Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 20th December 2017, 16:59   #1

How much have you spent on gadgets this year?

How much have you guys spent on Gadgets for yourself this year?

2017 has seen me spend quite a good amount on Gadgets. There was absolutely nothing spent in 2016.

March: Thinkware F770 Dashcam @ 28,000 INR
July: Samsung Gear 360 @ 13,000 INR
October: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 @ 50,000 INR
December: Samsung Gear S3 @22,000 INR
hemanth.anand is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th December 2017, 22:43   #2

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
How much have you guys spent on Gadgets for yourself this year?
LG G6 for wife: Rs 33,000
Nokia 8 for me: Rs. 36,000
iPhone 6 for mom: Rs. 26,000

iPad 9.7 inch for me/son: Rs. 24,000

New desktop for me: Rs. 40,000
Mi 3C Wifi Router: Rs. 2,200

Fitbit Charge HR for me: Rs. 0 (gifted)
Mi Band fitness band for wife: Rs. 900

Hikvision CCTV camera setup: Rs. 21,000

I do not intend to make any more acquisitions for the next 5 years though. All gadgets have tempered glass layer and thick phone/tablet case. I'm done with laptops - I don't intend to buy any in the future.

Added: I have ordered this interesting gadget on ebay.in. Delivery in 15 days. It is an iphone 6 case with inbuilt battery pack. One charge will triple iPhone 6's battery life.

How much have you spent on gadgets this year?-battery.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 21st December 2017 at 15:15. Reason: Moving
SmartCat is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 20th December 2017, 22:46   #3

Hmmm, interesting discussion. All I can remember buying in 2017 is:

- Kindle (spent zero since I converted my miles and won an amazon voucher in office)
- WiFi router worth 2,000.

Shucks, where has all the money gone ?

Edit: I remember now, younger brothers wedding

Last edited by GTO : 21st December 2017 at 15:16. Reason: Moving
Eddy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th December 2017, 23:19   #4

Major purchases as I can think of,

OnePlus 3T (128GB) - ₹28,000 (For myself)

Viofo A119S V2 dashcam - ₹6,200 (For the Creta)

a4anurag is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th December 2017, 23:50   #5

I'm on an austerity drive, putting every spare penny in my new car fund for next year.

We did replace a laptop and cellphone, but both for the better half and both necessary replacements.

Chetan_Rao is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 00:12   #6

OnePlus 3T (64 GB) = 29,999/-
Samsung J2 4G = 7,500/-
Samsung J2 Pro (16 GB) = 9,000/-
Samsung Galaxy 8 Plus (128GB) = 63,000/-
OnePlus 5T (128GB) = 38,000/-

ASUS 8510UN-BQ139T laptop = 80,240/-
Seagate Backup Plus Portable External HDD (4 TB) = 9,999/-

F&D A520 2.1 Speaker System = 2,900/-
Lenovo chiclet KB & Optical Mouse combo = 1,050/-
Exotica Men's Watch = 1,900/-

Add 2 small additions to our garage to the above, and it's been quite a year for our household.

RavenAvi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 08:34   #7

re: How much have you spent on gadgets this year?

One other thing to note is that this year, all my gadgets have come from the USA whenever a colleague or friend or relative has come back to India.

At the time of the purchase, If I had purchased these here in India itself, they would've cost me much higher.
Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
March: Thinkware F770 Dashcam @ 28,000 INR
July: Samsung Gear 360 @ 13,000 INR
October: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 @ 50,000 INR
December: Samsung Gear S3 @22,000 INR
Indian prices
Thinkware F770 Dashcam ₹60,000
Samsung Gear360 ₹27,000
Samsung Galaxy Note8 ₹64,000
Samsung Gear S3 ₹29,000

So all in all, I may have spent over a Lakh, but I've spent ~₹70,000 less by getting it from the US of A
hemanth.anand is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 09:21   #8

Zero on myself for gadgets this year, hopefully will not have to buy anything in next 10 days. Spent Rs 3399 on a Nokia 3310 for dad.
BlackPearl is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 10:22   #9

IIRC, I've only spend 3.4k on a Chromecast this year. No other gadgets.

Last edited by GTO : 21st December 2017 at 15:12.
GTO is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 10:36   #10

Around 12k on a Redmi Note 4 for wife and 13K on an Mi Max Prime after exchanging my Nexus 6. Relatively quiet year
Rajeevraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 12:57   #11

Interesting! A good way to note down that necessary/not-so-necessary spent on gadgets

My list below; its quite thin and I don’t remember the exact cost for most of them…
  • Pioneer SBX-N700 Soundbar: SGD 450 Approx. (INR 21,500)
  • Chromecast: SGD 60 (INR 2,850)
  • LG V20**: SGD 50 (INR 2,400)
  • Apple iPad: SGD 50 (INR 2,400) + Traded in Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 8**: SGD 150 (INR 7,150) + Traded in iPhone 7 plus 32GB
  • AKG Y50 BT Headphones: SGD 0 – free with the Note 8

**The mobile devices are cheap because of the bundled contract I have with the service provider.

Last edited by GTO : 21st December 2017 at 15:13. Reason: Moving out
vb-saan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 13:54   #12

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Around 12k on a Redmi Note 4 for wife and 13K on an Mi Max Prime after exchanging my Nexus 6. Relatively quiet year
Ok I had a big big brain freeze looks like. I moved to a new place and purchased a bunch of things.

LG 55 inch UHD TV for ~90k
LG Washing Machine and Dryer combo for 55K
LG RO Water Purifier for ~25k

Not even mentioning the semi gadget stuff like a Hob, Chimney and other related stuff.
Rajeevraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2017, 15:14   #13

Re: How much have you spent on gadgets this year?

Thread moved to the Gadgets forum!
Old 21st December 2017, 15:41   #14

A big year for gadgets
Chromecast - Free credit card points
Amazon fire TV - 1950 Black friday offer Amazon US
Apple magic mouse 2 - 4599 Flipkart
Apple keyboard - gift, actual cost 3699
SSD for mac mini - 9500, CRUCIAL MX300 525GB Amazon US
Macbook air - 46000 (10k exchange) flipkart.
Old 21st December 2017, 15:49   #15

I spent a lot this year, by my standards. I didn't have much to show for the last 3-4 years. Following items picked and hopefully I won't have to spend on a GPS sports watch at least for the next 5-7 years:

- Suunto Ambit peak 3 (miles + Rs 13k)
- Garming fenix 3 HR (Rs 20k)
- Amazon echot dot (Rs 3149)
- Solar power generator (not a gadget technically, but I thought of it like one. A cool Rs 1.8 lacs (after government rebate))

Bought the Garmin because I wasn't fully satisfied with the Ambit and needed that perfect GPS watch.

PS: We are all gentlemen here. But just in case, please have a read: http://www.livemint.com/Politics/ae3...-sites-to.html

Last edited by rrsteer : 21st December 2017 at 15:53.