Old 29th May 2006, 14:51   #1

Need help - which Automatic Car?

Hi All, my Dad-in-law is planning to buy a Automatic Car in the range of 4 - 5 lakhs. I am aware of only Santro and Wagon-R in Automatic option is this range. Is any other car available in this range?
Among Santro and Wagon-R, which will be a better buy?
Thanks in Advance!
Old 29th May 2006, 16:12   #2

in this price range there is no other autos are available.

Santro is quite old in this area and has that tried and tested gearbox.
but i feels both should be equally good.

but if possible try to opt for ABS too!
Old 29th May 2006, 16:25   #3

Originally Posted by finneyp
Hi All, my Dad-in-law is planning to buy a Automatic Car in the range of 4 - 5 lakhs. I am aware of only Santro and Wagon-R in Automatic option is this range. Is any other car available in this range?
Thanks in Advance!
a 2 yr old Santro Automatic was sold for 3.00 lacs. Not a bad car...but boy mileage is seriously bad , any way that deal is over.
Old 29th May 2006, 16:34   #4

Only 2 cars in that range - Santro and Wagon-R. Understand that Santro Auto gives average FE of 9-10

Other cars in a higher range - Honda City Zx (9+), Chevrolet Optra (12+) and Toyota Corolla (14+), Honda CRV (18+)
Old 29th May 2006, 16:55   #5

is he open for a used bargain ?

then maybe OHC auto or NHC CVT can be considered.

have no idea about the Wagon-R AT, but the Santro AT I have driven is quite breezy to drive in the city, though quite less zippy than the manual version, and the owner used to get around 10-11 kmpl in city with AC

Last edited by goldie_malhotra : 29th May 2006 at 16:57.
Old 29th May 2006, 17:23   #6

If youre fine with used cars an old Honda City 1.5 AT should be good. The Wagon R comes with a 3 speed tranny while the Santro comes with a 4 speed box
Old 31st May 2006, 18:24   #7

from my experience ohc auto gives 11-12 with a/c city driving & 14 on highway
Old 31st May 2006, 19:18   #8

Thanks in Advance!
hey...santro AT is a much better buy..better vfm i think
Old 31st May 2006, 20:53   #9

Santro AT is a better bet than WagonR AT.. as Dippy said Santro AT is 4 speed.whereas the maruti is 3 speed.. and i think that WagonR and Zen AT have anyhow been discontinued. (though not confirmed)

Maruti displayed the Solio AT (wagonr+ lookalike), which had besides Auto gearbox, features to carry wheelchairs and rotating seats for easy ingress and egress... although i am not too sure if Maruti is launching it anytime soon.

So Santro AT is your only option, or a used C-V-T
Old 22nd June 2006, 12:18   #10

Now purchased Santo Automatic!

Thanks to all who shared their valuable advice.
Yesterday, my Dad-in-law took the delivery of Santro Automatic.
OTR price: Rs.4.7 lacs. Got a cash discount of 10k. But surprised that for this price, they couldn't give Body-colored bumpers and Wheel caps.
First impressions: The drive is pretty smooth, good pick-up. Build Quality is quite flimsy esp. the doors. Maybe I am comparing it with Palio!
Ride quality is just ok. A right Car for city driving esp in Bangalore traffic.
Old 22nd June 2006, 13:02   #11

In that range, and amongst those cars, I wud say the Wagon R, as the engine is better in it. its a lot more smoother. WagonR is also more spacious, seating comfort more better than Santro.

IMHO...WagonR it is!

Maruti and Hyundai, and all other manufacturers have to now shift over to the DSG! if DSG is offered to ppl at reasonablly higher price, Automatics will be hit in india!
Old 22nd June 2006, 18:43   #12

Thanks to all who shared their valuable advice.
Yesterday, my Dad-in-law took the delivery of Santro Automatic.
OTR price: Rs.4.7 lacs. Got a cash discount of 10k. But surprised that for this price, they couldn't give Body-colored bumpers and Wheel caps.
First impressions: The drive is pretty smooth, good pick-up. Build Quality is quite flimsy esp. the doors. Maybe I am comparing it with Palio!
Ride quality is just ok. A right Car for city driving esp in Bangalore traffic.
Congratulations for the new car.

Santros are nice little city car, and now with AT your F-I-L will be quite at ease while driving it.

and yes, you are right, doors and overall construction is no where near to Palio.

Insane Devil,
you are late. very late, to be precise.
read the replies properly.
Old 22nd June 2006, 21:47   #13

One of my fren has also purchased a AT - Santro and he is completely satisfied with its performance. Nice choice dude.
Old 23rd June 2006, 13:12   #14

revharder...late for "finneyp" but still early for others who confused in this battle of cars.

rareone, the Santro sure is a nice car, and one wud definately be satisfied with its performance, jus that the Wagon R has a more refined n smoother engine and less of body vibrations.
Old 23rd June 2006, 13:16   #15

congrats Finney,

But please dont compare the build of teh santro with the Palio....Not fair Bro, n u know that