Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 17th October 2007, 13:04   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,224
Thanked: 90 Times
Faulty Laptop HDD

I friend has given me a Laptop to look at as it does not run properly. I have run HDATA2 on it and it looks as if the HDD is faulty. There are lots of Unrecorrectable CRC or ECC errors on read.

Is there any software out there that could mark these as bad and allow the HDD to be used ?

Thanks in advance.
bigman is offline  
Old 17th October 2007, 13:51   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,771
Thanked: 24 Times

I suggest you change the HDD instead of trying to fix it. Atleast, right now you are able to recover the data on the drive. It will soon reach a point where the HDD will stop working all together.
spadival is offline  
Old 17th October 2007, 14:12   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,224
Thanked: 90 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
I suggest you change the HDD instead of trying to fix it. Atleast, right now you are able to recover the data on the drive. It will soon reach a point where the HDD will stop working all together.

Thanks. I just needed a stopgap arrangement to be able to use the laptop. I have ordered another one but it will take another week to arrive. There is no data on the HDD that I need. I just wanted to get it up and running so he can access internet etc.

Last edited by bigman : 17th October 2007 at 14:16.
bigman is offline  
Old 4th November 2007, 15:44   #34
BHPian
 
nura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 599
Thanked: 16 Times

I am not sure if I'm posting this too late. Have you tried HDD Regenerator? It's available as a free download.
nura is offline  
Old 5th November 2007, 12:48   #35
Nos007
 
Posts: n/a

Hii bhpians

For all kinds of computer related softwares go on to the site

MajorGeeks.com - Download Freeware and Shareware Computer Utilities.

the site has all the essentials softwares & freewares that will solve your computer related problems..
 
Old 8th November 2007, 18:04   #36
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 2 Times

Fellas, my computer screen just went blank yesterday. The LCD monitor turned off. I tried restarting in normal mode/safe mode/ last settings that worked mode. In all cases, windows startup screen showed up but after that the screen would again go blank.
I have never had an encounter of the HDD crashing kind before but Vid tells me this is what it is.

Need some help guys. Please suggest how I could try and recover the data.

Thanks
MC Mayank is offline  
Old 8th November 2007, 23:19   #37
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 23,753
Thanked: 32,289 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mayank View Post
Fellas, my computer screen just went blank yesterday. The LCD monitor turned off. I tried restarting in normal mode/safe mode/ last settings that worked mode. In all cases, windows startup screen showed up but after that the screen would again go blank.
I have never had an encounter of the HDD crashing kind before but Vid tells me this is what it is.

Need some help guys. Please suggest how I could try and recover the data.

Thanks
This could be due to a lot of things, not neccessarily your HDD crashing.

However, recovering data should be easy > just put your current HDD in an external enclosure / or set it up as a secondary drive (not a boot drive) and boot from something else. You should be able to access your data then.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline  
Old 9th November 2007, 08:25   #38
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 2 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
This could be due to a lot of things, not neccessarily your HDD crashing.
Some other symptoms, don't know if its connected in anyway. My UPS has been making strange noises last couple of days. When I start it up, for about 3 min there is a loud grinding sort of a noise, of the type that would be characteristic of a winding rotatating. Slowly the sound fades away
MC Mayank is offline  
Old 9th November 2007, 09:19   #39
BANNED
 
sfilinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mostlly bangalore
Posts: 102
Thanked: Once

To me this looks like a hardware issue & no software will help you until the harddisk is detected in the bios.
i have used the refrigirator trick to some level of sucess in the past. you could try that if the issue is with the spindles. if this is an issue with the board then the only way would be to replace it from a working hdd.
sfilinto is offline  
Old 9th November 2007, 11:02   #40
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 23,753
Thanked: 32,289 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mayank View Post
a loud grinding sort of a noise,
Is that coming from your UPS or your HDD ?

Have you tried plugging the computer directly into mains?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfilinto View Post
To me this looks like a hardware issue & no software will help you until the harddisk is detected in the bios..
If this is a reply to MC mayank, his computer is detecting the HDD in the bios (since its starting to boot windows), if its a reply to the earlier problems, then ignore my message.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline  
Old 9th November 2007, 11:50   #41
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 2 Times

The sound is from the UPS. I'll get back home and confirm. And ya was thinking of plugging the computer to the mains directly. Will try to do that as well and let you guys know
MC Mayank is offline  
Old 9th November 2007, 12:05   #42
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: India
Posts: 452
Thanked: 5 Times

Try this FREEWARE program for data recovery (including formatted drives)

Freeware file recovery software to undelete files or recover lost files
gopz is offline  
Old 11th November 2007, 19:31   #43
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 2 Times

I connected the PC to the mains directly, it works fine and thank God for that. So looks like the UPS is gone. Why would the UPS cause such an effect on the windows starting up? The CPU still remains powered up so what could be causing this sort of behaviour.

PS:While fiddling around with the cables at the back, I dropped the CPU. Since then, the mouse has stopped working. What do I do?
MC Mayank is offline  
Old 11th November 2007, 23:42   #44
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 247 Times

Try resetting the CMOS, see if the Mouse works, is it a PS2 or USB mouse ?
Tried connecting another Mouse ?
Amey is offline  
Old 12th November 2007, 10:57   #45
BHPian
 
MC Mayank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 2 Times

I connected a USB mouse and it works fine. The PS2 is not working. How do you reset the CMOS?
MC Mayank is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2023, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks