Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th June 2011, 09:54   #3316
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat
Rtandon : that information is incorrect, I know various people who are successfully using T-mobile connection on iPhone 4, Infact I might be switching to T-mobile for my wifey's iPhone 4.
Techno, I only meant that for 3G data connection and not voice call. Sorry if wasn't clear. I thought that's what previous poster meant. My bad.

From http://support.t-mobile.com/doc/tm23...ndex=8&lid=y#7

What frequency does your 3G network support?
Our 3G network supports both the 1700MHz and 2100MHz frequencies.

From http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html
GSM model: UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

I'm not a telecom expert so don't know how that all meshes up together.

Does your wife's phone get 3G from TMo?
Old 17th June 2011, 10:04   #3317
BHPian

Re: The iPhone Thread: Update iOS 5 announced!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtandon View Post
Now this is just an hypothesis.

If you bought an iPhone outside India and imported it then for it to be a legal import you would have to pay duty on it.
If you did not pay duty on it then it is illegal and probably AAPL discourages that.

I wonder if any one paid duty and has protection plan and then tried for service.

For folks who have been Mac users, before India allowed 1 laptop to be brought in without customs levy, were you able to utilize the international warranty?
How does paying duty or not affect the protection plan? Not sure if that is what you meant.