Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 20th April 2014, 21:05   #18031

Hi guys, this is about miracast adapters to use with android devices to mirror content on TV. My cousin recently bought a 42" Sony led w700b if I remember correctly. This TV has a screen mirroring feature (which is basically the miracast standard I suppose). I was able to mirror my nexus 7 and galaxy s3 perfectly using this. The output was a high quality and smooth 1080p. Except for a lag of few milliseconds this was perfect. Now I have a Panasonic plasma which doesn't support screen mirroring,and I am looking for a miracast adapter which would give me a good experience as with the Sony TV. Does anybody know of any adapters that work well?
Old 21st April 2014, 01:36   #18032

Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
I'm sure there are other apps to block sms. But if you want real satisfaction, install this app called "India against spam". Very nice app that allows you to report such sms and calls to your service provider. I've got many numbers disconnected this way.
What a great idea! Somehow, I seem to be in a lull for getting spam sms. This almost makes me want some.

They should do an app to report the scam spams, like "you have won a hundred million billion crore rupees..." that gets the senders arrested.
Old 23rd April 2014, 11:41   #18033

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Is there any app which can block unwanted sms? Am sick and tired of these tele marketing property sms msgs all day.
I'm sure there are other apps to block sms. But if you want real satisfaction, install this app called "India against spam". Very nice app that allows you to report such sms and calls to your service provider. I've got many numbers disconnected this way.
Bingo !! India Against Spam is the App name as mentioned by Naveen.
How it works ?
- The app displays a list of sms that you have received.
- You select the app and click on Report.
- A message with the contents of the sms and the sender is sent to 1909.
- In the backend, 1909 sends the same to your mobile operator.
- The mobile operator creates a complaint ticket and sends you the complaint number.
- After 2-3 days you get a call from mobile operator, profusely apologizing for the inconvenience.
- Commits to you that you won't ever receive such sms'es or calls.
- The sms and calls reduce, but keep coming. You keep reporting.
- Its a free service. So keep reporting.

In 1 year, I had reported almost 350+ such calls and sms'es.
Nowadays, I get such sms'es once a month only.
Old 23rd April 2014, 12:21   #18034

Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Bingo !! India Against Spam is the App name as mentioned by Naveen.
How it works ?
- The app displays a list of sms that you have received.
- You select the app and click on Report.
Excellent Information, A BIG Thanks A very useful app and very easy to use too.
Old 23rd April 2014, 12:55   #18035

Thanks a lot. Installed it. Lets see how effective it is in the long run.
Old 23rd April 2014, 14:15   #18036

Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post

- After 2-3 days you get a call from mobile operator, profusely apologizing for the inconvenience.
Hmmm... That could be worse than the spam!
Old 23rd April 2014, 14:18   #18037

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
My service provider is Airtel and I never receive any calls from them. Once I mark the sms or call as spam and send it to them from the app, they send me a service request number and send me a status message a few days later - if they have disconnected that specific spam number etc.

But yes, after using this app, I hardly get any spam messages these days.
Old 23rd April 2014, 14:49   #18038

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Absolutely agree with you Thad !!
Sample this conversation between Vodafone Operator (VO) and Me

VO: Good Afternoon/Morning Sir. Am I speaking to Mr. Soumyajit ?
Me: Yes
VO: Sir, I am calling from Vodafone. Can I take 2 minutes of your time ?
Me: Yes Sure (The world crashes down for me in those 2 minutes, but I still agree).
VO: Sir, this is regarding the complaint that you had raised about receiving unwanted calls and sms'es. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you. Are you still receiving them ?
Me: Yes, but from another number.
VO: Ok, so you are not receiving any calls / sms from this number (the complained number) ?
Me: No, not from this number.
VO: Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am closing this complaint since you are not receiving calls/sms from this number anymore. Incase you have any questions or issues, please call our toll free helpline (which is chargeable at 0.50p/3min) or logon to our website www.vodafone.in
Me: But madam / sir, I am getting calls / sms from other numbers.
VO: Please call our toll free helpline (which is chargeable at 0.50p/3min) or logon to our website www.vodafone.in to log a complaint.
----The End-----

My service provider is Airtel and I never receive any calls from them. Once I mark the sms or call as spam and send it to them from the app, they send me a service request number and send me a status message a few days later - if they have disconnected that specific spam number etc.
But yes, after using this app, I hardly get any spam messages these days.
Vodafone does call customers for each complaint received. But like Thad and I mentioned above, its exactly another spam call wasting 2 minutes of our lives. For each complaint I receive a call. Multiply by 350 complaints I have raised, equals to 700 minutes, thats roughly 11 hours a year !!
Nevertheless, this year I have raised, may be around 15 complains till date. So the number of calls have reduced drastically, but not finished.

