Team-BHP - The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc)

-   Gadgets, Computers & Software (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/)
-   -   The GPS/Maps Discussion Thread (Dedicated Satnav, Smartphones, Tablets, etc) (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadgets-computers-software/39666-gps-maps-discussion-thread-dedicated-satnav-smartphones-tablets-etc-90.html)

prince my friend.

I bought a Garmin Nuvi 205W recently. it works very well indeed with MMI maps.

I checked carefuly before buying the device about the use-ability in India. The Map My India site clearly says that they are offering maps compatible amongst other models, also for Nuvi 1300,1350,1370T,1390T and so on.

please see this link;
Maps For Garmin Devices By MapmyIndia | GPS Navigator

Hence I would think that your 1300 should work in India.

Originally Posted by prince_pervez (Post 2069398)
^^ Saar I have a Garmin Nuvi 1300 series. The website says some 200 and 768 series will only work in India. Is there a way to make the 1300 work as well ? Please let me know.

Originally Posted by shankar.balan (Post 2072577)
The Map My India site clearly says that they are offering maps compatible amongst other models, also for Nuvi 1300,1350,1370T,1390T and so on.
please see this link;
Maps For Garmin Devices By MapmyIndia | GPS Navigator

I got a Nuvi 1100. It is not listed in MMI or Satguide compatibility list. However it is a stripped down nuvi 1200, so I am *hoping* it may just work. Once I get a Satguide map (next week), I'll post the result.

Someone could give an idea about a good quality bluetooth GPS device for a symbian mobile that has MMI maps installed ? Built-in a-GPS doesnt work and there is no way to use the maps. How is Holux M-1000c, has anyone used it ?

A few hours back, I had my MapMyIndia [MMI] Lx130 navigator upgraded to the new map version 5.0, which was a Herculean task.

I paid Rs 990 for single upgrade plan on 7 Sep 2010. The invoice dated 7 Sep 2010 was promptly received on the next day. I was assured that I would get the link for downloading the new version 5.0 map by email and MMI customer support would contact me within 24 hours. Nothing happened. Then, I reminded MMI through email. Again nothing happened. When I tried their national toll-free number, it didn't work. When I called their customer support, I was informed that the concerned person, one Mr Syed, was not available in his place. I remembered my visit to government taluk office! When I requested them to take my mobile number and get that person call me later, I was curtly informed that I should call him the next day! I sent one more round of emails to the customer support.

At last, I received the download link from the concerned person on 10 Sep 2010 with instructions: After downloading and copying to my navigator, I should send the MMI ID, storage ID, etc. to them to enable them send the licence. I didn't understand the logic behind this. All these ID details are with them as I had already registered in their website, but they asked me to send the details, which I did on 13 Sep 2010 as I was out of station without my MMI Lx130 navigator, which didn't work without the licence file.

Again silence. Nothing happened. I called the customer care, only to be told that the concerned person was not there! Again, I sent two more rounds of emails with nil reaction from MMI. Thank god, today, I was lucky enough to talk to Mr Syed on my second attempt. When I poured the details, he assured me that I would get the licence file before 4 pm today. He called me at 3 pm and informed me that he had already sent it.

The rest, as they say, is history! I downloaded the licence file and pasted it in my navigator. Now, I have a choice of many Indian languages and I chose female voice to guide me in Tamil. On a quick glance, I find that all the recent landmarks are added to the PoI. But, I lost my favourites saved in the previous version. :Frustrati

So, I made the payment on 7 Sep 2010 and upgraded to new map version 5.0 on 17 Sep 2010. MMI should pat its back for the prompt action taken!

yours is better man, i have made payment for 2 year plan on 4th september, still i havent received any maps. Some pathetic customer care, they keep asking to call this and that mobile. Finally landed with with person who dont know english also. Still i am waiting for the maps.

Originally Posted by J.Ravi (Post 2073584)
After downloading and copying to my navigator, I should send the MMI ID, storage ID, etc. to them to enable them send the licence. I didn't understand the logic behind this. All these ID details are with them as I had already registered in their website, but they asked me to send the details, which I did on 13 Sep 2010 as I was out of station without my MMI Lx130 navigator, which didn't work without the licence file.

At present MMI is popular here and MMI knows that their maps are getting ending up in wrong hands. This is there way of countering piracy.

What causing this? may the steep price. Make it affordable and reasonable MMI, more people will buy it from you or have to fight a loosing battle.

For the benefit of folks wanting to install MMI/Satguide maps on Mapsource (PC) and Roadtrip (Mac), see the following link.

Garmin RoadTrip (Mapsource) & MACOSX 7evin

Originally Posted by shankar.balan (Post 2072577)
I bought a Garmin Nuvi 205W recently. it works very well indeed with MMI maps.

where you bought Garmin 205W.I too planned to buy it from US.
How much did you spend for the device and MMI Maps?

Originally Posted by aks_karthik (Post 2077627)

If I may answer this, I also recently bought a Garmin 205W for 87USD from Amazon.com. Along with it I got SatNav maps for Rs990/-.

I feel 205W is enough for my needs and is pretty accurate. The maps are also good. I am happy.

Hi guys..

Don't we get a rear view mirror mounted GPS system in India? like in the below video. These also include bluetooth, reverse camera support etc.

If we buy something like this from abroad, is it compactible with MMI maps?

YouTube - GPS Rear View Mirror with Backup Camera and Bluetooth

Originally Posted by deky (Post 2077638)
If I may answer this, I also recently bought a Garmin 205W for 87USD from Amazon.com. Along with it I got SatNav maps for Rs990/-.

I feel 205W is enough for my needs and is pretty accurate. The maps are also good. I am happy.

+1 to that. 205W + Satguide to most optimized combination one can buy.
Basic GPS with all the related feature (No BT/TTS etc).

I have the same combo and am enjoying for the last 1 year.

i bought it at argos in the UK around 2 months ago
cost 99 gbp including leather carry case and UK, ROI and a couple of Euro maps. that day the exchange rate was 70 so I got it effectively for about 7000 Rs.
came back to India and chose to buy the Garmin Compatible MMI India Maps SD Card for another 7000 Rs. With the level of detail available from MMI, I think that the price is well worth it.

The Garmin Nuvi 205W is a good device. it worked very well indeed on my road trips/ travels outside India and has been working very well indeed here in India as well, once the MMI maps were loaded.

like deky iam also happy with it.

Originally Posted by aks_karthik (Post 2077627)

Originally Posted by deky (Post 2077638)

very cheap deky.Only 3000+ rs.
I too try in Amazon.com and deliver it to a US address and get shipped to india by somebody.

Why dont you guys buy the Chinese GPS units? They cost around 80$ for the 5" version and even less for 3.5", 4.3", 4.8" and so on. These devices have AV in to attach your rear view camera as well not to forget the BT. I think they are value for money.

Originally Posted by wanderernomad (Post 2077774)
Why dont you guys buy the Chinese GPS units? They cost around 80$ for the 5" version and even less for 3.5", 4.3", 4.8" and so on. These devices have AV in to attach your rear view camera as well not to forget the BT. I think they are value for money.

But are the MMI maps compactible with these??