Old 14th October 2008, 12:08   #31

can we not custom order an automatic gearbox or even an auto-clutch(as someone mentioned here in one of the posts above).
I have a palio 1.2 and would like to convert it to an automatic.
Could anyone please guide me on the cost involved?
Old 14th October 2008, 14:51   #32
JRD

i10 AT drives effortlessly. and isnt that expensive.5.05lacs.
Old 14th October 2008, 14:58   #33

Originally Posted by gods-envy View Post
I have a palio 1.2 and would like to convert it to an automatic.
Could anyone please guide me on the cost involved?
Even i am thinking for doing the same for the Alto!
Would be great if someone can share whether it can be done?If yes,what could be the cost involved.
Old 14th October 2008, 16:22   #34

For automatic clutch, check the following thread:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...-automate.html

I have used it in my Indica diesel and presently the same unit is doing duty in an Alto in Bangalore.
Old 15th October 2008, 11:17   #35

read a review in modifications section about automatic clutch,doesn't seems best of options,cons overweighs pros easliy.Just search for it and go through it.
Old 15th January 2010, 11:39   #36

Mumbai City car .

I am looking at getting another car in the family purely for Mumbai city use and going to conjusted places where we cannot take / easily park our city. Running will be less than 750 Kms each month.

Car would also be used by new drivers in the family . So want to buy an automatic. Now in small AT cars there is only i10 . I20 Auto is too expensive . WagonR AT is almost not seen.

My confusion is between the i10 Magna AT and i10 Sports AT.

I have Mumbai offer for magna AT @ 4.97 OTR and Sports At @ about 5.15

The sports one has got In dash audio setup. I want comments from fellow Bhpians how good the I10 stock music system is and would it be worth spending that 18k extra for the same.

Besides the integrated audio the other extra things are purely cosmetic.

I am not looking for resale value as well because the car stays in family for 5+ years .

I have seen and driven i10 automatic as well as manual ones but none of them had inbuilt audio.

Please advise.

Manish.

Last edited by Jaggu : 15th January 2010 at 16:53. Reason: Please use search and continue in an existing thread. thanks
Old 17th April 2010, 18:26   #37

I wanted to know whether the Hyundai i10 is the only option currently in Automatic among small cars Under say 5 Lac ??!

No electrics please.
Old 17th April 2010, 21:43   #38

Yes. There is nothing else. There used to be Santro. Now its gone.

But you can buy the i10 AT because you will definitely like it and not because you don't have a choice and you are forced to buy one !
Old 17th April 2010, 22:36   #39

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
I wanted to know whether the Hyundai i10 is the only option currently in Automatic among small cars Under say 5 Lac ??!

No electrics please.
Yeah, i10 is the only one below 5 lacs. You can get 2nd hand AT sedans like Accord 2.4 AT or Corolla H4 too.

Last edited by prateekm : 17th April 2010 at 22:42.
Old 17th April 2010, 22:41   #40

Well i don't want to keep 2 Kappa's at home. Lets wait and watch about the future offerings.
Old 18th April 2010, 00:43   #41

My take is that we may not even get one!
Well my reasoning is that only those guys will get an AT version, who are targeted for upmarket urban families (read lifestyle cars, plush interiors etc)

Maruti does not fall in that category. Figo may choose to do, but since they have none even in the sedan category, I doubt we may get one. That only leaves the Punto/Polo/Jazz/i20 segment. This will target the 6-8L range, which is outside the bound.

We may get one in Jazz which is the most possible of all. Cannot think of one in Punto and Polo.

Last edited by ampere : 18th April 2010 at 00:44.
Old 21st May 2010, 17:10   #42

Auto Transmission Options for small cars

Was thinking about buying a Small Car for the wife. She is really fond of A/T driving (US returned) but insists that the Car be a small car. Any good options in this bracket - i10 seems to come in A/T; any others worth considering?
Old 21st May 2010, 19:36   #43

Originally Posted by Need4Spd View Post

Was thinking about buying a Small Car for the wife. She is really fond of A/T driving (US returned) but insists that the Car be a small car. Any good options in this bracket - i10 seems to come in A/T; any others worth considering?
The only small car available under 6 lakhs with A/T is i10.
Instrumentation and finesse levels are good - and you won't miss cars in US (I didn't!!).
Gripes that I had was no FATC + no alloys + thin tires + no electronic orvms.
The next option that addresses all the gripes (I guess) is verna/city - but those are sedans.
Old 21st May 2010, 19:51   #44

The only other possibility is the new micra which is supposed to be coming with a CVT transmission.
Old 21st May 2010, 19:59   #45

pl' s dont buy the I 10 AT it has got a pathetic mileage my cousin who has got one for his wife has gone nuts geting 6 & 7 in the city