Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 9th February 2009, 00:42   #16

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
B&O? Guaranteed to look superb, but I think better sound can be had spending the money on more orthodox-looking kit.
I have a few names in this thread, need info on where I can check them out ?? And fast.
Old 9th February 2009, 01:38   #17

B&O? Guaranteed to look superb, but I think better sound can be had spending the money on more orthodox-looking kit.

The looks of the more-orthodox might also age better, too: hopefuly this purchase is still going to be working in a good few years time.
Depends what you want really the Bose systems are just lifestyle boxes so if Manveets father is after such a box the B&O is a good alternative.

I agree that a conventional amp setup is the better option and that's why I wrote I would go down the seprates route in my earlier post.
Old 9th February 2009, 09:45   #18

Guys, just had an internal discussion, revised Budget is Rs. 1 Lakh.

And we have no preference for any Box Shox, will be happy to go with the traditional Amp, SW and speaker setup. Anyhow, I intend to visit the B&O store today to check out the 3200.

@Bigman & Others: Where in NCR can I evaluate Polk, Sherwood, Denon, Marantz, etc.

@Navin: Sirjee, you mentioned all those names (Quad/Epos, etc.) but I need your inputs on where I can have a dekko and seriously consider them as buying options.

Last edited by manveet : 9th February 2009 at 09:47.
Old 9th February 2009, 11:25   #19

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
  • Bose has built a reputation over the years. Could you please share links to articles that denounce Bose quality? My Dad is an IIT'ian, I'd need more than hearsay to convince him that Bose isn't the best thing out there at that price point.
I guess you will find more than enough justification here...

intellexual net · m k i v
Old 9th February 2009, 11:46   #20

But won't 2 speakers in a 22 x 15 feet room make the sound seem to come from one side of the room and not exactly surround sound.
Sounds good, but Greek.
Again, Greek.
If are considering a simple to set up one box HT/AV system I would look no further than the following
KEF KHT 3005
B&W MT20
Tannoy Arena
Quad L'ite

The Quads are tops ins sound but on the bottom in looks. My sister who is an interior decor expert prefers the KEF 3005 of these 4 for looks. The Arena is better than the 3005 in sound but my sister says they dont look good. The B&W MT20 bring up the rear because of their small sub the more expensive (out of your budget) MT30 is good though.

a short primer on surrround sound is here
Wendy Carlos Surround2

Guys, just had an internal discussion, revised Budget is Rs. 1 Lakh..will be happy to go with the traditional Amp, SW and speaker setup.
1L:
Main speakers: 30-35K - Quad 11L and Epos 12 .2 fit this budget
Active sub: 35-40K - again a REL or Velodyne can be had
Good stereo amp: 35-45K - NAD 355 or Rotel RA 04

@Navin: Sirjee, you mentioned all those names (Quad/Epos, etc.) but I need your inputs on where I can have a dekko and seriously consider them as buying options.
Oh I know nothing abut wher to hear these brands in India. I heard the Tannoy Arenas in Essen, the 3005 in my sister's house, The Quad L sub-sat, Quad 11L/22L and Epos 12.2 in London and the B&W MT20/30 at a friend's place (he upgraded from the MT20 to the MT30 because he wanted the better sub). Same with the Audience (heard in California), Chorus (in Paris), Dali (in Odense) etc..
Old 9th February 2009, 12:49   #21

Sherwood used to be known as a cheap and chearful brand (rather like Sansui, Videocon etc). Don't know if things have changes but they were never up their with the likes of Denon, Marantz etc.

