View Poll Results: Which is a better VFM?
Celerio VXI AMT (4.6 lacs Ex-Showroom) 10 29.41%
Alto K10 AMT (3.8 lacs Ex-Showroom) 24 70.59%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Old 3rd November 2014, 16:51   #1

Maruti: Alto K10 AMT vs Celerio AMT

I needed an AMT, booked it and was patiently waiting till today. The launch of new K10 with AMT has confused me and I reckon the pricing is bang on spot.

Does it still make sense to buy Celerio AMT which would cost about a lac more than Alto K10 AMT for the same engine and gear box?

Here's a snapshot of the comparison:
Maruti: Alto K10 AMT vs Celerio AMT-comparison.jpg  

Last edited by pahwa : 3rd November 2014 at 17:05.
pahwa is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2014, 17:01   #2

re: Maruti: Alto K10 AMT vs Celerio AMT

Originally Posted by pahwa View Post
I needed an AMT, booked it and was patiently waiting till today. The launch of new K10 with AMT has confused me and I reckon the pricing is bang on spot.

Does it still make sense to buy Celerio AMT which would cost about a lac more than Alto K10 AMT for the same engine and gear box?

Here's a snapshot of the comparison:
I think you interchanged the pricing part there.

Celerio would be more spacious than the K10. At least looks bigger. K10 should be fun in the manual mode and may even be more efficient in the AMT mode. Win-Win in both
Dry Ice is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2014, 17:04   #3

I believe both cars don't come with any sort of safety features?

I would skip it and get a Brio / Micra CVT instead, unless budget is the biggest priority. There would be good options available in the used car market as well.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2014, 17:08   #4

Originally Posted by Dry Ice View Post
I think you interchanged the pricing part there.

Celerio would be more spacious than the K10. At least looks bigger. K10 should be fun in the manual mode and may even be more efficient in the AMT mode. Win-Win in both
Thanks, have corrected it now. I infact heard that AMT is more refined in K10 and Celerio is up for a tweak which I would miss out on.

I believe both cars don't come with any sort of safety features?
You are right, however, this would be a secondary car for just 10 kms a day of 10 kmph bumper to bumper traffic and therefore cost and mileage are the criteria.
pahwa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 10:47   #5
D4D

this would be a secondary car for just 10 kms a day of 10 kmph bumper to bumper traffic and therefore cost and mileage are the criteria.
If only one person would be travelling, just buy the Alto K10 AMT.
Old 4th November 2014, 11:36   #6

You are right, however, this would be a secondary car for just 10 kms a day of 10 kmph bumper to bumper traffic and therefore cost and mileage are the criteria.
If this is the case then why don't you wait a little more and go for Nano AMT? It would be cheaper and spacious than Alto K10.
Old 4th November 2014, 12:37   #7

Alto K10 looks to me like a 4-wheeled equivalent of an Activa. Wouldn't mind having one lying around the garage.
Neither cars are going to be good for long trips anyway, so why not go for the cheaper more manoeuvrable one?
Old 4th November 2014, 12:41   #8

K10 AMT & Celerio AMT are not directly comparable just because of engines. K10 has always been the cheapest car with K10 engine. The costs of Celerio or WagonR are higher because of higher quality. It is evident from any test ride too. Unless one wanted the cheapest AMT, I would suggest to cough up for Celerio.
ani_meher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 13:18   #9

Pahwa,

Considering your priorities, I wouldn’t recommend spending an extra lakh.
For the extra money, the benefits(quality/looks) you’d derive with a Celerio over the K10 don’t fall in your priorities.
From what I understand, what you’re looking for is a rugged, cheap to run and easy to drive car for regular short drives.
The K10 ticks all your boxes, and would save you some hard earned money.
SoulDrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 13:53   #10

If I have to choose between tin boxes, I'd rather have the cheaper one which coincidentally is also the more chuckable between the two options!
theMAG is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 14:11   #11

Alto K10 AMT all the way. A blind choice for me and I agree with 'theMAG' as the Alto is better on the driveability point of view.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 14:17   #12

The Alto AMT makes far more sense.

Newer model, same engine and at 30% rebate!!
Best seller.
Old 4th November 2014, 14:28   #13

Originally Posted by mihirgadre View Post
Alto K10 looks to me like a 4-wheeled equivalent of an Activa. Wouldn't mind having one lying around the garage.
What exactly does the statement mean? Is the intent to demean the K10 or the Activa, or both? Do you buy vehicles to enhance the aesthetics of your garage? Thoroughly confused

Originally Posted by mihirgadre View Post
Neither cars are going to be good for long trips anyway, so why not go for the cheaper more manoeuvrable one?
I won't even start on folks traversing the length and breadth of the country on M800, an even smaller car than these two. Sure if one has the moolah than even the Aventador would be within reach. It will be good to make constructive comments which inform readers, rather than making caustic ones which neither inform nor amuse
hothatchaway is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th November 2014, 14:30   #14

If this what you need, an AMT/ Auto, and these are your two choices, then I would say go with the Alto, you will be very happy with the choice as you use it over time.

I am hoping this is mainly for city use of course.

Also, if you dont mind, you can consider a used i10 Auto box as well, which would fit in to the 3-4 Lac bracket. Some of us including myself have chosen to go down this route as well.
Old 4th November 2014, 14:37   #15

I'd go with the Alto K10 since your use is purely utilitarian. A driver airbag is available, but i think it's only on the 5 speed MT Vxi (O).

Last edited by Tushar : 4th November 2014 at 14:40.