Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 24th October 2024, 17:59   #10561

Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

I bought Sony KD-55X7500H Tv in Jun 2021 at 67K. From last week, I can see horizontal line at the bottom. The Sony technician said it is due to cleaning the screen with wet cloth or with Colin. I am still investigating whether my maid has done that or not. The technician says that I need to change the panel and he called service Center. Interestingly, service Center says panel for your Tv is not available and we can give you new Sony Tv K-55S25 at the cost of panel which is 30K. The cost of the TV which company is offering is at 61K. The horizontal lines will increase as per technician and this offer of getting TV in exchange of panel stands till the 05 years of purchase date. I can request for any other model but it needs to be confirmed whether I would be eligible or not.

I want to check did anybody else has come across this kind of offer? Is it genuine offer from Sony or am I getting lemon? What should I do? It is tempting offer as display will worsen eventually and I have no option to go for it.
The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.-img_2443.jpeg  

Old 27th October 2024, 17:26   #10562

Hello everyone,

I’m planning to convert my living room into a mini theater. I’ve chosen the AVR system, speakers, and acoustics, but I haven’t decided on a TV yet. I’m looking for a TV with the following specifications:

• Size: 75 inches or 65 inches
• Type: QLED
• Resolution: 4K or Ultra HD
• HDR10+ / Dolby Vision support
• Connectivity: eARC, 2 USB ports, and HDMI
• Audio: Dolby Atmos or Dolby Digital support
• Minimum of 2GB RAM
• Upscaling feature
• Budget: Around 1 lakh INR

The most important feature is that it should be able to play videos from my 1TB SSD external hard drive, which contains large 4K/REMUX/2160p movie files, each between 20-70GB. When I tried out some options in local stores, only branded TVs like Samsung and LG could handle it, while brands like VU couldn’t even read the SSD (formatted in exFAT).

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you
Old 28th October 2024, 11:57   #10563

Hello friends,

I'm planning to buy a 4k TV for a bedroom in my ancestral home in a small town. I have never purchased a flat-screen TV (We still have a large CRT TV). So I need some help from the experienced members. Please bear with a noob.

What I am looking for:

• Size is limited to 43" (due to space limitation).
• Resolution: 4k, and good video quality.
• VA (not IPS) panel for deeper blacks. Not going for OLED. Viewing angles are not a concern.
• Budget: Around 30k (+/- 5k).

• MUST have good Upscaling. Major usage will be viewing a large library of mp4 videos via USB port, DVDs/DVD image files, and some OTT streaming.

• Must have good service available in a tier-3 town. So, basically looking at major brands only (Samsung/LG etc.). Sony is out due to budget.

Was looking at my options in local stores (Reliance Digital, and a coulple of regional chain stores). Looks like my options are limited to the Samsung Crystal 4k lineup. Here are my observations:

• A Samsung Crystal 4k was much superior in Upscaling compared to a Panasonic in the same range!

• Didn't even look at any LG because of their weird marketing strategy of shipping random panel types for the same models (either VA or IPS, -- the sellers also don't know which, so cannot guarantee the type)!

• A problem with the Samsungs is that they come with only a single USB port (and that too, mounted on the back of the TV, -- so wall-mounting could make the access problematic). How much of a problem just a single USB port could cause? Any potential issues?

• 'Table-top' mounting is an easier option, but the centre of the TV would be elevated from eye-level by ~2-3 ft. at a viewing distance of ~8 ft. Could that cause an issue with a VA panel (horizontal angles would still be small), or otherwise?

• Noticed a curious issue buying online (from Amazon/Flipkart etc.), -- the warranties are limited to the typical 1 year, while the offline stores are offering 3-yr warranties (from the brands) during Diwali. So, any price advantage buying online is pretty much nullified if I purchase extended warranty! That too is limited to a maximum of 3 years from purchase, while the local stores offer an additional 2 years over the original 3 years, -- at an additional cost, of course (~5k).

So, is buying locally (along with the 2-year additional warranty, i.e. a total of 5 years) a better idea?

I'd much appreciate any insights, recommendations etc. Thanks.
Old 28th October 2024, 22:33   #10564

Originally Posted by rejaneeshsr View Post
Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you
Update

I checked several TV models at four reputable stores here in Trivandrum. I noticed that picture quality is noticeably better in brands like Samsung, LG, and Sony compared to budget brands like TCL, Haier, and VU. Processor speed and UI smoothness are also superior with the premium brands, though warranty coverage tends to be better with the more economical options.

