Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Search this Thread
Old 30th November 2012, 06:02   #556
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by carzone
Guys, I am in need of your help.
I am a complete noob in networking and stuff.
I use a MTNL adsl modem, not the wifi one. The modem is by MTNL and am paying a rent of Rs. 50 per month as of now.
Now, I am thinking of getting a wireless modem, one with a decent range and a decent price tag.
I would be surrendering the present modem to MTNL and would be using only the wifi one. Is it possible?
MTNL is offering the wifi modem for Rs. 600 + Rs.50 rental as usual.
I don't know its range nor any specifications. Would it be a good idea to go for it as I get a replacement if something goes wrong.

I also got this one on Ebay with a 3 year warranty. Would this be a better buy than the MTNL one?

What is the difference between a router and a modem? Will this Router suffice and work if I directly plug it to my ADSL phone line and take the Ethernet wire to the PC?

Any more suggestions for the router? Am looking a one with decent price tag (<1500/-). Distance is not an issue and a 150 feet one should suffice.

Looking forward to your help.

Thanks!
You would need a router modem. Just a router will not suffice. Best you go with the 600 + 50 option from mtnl. If it gets spoilt, they replace. Also I they will set it up for you.
Old 30th November 2012, 07:56   #557
BHPian

re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
You would need a router modem. Just a router will not suffice. Best you go with the 600 + 50 option from mtnl. If it gets spoilt, they replace. Also I they will set it up for you.
yes, they install it for me. Have made an application for the same with MTNL, to be addressed within 2-3 days!

In future, if need arises, can I add another router to extend my range? Or are there repeaters or something?

Thank you
Old 30th November 2012, 08:36   #558
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by carzone