Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 16th February 2009, 15:28   #1

Airtel - Now Unlimited Plans have restrictions on download speeds

As per TRAI, Airtel has started reducing connection speed for unlimited plans exceeding a certain download limit. Hence it means after you cross the CAP, your download speed will decrease

This is ridiculous.

Some info I have -
Plan 256 kbps - UL - Limit 15GB (per month ) after which speed reduces to 128 kbps.

Worst part is the customers are not informed about this "Fair usage Policy" before it gets into effect.

If you dial 121 - it doesn't even go beyond "welcome to Airtel"

Airtel is becoming another Tata Indicom.

has TRAI started a regulation???
Old 16th February 2009, 15:36   #2

Where did you get this information from? The Airtel website does not mention anything. Also I can get through to their customer support just fine. A source for this information will be nice. Also I don't think TRAI will come up with any such regulation. Just does not make any sense to reduce speeds.

Edit: From the links posted by Eddy below it seems like the problem is only with new connections or with people migrating their rate plans. At least that is what is apparent from those links. Pretty stupid of Airtel to implement such a policy if they have actually done it.

Last edited by vikram_d : 16th February 2009 at 15:47.
Old 16th February 2009, 15:38   #3

Arre bhai, yeh fixed line/broadband/ wired line ka news hai.

Kyon darra raha hai, I have blackberry on mobile.

Clarify please,

Will be a relief.

MM
Old 16th February 2009, 15:40   #4

No, its not a TRAI regulation. Its just a white paper by airtel and have implemented the same. They call it a Fair Usage Policy.

Lots of discussion on this topic here

News: Airtel sets a limit to unlimited plans (Airtel Fair Usage Policy) - India Broadband Forum

and here

Experience: My letter to TRAI and DOT about unfair "Airtel Fair Usage Policy". - India Broadband Forum

And if you too want to join the protest, see this

India Broadband Forum - Announcements in Forum : Airtel Broadband

Airtel Narrow Mind Broadband | Facebook

@Vikram

The airtel website does mention the Fair usage Policy in the plan details under an asterix (of course)

Last edited by Eddy : 16th February 2009 at 15:42.
Old 16th February 2009, 15:44   #5

i have moved from bsnl to airtel last week and yes there is a seperate form mentioning this. will try and scan it tonight and upload.
Old 16th February 2009, 15:53   #6

Eddy I cant find it on the website. Can you please post that link or a screenshot of it.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:13   #7

This is complete bullshit. However as i understand this is for new users and not existing users. Is that right?
One another q- Guys if you are using 256kbps speed what should be the average download speed. Am getting 30kb/sec on an average.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:19   #8

Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Eddy I cant find it on the website. Can you please post that link or a screenshot of it.
:: Airtel :: Broadband Services - Tariffs - For You

Check out the asterix under download speeds.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:20   #9

For 256kbps you should get any where from 25 - 30 depending on data traffic conditions.

Edit: Eddy - There is an '*' next to download speed and that co-relates to "Speed indicated is the speed up to our ISP node". What else is their besides that?

Last edited by vikram_d : 16th February 2009 at 16:24.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:27   #10

looks like its for everybody. if u go to dedicated broadband forum like broadbandforum.in you can see existing users complaining
Old 16th February 2009, 16:47   #11

i am an existing user and I have not faced any such problems.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:49   #12

Darn! This is bad! If I am paying for unlimited plan at a particular speed, that is what I want. Who are they to decide my usage?

Airtel was one provider who gave me a good deal; guess I will know if to continue or not by the time I am back.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:53   #13

The concept of Fair Usage Policy has been around for a long time now. Its just that the Indian companies are implementing it now. I used to be a tech support trainer for Direcway( satellite based internet connection in the US) and I learnt about the Fair Usage Policy used by them in 2002. Actually, I am surprised it took Airtel so long to come up with this considering the fact that they love charging you for everything

SG FAQ :: 6. What is "Fair Access Policy" and how does it work ? This article would help explain the concept.

I have seen and heard customers fuming because of this and it wasnt pleasant.
Infact being "FAPped" was a word that was pretty much used as a synonym for a certain 4 letter word

Last edited by sammyboy : 16th February 2009 at 17:01.
Old 16th February 2009, 17:38   #14

I recently changed my basic 250 plan with Airtel to Rs.1599 UL (512 KBPS) plan recently. So if i exceed 15gb download then the speed would be reduced to 256 KBPS?

If so, then shifting to BSNL broadband makes sense?
Old 16th February 2009, 17:41   #15

I for some reason still think that this news is not true.

Edit: Also the link provided by Sammyboy shows it in a completely different light. Me thinks this is aimed and spammers & their ilk rather than at normal users.

Last edited by vikram_d : 16th February 2009 at 17:44.