Just did a quick search in google :

Marantz and Denon

Pro Acoustics,
18A, Khan Market, New Delhi
Ph: 24618464

and from another site :

Home Audio:

M/s. Audio Video Operation (AVO)
Contact No: 098183 80493
Dealers in: Denon

M/s. Bass & Treble
Contact No: 011 45509308 / 09999016124
Dealers in: Denon & Polk Audio

M/s. Bob Systems
Contact person: Mr. Virender Kumar
Contact No: 099999 91320
E mail: [COLOR=#0000ff]veeru1231097@rediffmail.com[/COLOR]

M/s. Decibels India Pvt. Ltd
Contact No: 011 4163 1853 / 1854 / 4173 4724 / 4726
E mail: [COLOR=#0000ff]decibels@decibelsindia.com[/COLOR]
Dealers in: DENON

M/s. Hi fi Zone
Contact No: 011 23863304 / 098112 56782
Dealers in: Denon & Polk Audio

M/s. Hi-Tech Audio Systems Pvt. Ltd
Contact No: 011 2581 2503 / 504 / 507 / 098105 68450
E mail: [COLOR=#0000ff]hitech@gmail.com[/COLOR]
Dealers in: DENON

M/s. Purple Wave Infocom Pvt Ltd
Contact person: Mr. Manoj Singh
Contact No: 011 64584749 / 50 / 098102 98631
Email: [COLOR=#0000ff]manoj@purplewave.in[/COLOR]
Dealers in: Home & Commercial Products

M/s. Solutions
Contact No: 09310235099 / 9871908333
Dealers in: Denon

M/s. Sound of Music
Contact No: 011 655 15557 to 55561 / 098100 50300
Email: [COLOR=#0000ff]soundofmusic@swishmail.org[/COLOR]
Dealers in: DENON & QED
M/s. Trinity Sound & Vision
Contact No: 011 4506 4321 / 098106 10306
Dealers in: DENON, Polk Audio & QED
Old 9th February 2009, 18:25   #22

The BeoSound 3200 is for 2.75L
So that's ruled out.

Lucky for me, I called up before visiting.
Old 9th February 2009, 19:33   #23

Looking at your Requirement:
  • Music System for the Drawing Room at home
  • This is NOT a Home Theatre, TV will NOT be connected
  • Music may range from Indian Classical to Moderate Rock
  • It should "fill up the room" and not seem to come from one corner/side
  • Dimensions of the room are about 22"x15"
From my experience best suite for your requirement is "BOSE" this is highly recommended for serious listening clarity an detailing of music mostly prefered by music professional.

The way you are doing your research and getting responses from other mates seems you are going towards hi fi system.

The hi fi system is a step forward to home theatre system and advantage of it is you can built it progressively and can up grade also progressively as in hi fi system you select the best product from specialist manufacturer.

To start building hi fi system you need to start with the heart of system that is AVR (Marantz & Denon are among world top two) which digitally decode all music and send each noise frequensy to separate speaker (Low, Mid & High). Going with harmon cardon for AVR is like going offroad with scorpio or safaries.

Along with your AVR you need atleast to go for Centre Speaker and Front surround as a next step to upgrade go for Rear surround, sub woofer and centre surround. For further upgrade go for projector and screen and there you got your hi fi system in place with multimedia room. (Wharfadel, B&W, Infinity and few european make speakers are world leader) JBL, yamaha, onkyo, harmon cardon are among commercially leading manufacturers that makes good intigrated system but they generates noise not music.

There is a magazine called "what hi fi" which got their web site too which will be quite help full to take the decision.

I bought my system from singapore the Denon AVR with Infinity primus series speaker system and 14" subwoofer. which cost me with all duties and air freight to India about 2.25 Lacs Rupees india equivalent.

All the best and welcome to the world of good music.

Cheerrrssss....

In summery if you are looking exclusively for music and that too in your drawing room Bose is the only option you are left with.
Old 9th February 2009, 21:12   #24

From my experience best suite for your requirement is "BOSE" this is highly recommended for serious listening clarity an detailing of music mostly prefered by music professional.
There speaks the odd man out! Guess there must be a few, or else they would never sell any of the stuff.

