Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 9th July 2009, 17:44   #16

I have spoken to the Airtel Customer Care helpline in delhi and they say that the scheme has not yet been officially launched.
I told them that a friend has the same thing in Mumbai and they said that might have been launched in Mumbai but not in Delhi as yet
Does anyone has any idea???
Old 10th July 2009, 00:21   #17
aZa

Got a call from Airtel Customer care ... "Sir ji 2MBPS unlimited plan aya hai !!!" And yes its for 2999Rs. 5Gb mailbox free (uhh) 100mins free on calls (my airtel line has no instrument) STD is 1re all india.

So here i'm thinking about shifting to 1299 plan and they come up with this.
Old 10th July 2009, 02:04   #18

I mailed airtel Tamil Nadu inquiring about this plan, and they got back telling this plan is available for me to switch to. I have taken it up (I was on the Rs. 1499 512 kbps unlimited plan), the new plan should be active in 3 days of time...
Old 10th July 2009, 08:19   #19

looks good. Hope its available in Bangalore - i will be switching to this one.
Old 10th July 2009, 08:29   #20

I have the executive coming to my office today for the forms etc.

Apparently the call center guys are not aware of the new scheme, but when we called up the local office they said that the scheme is available and that the will send an executive to complete the paper work today and it will be installed in the next couple of days!!!
Lets see!!!
Old 10th July 2009, 09:00   #21

I pay 1599 for IP TV + 512kbps u/l
I guess I should ask them to give me more at this price 1499 for 512kbps without 1mbps is too much!
Old 11th July 2009, 12:09   #22

Anyone in Bangalore checked this plan?

I just called the 121 number and they said that they have no clue what this plan is about!!! :(
Old 11th July 2009, 21:32   #23

Yesterday the executive came to my office and told me that there is no plan Turbo 1299 and wanted me to take some other plan which is 512 kbps.

I told him that I would like to wait for a week and then decide. Today afternoon I get a call from him saying that he's got an email and the plan has come into force in NCR.
I will be completing the formalities on monday and it will take another 3-4 days for the setup. i am getting tempted to take the IPTV package along with it too.
Old 11th July 2009, 21:48   #24

Airtel CC in Hyderabad has confirmed via email the availability of Turbo 1299 plan.

I'm awaiting reply to my query whether the plan is truly unlimited or whether it hides some download volume based speed caps.

Will be making the switch if this plan is truly unlimited and not plagued with some funny Fair Usage Policies.

Here is what the CC executive have sent me.
Airtel Broadband Turbo 1299 Plan (Unlimited 512KBps / 1MBps)-pic03874.jpg  

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 11th July 2009 at 21:50.
Old 12th July 2009, 11:04   #25

Worthy change for some loose change. :-)

Time for an update....

My plan came in force today. So instead of my normal 52 KBps limit on a 384 kbps line, I'm getting a regular 80+ KBps download speed, with speed scaling up to 140+ KBps sometimes. It is frequently breaching 100 KBps download for torrents and stays there for a while.

The upload speed is a constant 110 KBps, i.e. 1 mbps. So this is actually a 1 mbps plan with 512 restriction and anything above that is probably shared and will go up on availability of the same. I believe that when I'm on 1 mbps speed during the nights, I should be getting close to 125 KBps constantly for those 8 hours and it breaching 175+ KBps regularly should be a fair possibility.

Last edited by given2fly : 12th July 2009 at 11:08.
Old 12th July 2009, 12:34   #26

Thank you guys for informing about the new plan. AirTel sucks. They should have called the exisitng customers and informed about the new plan. But they won't.

Anyway, I called 121 and after a long wait the executive came on-line and informed that such a plan is in existence. I'm currently on a 1599/- pm 512 kbps unlimited plan. I asked him to change my plan to Turbo 1299. There is some software upgrdation going on in the customer care, hence the migration can't be done. I've been asked to call at 2 pm and then the change shall be done.

The new plan becomes effective from Wednesday for me, if done today..
Old 12th July 2009, 12:52   #27

I guess no one has the plan that I have from Airtel.

I had subscribed to the Airtel Broadband internet connection I believe as soon as they launched. Opted for the Rs. 999 unlimited plan for 256kbps. Soon after I was given a special upgrade of an additional 128 kbps, so I was given 384kbps @ 999. Night speed is 768kbps.

Problem is with IPTV. If I take the 999 package (where I have to pay for installation - Rs. 3500), my internet speed WILL be reduced down to 256kbps. Have haggled a lot with them, hoping for a positive response. Buggers have even encashed my cheque!!
Old 12th July 2009, 13:42   #28

Well Ankit, I was on 384 kbps / 999 package before I moved to this new plan a couple of days back. I'm not sure about your 768 kbps night download speed because I've never come across such a plan from any provider. Anyway, yours is a special account, so cheers to you.

I will say, If you can get the IP TV thing clubbed with this new package, get the migration done. Your night time speed will be upgraded to 1 mbps and during the day, you will mostly get speed better than the 512 limit. Plus they reimburse you by giving 100 bucks worth calling time & speed on demand voucher/discount, cheaper landline tariff, and free antivirus subscription with F-secure. In my opinion, this is much better value pack for those who are on 256 or 384 kbps plan and have been looking for an upgrade for some time.

Chao. :-)

Originally Posted by ankitahuja View Post
I guess no one has the plan that I have from Airtel.

I had subscribed to the Airtel Broadband internet connection I believe as soon as they launched. Opted for the Rs. 999 unlimited plan for 256kbps. Soon after I was given a special upgrade of an additional 128 kbps, so I was given 384kbps @ 999. Night speed is 768kbps.
Old 13th July 2009, 20:39   #29

Caveat Emptor

Guys, here is the Caveat Emptor.

None of these so called "Unlimited" plans are truly unlimited.

As expected from Airtel, there is an FUP limit of 100GB on these plans after which the download speed halves.

Still not bad IMHO!

The plus side is that there are three so-called unlimited plans for people who need more speed. See below.
Airtel Broadband Turbo 1299 Plan (Unlimited 512KBps / 1MBps)-airtel_unlimited_plans.jpg  

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 13th July 2009 at 20:42.
Old 15th July 2009, 14:36   #30

Great plan, I was on 799. 265Kbps plan, now I have requested for a shift to this plan.