Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 20th February 2009, 19:43   #76
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
Refrigerator plan.. worked.

Thanks Alec.

I kept the HDD in the refrigerator for couple of hours, and then connected the same back to the laptop. Voila! it got detected.. now i have taken the backup of the data. Also the whirring noise is absent now.

Did speak to some of the technicians, and they seem to suggest OS might have got corrupted and i might have to reload the OS again. So thinking of formatting the HDD and loading the OS (XP).

Please suggest.
JMaruru is online now  
Old 21st February 2009, 11:17   #77
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,393
Thanked: 722 Times

Yeah! try to reinstall the os!
SirAlec is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 11:21   #78
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,095
Thanked: 297 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Did speak to some of the technicians, and they seem to suggest OS might have got corrupted and i might have to reload the OS again. So thinking of formatting the HDD and loading the OS (XP).
If you are able to reboot with success, then the bad sector, if any, has already been flagged and taken care of.
What does the SMART log reveal?
You could run check disc and then a full surface scan.

Re-install of the OS will depend on these initial findings.
anupmathur is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 16:38   #79
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
SMART Log

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
If you are able to reboot with success, then the bad sector, if any, has already been flagged and taken care of.
What does the SMART log reveal?
You could run check disc and then a full surface scan.
Re-install of the OS will depend on these initial findings.
I have run the "chkdsk" and the log did show lots of bad segments and some indexes were deleted. So, will this help ?

I have put up the SMART log.

Please advise.
Attached Thumbnails
Crashed Hard Disk - Data Recovery?-smart-attributes.jpg  

JMaruru is online now  
Old 21st February 2009, 17:17   #80
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,095
Thanked: 297 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
I have run the "chkdsk" and the log did show lots of bad segments and some indexes were deleted. So, will this help ?
I'd say please buy a new HDD. An HDD with bad sectors is just going to get worse. It's useful life is over.
HDD prices are very low these days.
If you plan on a larger capacity HDD, do check whether your Laptop supports sizes larger than 120 GB. You could run into the 48 bit logical block address problem with anything larger than 120 GB!
anupmathur is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 17:28   #81
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,393
Thanked: 722 Times

only sata are cheap. old ide drive are hardto find and expensive.
SirAlec is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 17:36   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,095
Thanked: 297 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
only sata are cheap. old ide drive are hardto find and expensive.
In Delhi, Seagate 2.5" IDE 80 GB is available for approx Rs. 2000/-.
Inexpensive enough, I should imagine!
anupmathur is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 19:04   #83
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
Logical Block Address ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
If you plan on a larger capacity HDD, do check whether your Laptop supports sizes larger than 120 GB. You could run into the 48 bit logical block address problem with anything larger than 120 GB!
In sp road, got a quote of Rs 3400/- for seagate 2.5" IDE 160GB. But now with this LBA problem, am confused.

Laptop is dell inspiron 6000/pentium M 2.0 GHz and am running XP Pro. SP3. Is there a way around for this issue ?
JMaruru is online now  
Old 21st February 2009, 20:20   #84
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,095
Thanked: 297 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
In sp road, got a quote of Rs 3400/- for seagate 2.5" IDE 160GB. But now with this LBA problem, am confused.
To be safe, go for 120 GB.
anupmathur is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 21:02   #85
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,393
Thanked: 722 Times

SInce its Pentium M (centrino). possibly you will have 855 chipset. which will take 160gb easily.

@ anup.
thats a good price, but i doubt it. Also In delhi you have to be careful.
SirAlec is offline  
Old 21st February 2009, 23:57   #86
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
160GB HDD on 915GM chipset ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
SInce its Pentium M (centrino). possibly you will have 855 chipset. which will take 160gb easily.

@ anup.
thats a good price, but i doubt it. Also In delhi you have to be careful.
I checked under device manager > system devices. I am on 915GM chipset. Hope this should support 160GB.

The HDD price is from sp road, b'lore. He said it is a box piece, with warranty. Please let me know, if you know of a place to get genuine spares.
JMaruru is online now  
Old 25th February 2009, 13:02   #87
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
It might not be HDD.. after all

It seems the laptop getting heated, may not be coz of the HDD issue. Dell support made me to update the bios version. But even then, the "heat issue" surfaced. Now, it seems it might be coz of the dust getting clogged in the heat sink. Could someone guide me on opening up the dell inspiron 6000 laptop ?

Please advise.
JMaruru is online now  
Old 25th February 2009, 13:26   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,095
Thanked: 297 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Now, it seems it might be coz of the dust getting clogged in the heat sink. Could someone guide me on opening up the dell inspiron 6000 laptop ?
Most probably it is due to the cooling passages being clogged.
It would be advisable to take your laptop to a professional and let him do the cleaning/vacuuming while you watch. It it no more than a 20 minute affair.
Cost should be Rs. 300/- or less.
anupmathur is offline  
Old 1st March 2009, 21:34   #89
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BLR/EWR
Posts: 739
Thanked: 331 Times
2.5" IDE 160GB HDD in B'lore ?

The dust has been cleared off the heat sink, and the heat issue has subsided. But i have been advised to replace the HDD. I had been to SP road, but couldn't find anyone having stocks of 2.5" IDE HDD of more than 100GB.

Please advise.
JMaruru is online now  
Old 2nd March 2009, 00:38   #90
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,655
Thanked: 434 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
The dust has been cleared off the heat sink, and the heat issue has subsided. But i have been advised to replace the HDD. I had been to SP road, but couldn't find anyone having stocks of 2.5" IDE HDD of more than 100GB.

Please advise.
Notebook Hard Drives - TechShop.in - Buy Tech Online Now!!!
pranavt is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2023, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks