Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th June 2013, 19:19   #15316
BHPian

Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
I am not an expert but I thought that GPS communication was only one-way, that is, info is received from satellites but no info is sent to them by the phone itself? (like Satellite-Television)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
There is no ping activity between phone and a satellite. Satellite broadcasts time signals (like a radio station) and phone receives it like a radio (there is no communication back to satellite). Then GPS chip on phone calculates the position on XY axis by calculating the time signal and the time it took to travel from satellite to phone.
Yup, you are correct...
and they are not Geosynchronous satellites as i thought they were.
Each satellite broadcasts it's current location along with a timestamp.
when you can recieve signals from 4 or more satellites, you can caluclate your position basis the position of the satellites and the time taken for each signal to reach.
Old 7th June 2013, 19:27   #15317
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprucegoose View Post
No. For about 4K more you will get a Nexus 4. Which is hands down a far superior phone.

The screen is smaller, but still has better resolution and three is no SD card support.
The nexus 4 beats the N7000 in every aspect apart from those 2 I've mentioned above.
Experience of using Note and Nexus 4 are entirely different comparison based on just hardware specification is not very useful always.

I would say the following.

1. Biggest plus of Note is the sPen Stylus and note feature and if you like this go with eyes closed there is no perceptible difference in performance of Note and Note 2 with stock JB images.