Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 24th August 2015, 14:24   #7891

Re: The iPhone Thread

Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
Need your advise in getting a charging cable for iphone 6.
I had purchased a Belkin (probably a fake) from FK for Rs. 299 in Oct last year. It works very well but after a full charge, when the disconnect needs to happen, I get a warning this accessory is not authorised. However charges and syncs just fine.
I also got some cheap 3 Meter cables from Aliexpress and it is lengthy and nice, but within 2 months it got spoilt at the connector end - needs to be bent in a specific way for it to charge the phone...
Old 24th August 2015, 18:16   #7892

Originally Posted by dean5545 View Post
Try Rock cables from Amazon.
Such cables might not fit if you use bumper or thicker cases. Only the connectors with standard shape connectors work i that case. So do check. I had to do some jugaad on a similar cable i bought.
Old 24th August 2015, 19:55   #7893

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Such cables might not fit if you use bumper or thicker cases. Only the connectors with standard shape connectors work i that case. So do check. I had to do some jugaad on a similar cable i bought.

Yup,you need to be careful if you have a bumper. I remember a friend who had faced a similar issue, it were earphones in his case though.
Old 25th August 2015, 19:11   #7894

Just get Amazon Basics cable. They fit most bumpers. Also, you get an option of getting 3 feet or 6 feet cable. However, I don't know if Amazon Basics accessories are available on Amazon India Portal or not.
Old 6th September 2015, 15:41   #7895

What all data can I transfer (e.g call logs? SMS?) from android to iPhone? Planning to borrow my wife's iPhone for a few days (!!) tonight. If there's a pre-existing good migration link, please guide me to it.
Old 10th September 2015, 00:12   #7896

Folks,

I have setup Ios9 beta version on my iphone and using it ever since it has been open for public. Recently there was a new version of the software which was sent to the phone as a push message. But I by mistake selected cancel instead of pressing ok. Now I am not sure how to get the update.

Do any of you guys know how to get this version of IOS?
Old 10th September 2015, 00:21   #7897

Originally Posted by TorqueyTechie View Post
Folks,

I have setup Ios9 beta version on my iphone and using it ever since it has been open for public. Recently there was a new version of the software which was sent to the phone as a push message. But I by mistake selected cancel instead of pressing ok. Now I am not sure how to get the update.

Do any of you guys know how to get this version of IOS?

The update notification was a goof up by apple, no such update actually came out. Like you, most other people running the beta received a notification, but once they went into the software update option in settings, there was no update.
The next update you will receive is the official ios 9 directly
Old 10th September 2015, 12:28   #7898

Originally Posted by kkkkkaran View Post
The next update you will receive is the official ios 9 directly
Aah Ok! Let me wait for the official IOS9 update then. Thanks for clarifying.
Old 10th September 2015, 19:52   #7899

Whatever happened to the new iPhone launch that was slated for 9/9/15?? Anyone?
Old 10th September 2015, 19:58   #7900

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Whatever happened to the new iPhone launch that was slated for 9/9/15?? Anyone?
Din't you see it last night? It was live last night and could be seen from all the apple devices.
Old 10th September 2015, 20:00   #7901

No, I only rely on this thread for new information. If you have the details maybe you could share them here. Thanks

Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Din't you see it last night? It was live last night and could be seen from all the apple devices.
Old 10th September 2015, 20:12   #7902

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
No, I only rely on this thread for new information. If you have the details maybe you could share them here. Thanks
Just an overview, They launched,

New iPhone 6s and 6s Plus, major additions are the 3D force touch, A9 processor, camera now is 12MP and a new rose gold color, etc. Pricing will be the same as last years iPhone 6 and 6 plus.

Ios 9 Will be available from 16th September onwards.

Major iOS software upgrade for the apple watch.

New iPad pro with a resolution better than even a mac pro with retina, Also comes with a pen.

New apple TV.

I guess that was most of it.
Old 10th September 2015, 22:51   #7903

Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
a resolution better than even a mac pro with retina,
Ipad pro is 12.9inch height of previous ipad is the width of the current ipad (4:3) ratio
Also comes with a pen..
Its not a pen its a pencil
The apple pencil is a battery powered device with some great capabilities along with the 3D touch
A cap at the non writing end has to be removed to see the lightning connector. This can be connected to the ipad for charging.
I guess that was most of it.
Iphone can now take 4k videos
It takes live photos which are photos with motion and/or sound
There's a new program in US where you get a new iPhone each year
The screen flashes a bright true tone shade when you take selfies acting as a light source for better selfies
Old 11th September 2015, 20:47   #7904

Originally Posted by TorqueyTechie View Post
Aah Ok! Let me wait for the official IOS9 update then. Thanks for clarifying.
So there was an ios beta update after all. I got an alert late last night that IOS9.1 beta version is released. I did download and install but yet to find out changes. Guess most of them are very subtle!
Old 13th September 2015, 10:51   #7905

Guy's my iphone 6 plus stopped working all of a sudden. Anyone know where is the service center in Tamil Nadu or Trivandrum.