When I tested large 4K files (around 40GB) from a USB drive, only the premium brands could handle it. Even Sony had some difficulty but managed to play it, while Samsung and LG handled the files smoothly.

The standard warranty for these premium brands is generally 1+1 or 2+1 years, and it can be extended by up to 3 more years if you choose the Bajaj Finserv EMI option.

None of the local shops are currently selling Hisense TVs, as they reported that Hisense has stopped providing local service support. Only online support is available, which can be inconvenient and time-consuming.

I’m leaning toward Samsung, LG, or Sony, but I’m unsure which to choose. My budget is around 1 lakh, and I’m looking for a screen size of either 65 or 75 inches. Any suggestions?
rejaneeshsr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 10:38   #10565

Originally Posted by rejaneeshsr View Post
Up date
The standard warranty for these premium brands is generally 1+1 or 2+1 years, and it can be extended by up to 3 more years if you choose the Bajaj Finserv EMI option.

I’m leaning toward Samsung, LG, or Sony, but I’m unsure which to choose. My budget is around 1 lakh, and I’m looking for a screen size of either 65 or 75 inches. Any suggestions?
Wait for the Diwali Sales discounts. I got 3 years warranty as a part of the Diwali sales promotion four years ago.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th November 2024, 18:10   #10566

Guys, can you advise please?

I have a (personally) precious 2001 Panasonic UK S-47 DVD player which we have used continually till pre-C19, when we changed to a Mi 65” LED TV. Unfortunately the new set does not have any input apart from HDMI (I think), and the old 3-jack cables are now useless. Since the DVD player is from the UK, it also has a SCART interface which is even more bespoke I believe.

How can I practically connect it to the Mi TV?

Also, if not feasible, can anyone suggest a new high quality DVD player (normal, not BluRay) to play our extensive DVD/CD collection.
The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.-img_6673.jpeg  

The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.-img_6683.jpeg  

Last edited by itwasntme : 7th November 2024 at 18:17.
Old 8th November 2024, 12:52   #10567

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post

How can I practically connect it to the Mi TV?

You can connect it via an optical cable. I think your TV should also have the option considering I can see a light glowing below your ETH cable.

I'm not sure how great the sound quality will be but worth a try.
fiat_tarun is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 14:14   #10568

Also, if not feasible, can anyone suggest a new high quality DVD player (normal, not BluRay) to play our extensive DVD/CD collection.
I recently purchased a new CD/DVD player (Target TT-692) last month and the purpose was just to play old/classic cinema songs and devotional songs. The price of this CD player was Rs.3299/- and purchased through Amazon. (seems presently not available in Amazon)

It's all working fine except I found a small cons, i.e. the player does not have a volume control button. Whenever I insert a CD and start playing, it starts with a big sound by default which is harassing until I reduce the sound using the remote control.
nairrk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2024, 18:19   #10569
PPS

Guys, my CRT 20 inch LG TV which we had bought from Dubai back in 2001 caught fire due to a mishap today! My parents absolutely cannot live without a TV. Since the viewing distance is short, I feel 32 inch TV should be ideal. Though there are a lot many options in 40 inch ones but the size would be too big.

Kindly suggest which are the brands to avoid in this category & which brands are preferable. After browsing through the last couple of pages I understand the life of a TV nowadays isn't more than 5yrs. Wanted to know which are the non-negotiable features which I should look at like number of ports, whether Android/Google based, RAM,etc. Not sure whether the purchase will be via Vijay Sales or on Amazon which has a lot many options with brands like TCL,Hisense,etc.

Last edited by PPS : 9th November 2024 at 18:27.
Old 9th November 2024, 18:48   #10570

I have a (personally) precious 2001 Panasonic UK S-47 DVD player which we have used continually till pre-C19, when we changed to a Mi 65” LED TV. Unfortunately the new set does not have any input apart from HDMI (I think), and the old 3-jack cables are now useless.
If you are talking about the 3 AV ports (Red, White and Yellow), MI TV will it have on the bottom. Check the same panel where you have the USB, HDMi ports but on the bottom side.
xenon0025 is offline   (1) Thanks