With stringent KYC implementation, hopefully these Pre-Paid Spam Callers never get to get a connection in the first place.
Old 23rd April 2014, 18:26   #18039

It's pretty frustrating. Even I get calls from airtel in Bangalore everyday. Now I have stored their number in contacts and never receive them.
Old 25th April 2014, 10:41   #18040

Ok Folks, am back again on this thread. This time for some review & advice.

First, review of Galaxy Grand Neo.

Since my Galaxy Grand Duos was pickpocketed in Feb, I have been waiting for a new phone. My backup Noika C7-00 served me well from Feb till date, with WhatsApp support.

My preferences were Large Screen, Decent Camera and Decent Whatsapp, FB, GMail performance.
After a lot of research, I bought a Grand Neo Duos. Have been using the handset for 4 days now. Absolute satisfaction.
The Grand Neo fit my pocket, both size wise and price wise.

The handset feels at par with Grand Duos.
There is a small catch in the Processor difference between Grand and Grand Neo.
The Grand runs on a 1.2GHZ Dual Core, Cortex A9 Processor.
The Grand Neo runs on a 1.2GHZ Quad Core, Cortex A7 Processor.

Although the Neo has quad core processor, the architecture is lesser than Grand. A7 is a lower variant than of A9.
So the net performance between the Grand and Grand Neo is abolsutely same, with no major visible/experience difference.

The Grand Neo costed me 15,154, whereas the Grand costs at a lowest proce of 16,100. Thats a cool 1000 INR more for no major performance difference. The Grand 2 is a different ball game altogether at a lowest price of 20,000.
That would be my short review of the Grand Neo.

Now coming to some advice. Can someone recommend me:

1) A stable Custom ROM for I9060 ? I searched on XDA, doesn't sound promising there.

2) A Launcher app ? I have used Go Launcher & Locker. Its decent. But want to get something new. No Windows 8 Launchers please. I hate Windows 8 tiles.
Old 25th April 2014, 11:14   #18041

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...id.apps.fb.btp

Android app from BTP.
Android app for Bangalore Road users in association with Bangalore Traffic Police.
Main Features:
1. Get live traffic on maps and alerts directly from Traffic Police
2. Report traffic problems from the app itself
3. Women Help Line - One touch Distress Help
4. Raise Auto Rickshaw complaints and track the status
5. Rate your Auto Rickshaw ride using Sugama Savari - Happy Auto app
6. Check for traffic fines for any vehicle number
7. Upload violations using Public Eye feature
8. One click call to BTP traffic management center
9. Open BTP Facebook page
10. Place a widget on home screen to see new updates without opening the app
Old 25th April 2014, 12:22   #18042

Samsung rolling out Android 4.4 KitKat update for Galaxy Note II

http://www.sammobile.com/2014/04/25/...alaxy-note-ii/
Old 25th April 2014, 12:47   #18043

Hi my Moto G has been behaving weirdly for the past 4 - 5 days. Suddenly when getting into the menu screen the icons and the text looks distorted and yesterday the menu screen looked like this. Anyone else facing the same issues? And what could be the reason for this?
Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-1398410259440.jpg  

Old 25th April 2014, 13:21   #18044

Originally Posted by smrtdvl View Post
Hi my Moto G has been behaving weirdly for the past 4 - 5 days. Suddenly when getting into the menu screen the icons and the text looks distorted and yesterday the menu screen looked like this. Anyone else facing the same issues? And what could be the reason for this?
That looks like a software glitch.
Restart the phone and see if that helps.
Else, you may need to do a factory restore.

If all fails, Motorola Service Center.
Old 25th April 2014, 13:41   #18045

In fact it goes off just by randomly clicking on some icon or home button twice or thrice. If I do a factory reset will I loose any data since there is no separate memory card.