Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st March 2017, 07:42   #31
Senior - BHPian

Re: WhatsApp and its effect on our lives

Whatsapp, for me, is a very useful business tool. Not indespensible, but saves me a lot of time and money (time=money).

I am a graphic designer, and the fastest and most direct way to share images and PDFs is WhatsApp. As it's all pervasive, there is no learning curve for my customer.

web.whatsapp.com is a boon as I just have to drag files into whatsapp on my PC to send design proofs for approval. Inversely, my customers also reply back with corrections, additions, etc. The only time I need to look at my phone during office hours, is when I need to answer/place calls.

Other than that, it is a great way to keep in touch with friends, cousins, relatives and business associates.

To overcome the negatives, I have taken the following steps:

- Muted all group notifications

- Switched off auto-downloading of images and video. This has saved me the pain of emptying my phone once a month.

- Made rules for some groups to avoid spam. Eg. My auto club group does not allow any post unconnected to automobiles. My family group has banned politics.

- I do not comment on any group unless I have something substantial to add. Unless it's a joke, or a funny comment
Old 21st March 2017, 12:38   #32
Distinguished - BHPian

Nice thread. Amazing how quickly attitudes to a technology platform change these days...had this thread been started 3 years ago, I suspect the responses would be a lot different.

Some nice points captured by everyone who's posted here. From my experience, Whatsapp helps in the following ways:
  • Family intimacy: Sharing pics, videos of events & milestones across immediate family spread (in my case) across 3 Indian cities and 2 more overseas