Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 5th April 2007, 13:42   #1

Inverter or generator?

Guys, the summers have arrived in Delhi and as usual the electricity problem is very bad. I am thinking about buying an inverter or a generator that can support a refrigerator and 1 ac or 2 acs at a time.

Any ideas on what brand and model to go for and what would be the approx comparative prices between the two choices?

Old 5th April 2007, 13:57   #2

Besides the argument of Noise Pollution air pollution etc., from a practicality standpoint, if your locality gets 8-10 hours cut a day with continuous cuts more than 3-4 hours, a generator makes more sense. You can get LPG or Diesel one to save costs.
Inverter will be more expensive initially, but you will recover the cost within 2-3 years if you go for a good branded product.
Su-Kam and Hyundai are good candidates.
Of course a Desi inverter will cost less, but the headache is not worth it. Have already suffered.
You can get easy EMI on most leading brands for 4KVA-5KVA inverters, but the cost will be very very high, initially that is.
Old 5th April 2007, 14:17   #3

Man, I feel so lucky. My builder, Shipra Estates, provide 100% power back-up. Ghaziabad is notorious for power-cuts but we don't even come to know about those :-)

\N
ntomer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2007, 15:45   #4

mrhap going by your requirments inverter makes little sense so go for a generator
Old 6th April 2007, 01:06   #5

ya ...I was thinking of adding a solar panel to charge the battery in the day even when there is a power cut....so atlest we have full charge battery at night.....
Old 7th April 2007, 14:46   #6

mrhap, as you need to run 1 or 2 ACs on the inverter/generator, a generator is the better choice.
Old 9th April 2007, 12:24   #7

Thanks for your replies, guys in NCR, any idea how much a generator supporting 2 acs would cost?
Old 9th April 2007, 14:01   #8

Originally Posted by mrhap View Post
Thanks for your replies, guys in NCR, any idea how much a generator supporting 2 acs would cost?
I have seen such sets in villages.

They use a tractor engine, last time I enquired the cost for such a generator to be made was about 80,000RS. That was for a complete set using a mahindra engine.
Old 9th April 2007, 14:05   #9

A 10KVA generator will cost around 40,000 all inclusive. It will of course be a non branded unit. It will run 3 ACs + some other appliances.
Check with Su-kam for inverter of same capacity.
Old 9th April 2007, 14:54   #10

We are buying a su-kam 30kva invertor with a 2hr backup to run everything including ACs and its coming to about 5lacs. Its all in the batteries, the more backup you want, the more batteries you need to buy.

cheers.
Old 9th April 2007, 14:58   #11

30KVA! ankur,
That will power 15ACs!
I guess a 5KVA one will cost around 80K?
Old 9th April 2007, 15:44   #12

30KVA! ankur,
That will power 15ACs!
I guess a 5KVA one will cost around 80K?
No just about 7-8 ACs along with all the other stuff. No idea about 5kva models.

- Ankur.
Old 11th April 2007, 16:33   #13

Sorry for going way off topic but couldn't resist asking a question that i cant find a true answer of.

How much a simple 500VA home inverter enough for 3-4 fans,tubes consumes electricity while at fully "charged" and also when it is "charging"?Some one told me that even when its fully "charged" it consumes electricity equal to 100 w bulb and 500w when its "charging".
Old 13th April 2007, 00:30   #14

A 10KVA generator will cost around 40,000 all inclusive. It will of course be a non branded unit. It will run 3 ACs + some other appliances.
Check with Su-kam for inverter of same capacity.
Please where can I pick up one of these from ?

40,000 is ok if it can power 3AC. Any idea on how much diesel it consumes for an hours use.

I have been told that the Mahindra tractor engine powered ones consume about 1.5 litres of diesel per hour. No idea how many KVA they are.
Old 13th April 2007, 13:05   #15
rkg

check the kirloskar/cummins websites for gen stes. you can get them with sound proofing and warranty. 5 KV gen set can also power AC. even honda makes small genstes upto 10 KV. recently i enquired for 62.5 KN genset from kirlosakr . quoted price was 4.5- 5 lakhs all inclusive with sound proofing ans installation

JAKSON INNER PAGE
http://www.cumminsindia.com:8080/xsq...l_engines.html
Diesel Generators | Diesel Gensets | Diesel Generators Supplier | Power Generators
Honda Gensets, Water Pump, Engines, Lawn Mowers & Brush Cutters

Last edited by rkg : 13th April 2007 at 13:07.