Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 4th January 2009, 21:20   #1

What is this on my laptop

It was on the Laptop motherboard. I think it is a choke, is in the power supply section of the Laptop.

What is this on my laptop-chip.jpg
Old 4th January 2009, 21:36   #2

That's a 2.2uH inductor.
Old 4th January 2009, 21:39   #3

If I connect directly will it effect something ??

I think it is used for filtering power
Old 4th January 2009, 21:43   #4

Connect directly as in? I don't understand your question, sorry.
Old 4th January 2009, 22:26   #5

Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Connect directly as in? I don't understand your question, sorry.
It means that I do not use it and short the path instead of the inductor.
Old 4th January 2009, 22:29   #6

LBM ji, messing around with Laptop power supplies these days kya ?? How many subs are you putting in ?
Old 4th January 2009, 22:49   #7

if its still running, guess there must be a lot more ripple in the voltage now that its gone
Old 4th January 2009, 22:55   #8

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
if its still running, guess there must be a lot more ripple in the voltage now that its gone
Have not till now but will it affect anything or do I have to put it there.
Old 4th January 2009, 22:59   #9

because its running even after you removed it , i guess its not critical. they're used to supress the HF ripple from the SMPS ouput (kinda like a DC LPF )
Old 4th January 2009, 23:18   #10

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
because its running even after you removed it , i guess its not critical. they're used to supress the HF ripple from the SMPS ouput (kinda like a DC LPF )
Have not switched on the laptop till now. Will try soldering it back
Old 5th January 2009, 00:43   #11

Is it from the same laptop you beat down to hell?
Old 5th January 2009, 07:56   #12

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Have not till now but will it affect anything or do I have to put it there.
I think it is there to spy your transactions and report it to the authorities concerned, it must have already triggered an alarm somewhere when you disconnected it. They must be coming ...
Old 5th January 2009, 18:11   #13

Short anything in a power supply circuit at your own peril. Hey, a laptop on fire could be a very purty sight!
Old 5th January 2009, 20:01   #14

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Is it from the same laptop you beat down to hell?
Yes it is the same one....
Old 5th January 2009, 23:54   #15

Does not laptop comes with a charger/battery for powering purpose.

How can you make out that its related to PS. that too on lappy mobo.