Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 2nd September 2017, 11:20   #10351

Re: The iPhone Thread

Guys, was trying to restore a Iphone5S which hasnt been used for two years now! Doing it through iTunes, it stops 3/4th of the way and displays 'unknown error (50). What do I do now? Is there anyone in Blor who can be of help as Apple Store in Dubai will charge a bomb. Dont want to spend much!
Old 2nd September 2017, 11:37   #10352

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Guys, was trying to restore a Iphone5S which hasnt been used for two years now! Doing it through iTunes, it stops 3/4th of the way and displays 'unknown error (50). What do I do now? Is there anyone in Blor who can be of help as Apple Store in Dubai will charge a bomb. Dont want to spend much!

Error(50) is generally a hardware issue, where the solder ball connects of the baseband IC are damaged, and hence the baseband(radio/network) part of the firmware cannot be flashed.
Go through this thread for some desi style solutions you can try (provided you have the heart to try).
https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/...store+error+50
Old 2nd September 2017, 11:56   #10353

Thanks for your quick reply. Will do the needful. The phone had a fall before I stopped using it, so yes there must be some hardware issue.
Old 3rd September 2017, 11:37   #10354

Apple Event has been announced to be held at Steve Jobs theater in Cupertino on Sep 12th !! Special edition iPhone expected.
Old 3rd September 2017, 12:51   #10355

I don't agree with the obscene price that is being rumoured for the special edition phone! Essentially what Apple is doing is keeping the price of the flagship high like the previous generation and the device where they are essentially catching up with the competition and its standards, then that phone will be priced even higher!

That is pure greed if the rumoured prices are correct and find that totally unethical.

As someone who is highly appreciative of the company and its products, I say this with sadness, but it is the truth !

Last edited by benbsb29 : 12th September 2017 at 05:07. Reason: Fixed tag.
Old 3rd September 2017, 14:14   #10356

Originally Posted by akhil994 View Post
That is pure greed if the rumoured prices are correct and find that totally unethical.
Meaning of unethical is unscrupulous, dishonourable etc. Pricing of the phone has nothing to do with it my friend.

Apple like any business is free to price their products however they please, it's up to the people to accept or reject. Judging by their phenomenal sales it's easy to understand what people think.

Old 6th September 2017, 00:03   #10357

One android feature I am missing in my iPhone is the ability to search for keywords from the sms messages. Is there any way to do this ?
Old 6th September 2017, 00:37   #10358

Originally Posted by condor View Post
One android feature I am missing in my iPhone is the ability to search for keywords from the sms messages. Is there any way to do this ?
Is this what you are looking for?

The iPhone Thread-img_2985.png

Last edited by sanjaykk : 6th September 2017 at 00:38.
Old 6th September 2017, 01:09   #10359

Besides what Sanjay posted, what you can also do is - Home Screen--->, swipe down from top on the home screen --->you have a Search text box there. Type the key word and it throws up from different areas of your phone ( SMS included )
Old 9th September 2017, 11:37   #10360

Originally Posted by sanjaykk View Post
Is this what you are looking for?
Thanks - found it yesterday.

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
Besides what Sanjay posted, what you can also do is - Home Screen--->, swipe down from top on the home screen ---
Was looking for the sms search
Old 10th September 2017, 20:06   #10361

Made the move to iPhone nearly a year ago after a series of Nexus'. Quite happy with the decision so far, may upgrade to one of the new launches this year.

However,I miss a couple of features from android, so was wondering if there's any way around these:
  • Number display for incoming calls of contacts. It only shows the name and home/mobile so on. I'd like to see the actual number
  • Vibrates in ear during calls if I get any whatsapp messages/mails. How do I disable this during calls.
  • Call-log is too short, saves details upto a week or so. Is there a way to increase this to say a month
  • Finally, Wi-fi once connected doesn't indicate if I have no/bad connectivity. In android a exclamation mark appears incase there's a issue
Old 10th September 2017, 20:16   #10362

Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post
Made the move to iPhone nearly a year ago after a series of Nexus'. Quite happy with the decision so far, may upgrade to one of the new launches this year.

However,I miss a couple of features from android, so was wondering if there's any way around these:

• Number display for incoming calls of contacts. It only shows the name and home/mobile so on. I'd like to see the actual number
  • Vibrates in ear during calls if I get any whatsapp messages/mails. How do I disable this during calls.
  • Call-log is too short, saves details upto a week or so. Is there a way to increase this to say a month
  • Finally, Wi-fi once connected doesn't indicate if I have no/bad connectivity. In android a exclamation mark appears incase there's a issue

Im not sure of the rest, but for the call logs. The older entries are not deleted, but just not visible. Only last 100 entries are visible. Delete the upper ones of you really have to see the entries at the bottom.
Not a very good solution, but a workaround.
Old 13th September 2017, 00:45   #10363

The iPhone Thread-imageuploadedbyteambhp1505243452.656205.jpg

New iPhones launched along with new Apple Watch and Apple TV. Prices have gone up by $50 for the base variant as well as for higher storage. Another iPhone Model X launched, which is 5.8" with a higher price of $999/- for the base 64 gb variant.

India launch dates will be announced later.
Old 13th September 2017, 08:41   #10364

I watched the apple keynote live yesterday night. 2230 to 0030 hrs.

In iWatch 3, there are cellular and non Cellular versions.

iphone 8 is $699 for 64GB and $849 for the 256GB variant
iphone 8 plus is $799 for 64GB and $949 for the 256GB variant
iphoneX is $999 for 64GB and $1149 for the 256GB variant

iphone 8 and iphone 8 plus can be ordered starting September 15 and deliveries will start from September 22.
iphone X orders start October 27 and deliveries by November 3rd.

Later checked India relevant Info:
India gets only the non-cellular version of the 3 series watch.
iphone 8 is ₹64,000 for 64GB and ₹77,000 for the 256GB variant
iphone 8 plus is ₹73,000 for 64GB and ₹86,000 for the 256GB variant
iphoneX is ₹89,000 for 64GB and ₹1,02,000 for the 256GB variant

Get ready with your organs people!
Old 13th September 2017, 08:55   #10365

Rather than the products, i love the way it was presented. Be it the Ads or the live demo. On the other note, Samsung Note 8 launch was dud since its just a S8+ with a stylus. They had a humongous screen which could have been utilized much better to market their flagship.

Back to Apple, i love the way iPX is built and the fluid iOS 11. Eye popping was the Face ID.

Can some one confirm if the fingerprint scan is removed from it? If yes, how does the Apps make use of authentication, face ID?

Note: This post is not about bashing since i own an S7 Edge and 6+