Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 24th December 2009, 15:52   #391

Originally Posted by IndianNomad View Post
SatGuide X350 for just Rs 9999/- inclusive of tax and shipping charges.

Thinking of buying one, came accross the above.

Please suggest.
Any suggestions please

Kindly suggest a good gps device which is economically priced.
Old 24th December 2009, 16:07   #392

Did anyone try Satguide maps on Symbian Software? Its available free at satguide website
Old 24th December 2009, 16:56   #393

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Did anyone try Satguide maps on Symbian Software? Its available free at satguide website
Dont know why, It doesn't work on my Nokia 5800
Old 24th December 2009, 17:41   #394

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Yes tried it on N82. Software (Destinator) has a poor UI.

Better to get Garmin XT and use Satguide's map with that.
Old 24th December 2009, 20:22   #395

Originally Posted by IndianNomad View Post
Any suggestions please

Kindly suggest a good gps device which is economically priced.

Not sure about the hardware mentioned. But I am sure you can get a Garmin + Satguide maps within 10K, if you can arrange a Garmin from US. Infact the 205W prices are down to 90$ if you look at Amazon. As its the X-Mas sales and newer products might get introduced.

I would say you should look at Garmin and buy satguide maps. Thats the best combination you can get for the same price.
Old 25th December 2009, 13:11   #396

Does The Text To Speech Feature (Garmin/Satnav)

If i get a gps nuvi255w (with text to speech features) will the garmin read out the street names as it is supposed to (e.g. left on pl lokhande marg)

or will it just say go left. (which would happen in a nuvi 205w)

The tts of nuvi 255w works in the US, hence trying to figure out if tts would work in India
Old 25th December 2009, 17:01   #397

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
The tts of nuvi 255w works in the US, hence trying to figure out if tts would work in India
I have a Nuvi 760. It is a north America model. Still, no issues reading out desi names of streets in our country. Sounds entertaining though in an American accent

-BJ
Old 25th December 2009, 18:06   #398

Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
I have a Nuvi 760. It is a north America model. Still, no issues reading out desi names of streets in our country. Sounds entertaining though in an American accent

-BJ
Not sure on this. I thought TTS may be some thing which I could do without. Hence bought the basic Garmin.
Old 25th December 2009, 20:00   #399

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
...I thought TTS may be some thing which I could do without. Hence bought the basic Garmin.
OT: Well for that matter, we do not really need even a GPS in India. Just lower your window and ask the passer by/pedestrian at the next nook. Unlike US and western countries we have plenty of them on our roads...
Old 26th December 2009, 00:49   #400

Originally Posted by bj96 View Post

-BJ
@BJ96: Are you using Satguide maps in India?
Old 26th December 2009, 21:41   #401

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
@BJ96: Are you using Satguide maps in India?
no. I am using navteq garmin map.
-BJ
Old 26th December 2009, 23:34   #402

Originally Posted by MadBiker View Post
Dont know why, It doesn't work on my Nokia 5800

well, as per satguide, this sw doesn't work on touch screen based mobiles.
Old 27th December 2009, 14:07   #403

Originally Posted by J.Ravi View Post
The same night, I charged it fully for 8 hours as specfied in the user manual. When I switched it on Friday morning, standing on the open terrace of my home, the satellite connectivity was established within a few minutes. After establishment of connectivity, a 'lock' icon was also shown for the first & last time.
Ravi, GPS bug also hit me. I also bought LX130, But even after 20 min on open terrace, I am not able to see the connectivity. Do we need to have all the bars in green for the connection to be established. And I don't see the "lock" icon also on mine. Can you kindly help me please ?
Old 27th December 2009, 14:48   #404
J.Ravi

@lambuhere1,

Before switching on your navigator, please ensure than it is fully charged, i.e., 8 hours for the first charge and about 4 hours for the subsequent charges till there is green glow on the right side frame of the navigator. Please note that if the charge is less or partial, sometimes it does not connect at all.

Please stand in a open place without any surrounding high-rise building to ensure quick connectivity.

You require a minimum of 3 satellites in use with green bars to fix co-ordinates. The fix mode changes to 3D immediately after connectivity. The LCD screen also displays GPS in white letters with green icon on the left indicating the strength of the connectivity signal.

The 'lock' icon was displayed only once during the first usge. Subsequently, as soon as the navigator is switched on in an open place like balcony, immediately, it connects, say, within a minute. Once the navigator is connected, you can go indoors or car, and the connectivity stays on. I found the navigator is fully connected on Bangalore city roads, National Highways, State Highways and even on some village roads, I travelled.

Hope, you will get the connectivity if you follow all the steps mentioned above. If the problem persists, please contact MMI customer support at their toll-free number 1800 11 9898. They are very helpful.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 27th December 2009 at 14:52.

Old 28th December 2009, 14:25   #405

Satguide Map Updates?

Satguide owners,

Is there a way to find, what all has been updated on new map release? I called up Satguide and put up a question. I did not get any answers.