-sensitive buttons are less intuitive.
A puny donut spare
Hopefully, frequent software updates and recalls don't dilute the ownership experience

Both cars highlight a broader trend—vehicles are becoming increasingly gadget-like, more akin to a smartphone on wheels. It’s a bittersweet evolution, but also a reality we must embrace.

The two together

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2375-copy.jpg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2389-copy.jpg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2386-copy.jpg

Massive screen in the XEV9

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2380-copy.jpg

245/55 R19 Goodyear electric drive tyres on both

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2388-copy.jpg

Rear light gimmicks

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2387-copy.jpg

Some over the top rear console design

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2382-copy.jpg

Fabric door handles akin to GT3RS, weight saving in a 2 ton behemoth

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2383-copy.jpg

Last edited by robimahanta : 13th January 2025 at 14:52.
robimahanta is online now   (65) Thanks
Old 13th January 2025, 15:43   #311

Hi, my thoughts on EV efficiency in City and on highways.

I would like to understand, if your EV support 100+ kW fast charger but the cost of fast charging on a highway is as under, what would you prefer:

25kW fast charger - Rs.18 per kWh (20% to 90% in 1 hour)
50kW/60kW fast charger - Rs.25 per kWh (20% to 90% in 30 minutes)
75kW fast charger - Rs. 35 per kWh (20% to 90% in 25 minutes)
125kW fast charer - Rs. 50 per kWh (20% to 90% in 15 minutes)

I think 150kWh fast charging on an EV is over hyped and we may never need to charge such high speed on a highway. A 50kWh / 60kWh at a reasonable cost is more than sufficient for 99.99% of EV users. We always need to have atleast 30 minutes break every 200 / 250km, if travelling with family. A solo driver can drive 500 to 600km with maximum 10 minutes break once or twice, but that is not normal.
Mahindra BE 6 Review-ev-efficiency.jpg  

GoBabyGo is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 13th January 2025, 16:47   #312

Can anyone explain to me how they are getting test drives? I've registered on Mahindra's website. I've called the local dealer. I'm in Gurgaon (near sohna)
Old 13th January 2025, 17:29   #313

Originally Posted by robimahanta View Post
Had the chance to test drive the BE6 and XEV9 for a short while.

The 15-year warranty (for the first owner) is reassuring
Isn't the warranty a lifetime warranty on battery for the first owner? Is this vehicle warranty you are talking about? If yes, 15 years is indeed very confidence inspiring.

Please help with following too-
  • How was the screen interface? Was it intuitive to use and/or laggy?
  • Also in the BE6, is the ingress egress an issue even for the front seats?
Old 13th January 2025, 17:41   #314

Anyone know which dealer in Bangalore is providing test drives from tomorrow as advertised by Mahindra?
Old 13th January 2025, 17:56   #315

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
Hi, my thoughts on EV efficiency in City and on highways.

I would like to understand, if your EV support 100+ kW fast charger but the cost of fast charging on a highway is as under, what would you prefer:
I don’t know how did you come up with these per kWh prices, but they’re factually wrong. I’m attaching prices of high power chargers from various charge point providers below.

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2524.jpeg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2521.jpeg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2520.jpeg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2519.jpeg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2522.jpeg

Mahindra BE 6 Review-img_2523.jpeg
ADI7YAK is offline   (23) Thanks