Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 11th May 2010, 14:01   #916
BANNED

Question about Gas Stoves. I have an LPG stove which I have been using for 4-5 years with no problem. It's a Pigeon 3 burner with auto-ignition. Now I want to use it with Mahanagar Piped Gas. 2 Mahanagar authorised gas mechanics I talked to gave me 2 different opinions
- one said LPG to CNG conversion usually isn't successfull for auto-ignition models & better to buy a new Mahanager CNG stove from him.
- 2nd guy said he can convert it fully for 900 Rs.

Anyone done a conversion in a auto-ignition model?
Old 11th May 2010, 16:23   #917
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by shyamhegde View Post
We use at home. No issues so far. If it is possible, keep the gas cyclinder outside the bathroom. Also safe to have good ventilation for the room.

I do not remember the brand we use (Suraksha or so I guess). No problems so far. Only changing the battery cells for ignition is required once in 3-4 months.
Please be careful while using gas geysers. It is better to keep the cylinder outside the bathroom and ventilation is a must.

A few months back, a friend of mine passed away due to inhalation of gas fumes from the gas geyser. There was no ventilation in his bathroom and this guy did not wait for a few minutes for the fumes to clear before he went for his bath (he usually did, but for that day).
Old 11th May 2010, 22:21   #918
BHPian

Yeah. One of the gases emitted by gas geysers is Carbon Monoxide. It binds to haemoglobin in your blood very strongly, preventing the flow of oxygen, effectively choking you.
Old 11th May 2010, 22:49   #919
Distinguished - BHPian

Microwave + Oven