Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 16th June 2008, 13:14   #1126

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
3 Lacs and you look at LCDs? If I had that kinda budget, I'd head out immediately and grab a 50" 1080p Pioneer Kuro.
available in India? at what price?

If Plasma Pioneer or Hitachi?

Last edited by navin : 16th June 2008 at 13:18.
Old 16th June 2008, 13:19   #1127

Originally Posted by navin View Post
available in India? at what price?

If Plasma Pioneer or Hitachi?
Should be between Panasonic and Pioneer. I guess Panasonic should be available in India.
Old 16th June 2008, 13:24   #1128

3 Lacs and you look at LCDs? If I had that kinda budget, I'd head out immediately and grab a 50" 1080p Pioneer Kuro. Those LCDs don't hold a candle to the Kuro plasmas in picture quality and connectivity
Yup, I went to Best Buy Magnolia demo room to check out Pioneer Kuro and was left stunned by the PQ. Amazing is too polite a word. Its bootilicious to say the least ( and no, Beyonce was not strutting her stuff in the demo video)
Old 16th June 2008, 13:27   #1129

Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Should be between Panasonic and Pioneer. I guess Panasonic should be available in India.
I know Hitachi P50X is available (did not ask the price) besides I will get a "nice price" on the Hitachi.
Options now..
1. Samsung LA52 (6 series)
2. Sony W52
3. Pioneer Kuro 50"
4. Hitachi P50X
5. Panasonic Viera TH50PZ

The TV will be wall mounted and 99% of her viewing is cable. 1% is DVDs of her grandson.
Old 16th June 2008, 13:36   #1130

I know Hitachi P50X is available (did not ask the price) besides I will get a "nice price" on the Hitachi.
Options now..
2. Sony W52
3. Pioneer Kuro 50"
4. Hitachi P50X

The TV will be wall mounted and 99% of her viewing is cable. 1% is DVDs of her grandson.
Plasma excels in standard definition stuff than LCDs.

From the above I would consider #3,#5,#4 in the order of preference. Leave out LCDs. They just dont compare to high end plasmas. If LCD a must, then go for Sony X series. They are a cut above the rest, especially with HD content.
Old 16th June 2008, 13:44   #1131

If decided for LCD then Samsung LA52 (6 series) is for your Mom Navin, as last month did too much of RnD for Plasma and LCD TV and found nothing comes close to Samsung series 6.
Stopped thinking of buying one as my old CRT got repaired
BTW if you are looking for more than 32" then why not Plasma.And Pioneer is the Plasma to buy.

Last edited by Ajaybiz : 16th June 2008 at 13:46.
Old 16th June 2008, 17:00   #1132

Options now..
2. Sony W52
3. Pioneer Kuro 50"
4. Hitachi P50X

Well I'm not impressed by the P50X01. It has *significant* flicker on static white backgrounds. Its an almost fatal flaw. Even though the panel overall is quite close to the Panasonics, this issue is a write off for me. If you'd wanna spend 3lacs, I'd not even think of anything but the Kuro. Nothing else is even half as good.

I'd go on to say that the 720p Kuro is better than 99% of 1080p LCDs and Plasmas. Spatial resolution is clearly overrated. Pioneer is available in India with warranty. Not sure of the Bombay dealer though.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 16th June 2008 at 17:05.
Old 16th June 2008, 18:47   #1133

Originally Posted by appuchan View Post
From the above I would consider #3,#5,#4 in the order of preference. Leave out LCDs. They just dont compare to high end plasmas. If LCD a must, then go for Sony X series. They are a cut above the rest, especially with HD content.
We (my wife and me) use a Sony X46 and a Samsung M81. the X46 is much better.

I'd go on to say that the 720p Kuro is better than 99% of 1080p LCDs and Plasmas..
Ajaybiz suggested the Samsung LA52/6 (Rs. 2.7L) . What you reckon the Kuro will cost in India.

Last edited by navin : 16th June 2008 at 18:48.
Old 16th June 2008, 18:54   #1134

The 720 p 50" Kuro costs 2.2 in Blore
Old 16th June 2008, 19:52   #1135

Yup, I went to Best Buy Magnolia demo room to check out Pioneer Kuro and was left stunned by the PQ. Amazing is too polite a word. Its bootilicious to say the least ( and no, Beyonce was not strutting her stuff in the demo video)
Yes Navin, Kuro Plasma is THE BEST TV out there, whether Standard def or high def.

Ambient light (or lack of absolute black) is like noise in audio, and Pioneer provides leading black levels in industry, so you can imagine.

Currently 8th Generation is there, but 9th generation is due for launch this month in US (with 80% better black level than 8th generation). 8th Gen itself is the best, but as per the reports 9th Gen will be even better.

There will be no 720p in 9th Gen, but only 1080p and 50" upwards size.
Expected launch in India is towards the end of the year, I suppose before the Olympics. (but not sure)

8th Gen 720p Pioneer Kuro 50" - 2.2 lakhs in Bangalore (from Authorized dealer)
Old 16th June 2008, 20:15   #1136

How is the Panasonic 42PV7 Plasma TV? How is it different from the PV70? The PV7 is available for 65k and the PV70 at 80k(MRP) here: HypercityArgos - Welcome!

I've been toying with the idea of getting a flat panel TV. I have a Sharp 29" CRT currently and quite like the picture quality on that for regular (non-HD) DVD's. Wondering if they'll look as good or better on one of these plasma's. Given that HD content is hard to come by, I'm not too bothered about that.
Old 17th June 2008, 04:48   #1137

^^Only diff is connectivity. The panel is the same.
Old 17th June 2008, 09:41   #1138

Originally Posted by anuragn View Post
NC,
Don't forget to check out Kohinoor. They advertise by saying" Kam se kam se kam daam" and I found this to be absolutely true! I bought my LG32LC7R from Kohinoor Vashi, and it was cheaper than at Reliance digital, Croma, Vijay sales and Next.
Just tell them the best price you are getting elsewhere and you are sure to get a better bargain.
Hey anuragn, how much did you get the 32LC7R for and when?
Old 17th June 2008, 10:42   #1139

Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
Currently 8th Generation is there, but 9th generation is due for launch this month in US
Fair enough. I assume many manufacturers will introduce new generation TV just before the Olympics. Maybe we should wait till August/September. We have a 2nd TV which we gave her yesterday. Thanks everyone.
Old 18th June 2008, 10:40   #1140

Is it true that LCDs have a better and a longer life then Plasma TVs & how good is *** ( After sales service ) for Plasma TVs in India.

Rgds