Sherwood, cheap and cheerful, someone said... I'd agree, saying that my Sherwood amp had quite a coarse sound, but I never realised that until I bought the Cyrus. The cyrus, though, was a Rs40K-plus box (I paid half price, ex-dem).

I wouldn't have thought one could go far wrong with Marantz or Denon --- and you can enter at your chosen price bracket in the range. Separate items means flexibility in the future, and less expense when something fails and can't be repaired.

Cables: the area where religion meets hifi! Ignore all the over-priced fancy stuff, but do use something with thicker copper than what comes free for interconnects, or the bell-wire stuff for speakers. How much oxygen should there be in the copper? I neither know nor care!!!!

Domestic, low/mid budget stereo has both improved hugely and come down in price. I think that. with a make like Marantz, even the entry-level stuff is not going to sound bad.

Last edited by Thad E Ginathom : 9th February 2009 at 21:16.
Old 9th February 2009, 22:59   #25

Serious music = 901

Forget all the jazz about small, sleek etc. If you are looking for serious music and room filling sound (without being loud) the best speakers are the Bose 901. Yes, they are bulky and are normally fitted on floor stands. Yes, they were launched some 2 decades ago, but remember they still sell like hot cakes.

Fit a good amp like a Denon or Marantz or any other that sounds good to you, with them. Spend some time to listen to each amp and other components, each sounds different and it is eventually one's personal choice. Thad's advice about seperate items and cables is sound advice.

I have a Bose LS 48 Series III, home theatre system and have no complaints. But I am an aspiring 901 owner! Having heard music come rolling out of those speakers, nothing else will ever do (at least as of today).

Old 9th February 2009, 23:01   #26

There speaks the odd man out! Guess there must be a few, or else they would never sell any of the stuff.
A few !!! , There are a lot more than a few.

Its not uncommon to hear this. '.... And you should checkout his music system, He's got Bose !!!! .
Old 9th February 2009, 23:12   #27

I think B&O will be close to 1.9 L it will be more...

Manveet If you need good music and less space get a good pair of book shelf speakers with a nice amp and cd player (or anything else you like) it will be best thing for you.
Old 9th February 2009, 23:18   #28

HOLD ON a sec! are we still talking about stealth or what? BTW KEF speakers are brilliant but tend to be not so honest about their sound. it also sounds underpowered specifically if you listen to their 5.1 systems. they are good for jazz and light soft listening. btw FOCAL is ALSO available too check those out. prices are as rare as the systems though. my pick would be denon or marantz with focal/b&o/polk. sorry if i'm repeating the last one i'm a rock and trance nut so i love the RTI series from polk and the utopia's from focal

Last edited by valhallen.282 : 9th February 2009 at 23:24.
Old 9th February 2009, 23:39   #29

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
A few !!! , There are a lot more than a few.

Its not uncommon to hear this. '.... And you should checkout his music system, He's got Bose !!!! .
And that's why marketing men still have jobs!
Old 10th February 2009, 10:45   #30

The cyrus, though, was a Rs40K-plus box (I paid half price, ex-dem).

Cables: the area where religion meets hifi! Ignore all the over-priced fancy stuff, but do use something with thicker copper than what comes free for interconnects, or the bell-wire stuff for speakers.

with a make like Marantz, even the entry-level stuff is not going to sound bad.
1. You got Cyrus for 20K that is robbery!
2. cables can affect sound but the signature is so subjetive you need to try and try till you find what you like.
3. Marantz, Denon and to a lesser degree Onkyo are ok. But if you want something that you will use for a generation consider Rotel, Arcam, NAD or better

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
the best speakers are the Bose 901
If you like the diffused sound of Bose, get some older Bose 901, replace the fullrange drivers with the Fostex 103 or if you are on a strict budget the Visaton FR10 or Tangband W4-1320SB or event eh Pioneer (see Parts Express for the exact mdoel number) and you can be in business. The Fostex 103 are about $30 each and the Visaton and Tangband are about 1/2 that.