![]() | #24856 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Kannur
| ![]() I was looking for a budget smart phone and thought of going for Redmi 3S. Tried to buy during flipkart flash sale around noon today. I was able to add to cart but when I clicked to checkout it was showing 'not available'. Is this how things work? I was trying to buy something like this for the first time. What are the other options? Requirement: 5" screen good build quality decent camera It will be used for making calls, watching videos, clicking pics, facebook, whatsapp etc Thanks in advance Last edited by Latheesh : 28th October 2016 at 20:09. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #24857 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2015 Location: Almaden, CA
| ![]() Hi Lateesh, You can try the Moto G4 play. It should be a really good choice considering the neutral nature of Moto phones. |
![]() |
![]() | #24858 | |||||||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() Hi my requirement has been updated. The requirement is super quirky and apologies if it sounds illogical but please humor me, and don't deviate from the specs: - Fairly good camera. Think iPhone 6 level, not Pixel level. - Very good speakerphone. The kind where you can listen to a conference call easily while taking a bath, or while shopping in a busy old Delhi market - Should be able to record phone calls without rooting and trying to install different apps. Xiaomi phones are brilliant at this, with the call recording feature built into the dialer. Hygiene factors: Call quality should be great enough that you can last all day on 3G without needing 2G to have an undropped call, Battery life should not be bad (RN3 can last 2 days!), phone should not stutter, and should have 3GB RAM and fingerprint sensor. I'm sure 25k is a reasonable budget for this spec sheet. Which phones would stand up? a. Mi5 is my standout favorite even though I haven't spent much time with it esp with the camera. reason being I love the MIUI. b. OP3 - does it record calls? Which other phone makes the cut? Moto Z play is out because it doesnt record calls. Quote:
It is bad enough that the phone is being sold off. While the camera's lack of details can be solved by using Cyanogen Camera, the deal breaker is the speakers. For someone whose life involves 2-3 conference calls a day - this phone has the absolute worst speaker I have experienced in ANY phone till date. You can't use the speakerphone or play music on speakers while on the road or even in a open plan office. The phone is hobbled by Mi's software settings, not in hw. The only solution is to root it, but then my official email will stop working. | |||||||
![]() |
![]() | #24859 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Pune
| ![]() You can root, install a custom rom (to resolve all MIUI related issued) and again unroot. This way (hopefully) your official email will continue to work. WOrth a try. Do keep a backup of your current rom and apps. |
![]() |
![]() | #24860 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() |
![]() |
![]() | #24861 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() Quote:
Nahi bhai - In my earlier experiments, no other un-rooted app comes remotely close to MIUI's inbuilt tool in terms of proper sound quality without any static or echoes etc. | |
![]() |
![]() | #24862 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: DL9C
| ![]() Quote:
![]() Talking of party tricks, it also lacks a fingerprint sensor. BUT, has the nifty tap-to-wakeup feature built in to the stock ROM. 32GB onboard storage is a boon, along with the 3GB RAM. Worth a look, I would say. | |
![]() |
![]() | #24863 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2012 Location: Cosmopolitan
| ![]() Quote:
Secondly, I am mostly sold on the One Plus 3, however, didn't have a SBI card to buy it during the Diwali offer, so waiting for an offer clubbed with another bank. May take a while now since festivities are over, but I will wait it out. My decision to buy the One Plus 3 is based on 2 aspects - 1. Feedback from forum members and couple of family members. 2. In-depth review on AnandTech - http://www.anandtech.com/show/10411/...eplus-3-review There are battery issues reported from my family members who have it (2 One Plus 3 in the same house, purchased from different vendors on Amazon India). They say they have to charge the phone twice, daily. However, I have not yet discussed with them, in-detail, on what they are doing that the battery is draining so fast! Having said that, even if I need to charge it daily, I can manage it in all situations except long distance travel. Reconsidered the Moto Z Play (rejected again due to boring design and no 4G in 2nd sim) and Lenovo Z2 Plus (5 inches screen - I need more, and also some reviews on Amazon are not encouraging) - however, I keep myself dragging back to the One Plus 3. Mi5 is good, but 32 GB inbuilt and no further room for expansion is a strict no-no for me! On your requirement for loud speakers - kindly go for a phone that's equipped with front firing dual speakers. I have the same in my current HTC E8, and honestly speaking, every other phone in that range just seems to me like emitting noise instead of sound. These speakers are crystal clear and just yesterday I reaffirmed by belief while playing the same track back to back on a Mi4i and HTC E8. With regards to recording calls - I am currently using ACR - https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....nll.acr&hl=en If I recall correctly, I paid INR 50/- and purchased the licensed version to store recorded calls in Cloud. Trust me, I have more than 1500 recorded calls, right from client meetings, internal team meetings, client round interviews, numerous KT sessions, calls with Banking Ombudsman, etc., and they are all crystal clear. Voice of both parties can be heard as if they are talking in real-time. I am sure you can buy a license and try it out on your existing phone and if satisfied, can install it on your new phone that you decide to buy. Coming back to the One Plus 3, as I mentioed earlier, it's almost finalized. Had there been an offer on Citibank or HDFC, I would have already bought it! However, since there are none, I am waiting for one as well as continuing to explore other options, if they exist in this price range. Kindly note - all my experiences till date are on Android devices. My comparison doesn't have Apple devices in question. Also, I have never rooted my Android devices due to company and client policy. The only device rooted till now was my wife's Xolo Q3000, which had an agonizing 1 GB of internal memory available for apps, which I had to expand to 8GB after rooting (MTK device). | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #24864 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() My only gripe with the OP3 is the lack of a memory card slot. I need that slot to store my flacs :( i keep looking at my wife's OP3 in envy :P And the dash charge is pretty good. |
![]() |
![]() | #24865 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Kannur
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #24866 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Delhi
| ![]() After months of dilly-dallying, finally went ahead and bought the Galaxy S7 edge, onyx black. It feels so good to be back into the world of Android after a painful 5 month experiment with iOS. |
![]() |
![]() | #24867 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Enjoy it. Cheers... | |
![]() |
![]() | #24868 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #24869 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Quote: