Team-BHP - Shady Business: Airtel & MTNL injecting advertisements / js into websites you visit!
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Gadgets, Computers & Software (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/)
-   -   Shady Business: Airtel & MTNL injecting advertisements / js into websites you visit! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/165832-shady-business-airtel-mtnl-injecting-advertisements-js-into-websites-you-visit-2.html)

At this point in lifetime of Internet, the very definition of Internet is under 'consideration' (read attack). Because we don't have well defined laws dealing specifically with Terms and Quality of service provided by ISPs and pretty much anything in general, it is left to interpretation of every individual and entity.

I am not an expert on copyright and IP laws but as far as I can understand, any content loaded by a particular URL has to be the IP of the owner of that URL so any 'modification' should amount to IP violation.

There are ways to by pass this. As suggested by Rehaan, 'https' takes care of this injection. By encrypting the stream of data you take away the ability of ISP to be the 'man-in-the-middle' (which is illegal) because if they can't read the structure of HTML loaded by that URL, they can't inject their scripts. Although, security of 'https' as a standard/protocol itself is under attack. Also, this puts the onus on the website owners as ultimately they have to support https and https has significant computational power (means money) overhead

There are other ways as well. Using AdBlocking extensions in your browser is one way. Here is one for Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...ibdccddilifddb and you can use this for firefox:https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/fir.../adblock-plus/
(And no, don't use internet explorer, it's security is as leaky as a hose on a 70s range rover)