Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 30th October 2012, 20:27   #271
Distinguished - BHPian

re: The "Online Shopping" Thread

I have been buying on line for many years. Admittedly, mostly in Europe and USA. I don't think for the last ten years I've not made a booking for travel (plane, hotel, cars, ferry) other than online, using a variety of different sites. Anything from cheap flight.com to KLM.

In addition my wife and I have been buying stuff for our various hobbies on mostly Ebay from places all over the world. The most expensive purchase I made was three years ago when I bought my Jaguar XJR of an Ebay buyer, never having seen the car in real life. That was a bit scary, but it turned out the best buy/car I've ever owned.

All in all, we've never had any serious issues with Ebay or with anything else we bought on line. Most our books/CD/DVD come via Amazon. And we just used the "nearest Amazon" to where we happen to be living.

I'v made endless relatively small purchases from a whole host of of small companies around the world. Never any problems. Once I ordered a new rechargeable battery, it arrived promptly but was next to useless as it lost its charge within a day. Contacted the seller and he sent me two new ones!