Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 20th August 2009, 18:52   #3361

*Puts order on hold*. Huh? What newer version?
My post was with reference to availability of the LX3. IIRC, it wasn't available anywhere. As TSK put it, a newer version comes out every year. I'd removed the order part of the from the Quote, because it had nothing to do with your cam's order.

G11 with a 9MP sensor, ending the maddening megapixel race for the first time.
Its with a 10MP high sensitivity 1/1.7" 10 MP CCD, finally they are concentrating on image quality more than build/feature quality on the G series. They even launched S90 which is almost the G11 without the hotshoe and zoom. Wish I can lay my hands on a G11 before the auto expo.
Old 20th August 2009, 23:18   #3362

Order placed. Can't wait!
*Puts order on hold*. Huh? What newer version?
No go get the camera. Dont procastinate. there will always be a newer camera on the horizon.

ICONIC cams are seldom bettered. Remeber Canon G6.
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
They even launched S90 which is almost the G11 without the hotshoe and zoom.
My son has my old G2 (I got it in Oct 2001) and it still makes nice pics. I got a 420EX flash with it and it feels so funny using a flash that is almost as big as the camera. I think a P&S with a hot show is really defeating the purpose (unless you use a very compact flash like the Canon 220 or something).

My reason for getting the flash was to use bounce on my son (who was born a few months later). Our doc advised us that new born babies cannot handle flash directed straight at them.
Old 21st August 2009, 00:32   #3363

Originally Posted by navin View Post
I think a P&S with a hot show is really defeating the purpose.
Depends on ones priorities I guess. I end up carrying the cam around everywhere, in fact i might forget the phone but the camera. At home and indoors I've found bouncing to be miles ahead of the in-the-face camera flash with no dark shadows behind.
Old 21st August 2009, 13:32   #3364

So get the LX3, it has everything you need.
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
GTO, just get the LX3. You don't need the next best thing.
Originally Posted by navin View Post
No go get the camera. Dont procastinate. there will always be a newer camera on the horizon.
Absolutely guys! One can wait for eternity, in anticipation of the *next big thing* in the electronics world.

The LX3 suits my needs to the T. And, it is what you click, rather than the camera, that makes things interesting, wot?
Old 24th August 2009, 14:32   #3365

Went by last evening to pick the cam up. Only available in silver, black will take another 5 - 7 days.

Will wait.
Old 25th August 2009, 10:58   #3366

When I'm clicking pics with Canon Powershot A460, after a shot the camera takes too much of time to get ready for the next shot even if the battery is fully charged.

Is this common with Point & Shoot Cameras ?
Old 25th August 2009, 11:22   #3367

Yes some cameras do take longer times than others.

Btw check if your Flash strength is set to higher than normal.
Old 25th August 2009, 11:46   #3368

Originally Posted by mithun View Post
When I'm clicking pics with Canon Powershot A460, after a shot the camera takes too much of time to get ready for the next shot even if the battery is fully charged.

Is this common with Point & Shoot Cameras ?

I have the same issue when I am taking pics on my Canon Powershot A590!!!
The screen completely goes blank whereas while I am shooting with Canon S5 the flash amber light keeps on blinking for some time but the display does not go away!!!

This is only there when the flash is set to ON on the A590!!!
Old 25th August 2009, 12:14   #3369

Went by last evening to pick the cam up. Only available in silver, black will take another 5 - 7 days.

Will wait.
Good decision. IMO, Panasonic cameras in Silver just don't have that new camera look & feel. When I was planning to buy the FZ28, my 1st choice was Silver; but when I saw it in the flesh, I changed my choice to Black on the spot! I know there's no logic or rationale to my statement, just my opinion / perception.

Btw, in case no one has mentioned it yet - Panny's are AWESOME! You will NOT regret your choice.

Vikram

Last edited by comfortablynumb : 25th August 2009 at 12:15. Reason: Corrected typo
Old 25th August 2009, 12:29   #3370

Originally Posted by sathya_j2084 View Post
1. Point and Shoot Still photography(im a novice in photography)
2. Videos(Shoot and transfer to PC)

Which of the follwing would be a better choice?

Canon A2100 12MP,6x zoom, 16K
Canon A2000 10MP,6x zoom, 13k
Canon A1100 12MP,4x zoom, 10k
I have an A2000 bought immediately after launch last year, and its pretty good for P&S novice photography.
The image quality is flawless at that price point, but I have read about people cribbing because it lacks the manual controls of its predecessor (the A720 IS). If you are getting it for around 10-12k , go for it, as you wont be disappointed. I wasnt (so far...).
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:53   #3371
aZa

Guys i need reviews on this Camera Fujifilm Finepix F200EXR!

Electron world is giving it for 13K is this price ok?

Another thing can you guys please suggest me some digicams with 1/1.8 Sensor sizes or even bigger ...

Last edited by aZa : 3rd September 2009 at 12:57.
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:00   #3372

Originally Posted by aZa View Post
Guys i need reviews on this Camera Fujifilm Finepix F200EXR!

Electron world is giving it for 13K is this price ok?
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadge...ml#post1359206 (The Digital Camera Thread: Questions, discussions, etc.)
Old 3rd September 2009, 23:59   #3373

Sx10 vs H20 vs FZ35

I am planning to buy a Digital cam for normal photography.
I need manual control for adjusting the shutter speed...

I have shortlisted 3 Cameras:
1) Canon Sx10IS
2) Sony H20
3) Panasonic FZ35/38

Kindly guide me which one to buy....also can any one find the Grey market prices for above models in Mumbai/Bangalore/HyD.

In USA Prices are as follows
1) Canon Sx10IS --> 369.94 =17,760/-
2) Sony H20 ---> 253.34 = 12,160/-
3) Panasonic FZ35/38--> 399.99 = 19,200/-

Thanks in Advance!

Last edited by aah78 : 4th September 2009 at 02:02. Reason: Thread merged with existing.
Old 5th September 2009, 05:36   #3374

Review Sony DSC-HX1

Hey Friends,

I currently shoot with a Canon Powershot A640 (7.1mp 4x). Its served me well for the last 3.5years. I am looking for an upgrade now.

I have shortlisted the Sony DSC-HX1. So, I'd love to you reviews from all for this model especially from its users for first hand feedback and experts who can read between the lines/number on its spec-sheets.

Also I am open to suggestions for anything better based on the following things i'm looking for.
(Budget: 30k Max with all accessories. Buying from US is also an open option, so suggest accordidngly)
1. Great Image Quality (even in low light or night modes)
2. Super Zoom
3. Great Video Quality with higher resolutions and optical zoom available in video (My current canon shoots videos only at 640x480 at 30fps and no optical zoom is available while shooting)
4. Comparatively easier to use, since i'd like to catch my daughter red-handed while doing all the fun stuff then be juggling through the settings . On my current Canon, there are quite a few things to play with too, but DSLR are too complicated to be Fun.

Like always, All suggestions are welcome..
Old 5th September 2009, 08:41   #3375

buy a real SLR. Everything else is a toy - because size (of sensor) really does matter!