Old 30th September 2006, 09:26   #1

What used car for 1.5 lacs

My cousin is looking to buy a used car for 1.5 lacs.

Model- 2002 and newer

Budget- 1.5lacs approx (15K here and there)

Fuel economy- 12kmpl in city with A/c

Main requirement- Parents are aged and mobility is restricted, hence rear seat should be comfortable and leg space should be good.

I have shortlisted the following to suggest him

1. Maruti wagonR
2. Hyundai Santro
3. tata Indica
4. Fiat Palio 1.2
5. Ford Ikon 1.3 Nxt
6. Opel corsa 1.4

I have suggested Palio or Indica as first options considering more space and less maintainence. Have I done right?
Old 30th September 2006, 10:25   #2

With its high depreciation levels, the Palio seems to fit your friends requirements most.
Old 30th September 2006, 15:11   #3

Maruti Alto
Wagon R
Fiat Palio
Hyundai Santro Zip 1.1

All good machines, well maintained would fit around his budget. +- a few or less.
Old 30th September 2006, 15:16   #4

Your friend can go with either a used Alto or a Hyundai Santro. Both are good city cars, will give good FE and service is great too
Old 30th September 2006, 15:46   #5

Originally Posted by devarshi84
My cousin is looking to buy a used car for 1.5 lacs.
Main requirement- Parents are aged and mobility is restricted, hence rear seat should be comfortable and leg space should be good.
In this case, avoid all cars with low seating. Getting in and out will be a big issue. I think the cars with tall boy designs should be the first choice...so its essentially a choice b/w santro and WagonR... I prefer wagon-R amongst the two. Of course indica cant be matched in terms of legroom and comfort. But a used Indica? the older versions are supposed to have lot of problems...
Old 2nd October 2006, 22:12   #6

What abt the Zen?? It does fit the budget.
Old 2nd October 2006, 22:37   #7

Agree with kvish... You yourself have mentioned that there is restricted mobility. So i recommend either of wagonR or Santro... Personally i think wagonR will be better coz it has wee bit more leg room. Plus it returns just a little more mileage..
BUTTTT i dont think one can find a wagonR (2002 or newer) power/non power steering for <1.5lac...
So ultimately it just comes down to Alto... However if you can find a wagonR for <1.5lac, go for it...
P.S. The rear of Alto is not THAT bad but one cant have everything....

Last edited by ess_a : 2nd October 2006 at 22:39.
Old 3rd October 2006, 00:01   #8

i think you have done pretty right with suggesting indica or palio.

p.s are you sure you can get a wagon r or santro 2002 for less than 1.5lakhs ? they sell for around 2-2.5 lakhs here in madras.
Old 3rd October 2006, 03:06   #9
elf

@devarshi84: You should be able to get a good Alto Lx (800cc) within your budget.
They're really great cars, with class leading reliability, air-conditioning, fuel efficiency & build quality.

If you can live with the problems, then the Indica should also suit you fine.

A Santro would be a dream but any car within 1.5 lakhs would probably be a mess, & may give more problems than peace of mind.
Old 3rd October 2006, 08:28   #10

Originally Posted by elf
@devarshi84: You should be able to get a good Alto Lx (800cc) within your budget.
Firstly Its not me who's getting a car and secondly for parents who are not comfortable with less space and restricted with mobility Alto will no cut out.

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
i think you have done pretty right with suggesting indica or palio.

p.s are you sure you can get a wagon r or santro 2002 for less than 1.5lakhs ? they sell for around 2-2.5 lakhs here in madras.
You are right. my cousin said the same thing about WagonR and Santro. It looks he is more inclined towards the palio. Its only done 38K and is costing 1.6 if I remember correctly.
Old 3rd October 2006, 08:39   #11

Fiat Palio Easily. I have some reasons to support the choice too .
  • Palio's build quality is terrfic so that even a second hand car will run without squeaks and rattles unlike the rest.
  • Beautiful ride keeping aside corsa which is a great car but sadly I dont think its practical to own one when the whole brand is been shipping back from INdia (Opel).
  • Driving experience , I wouldnt say its got a great engine (1.2 )but steering response is almost linear and direct .
  • Quite spacious.
  • You will get a newer car due to its high rate of depriciation .
  • Safe as a tank.

Last edited by maxbhp : 3rd October 2006 at 08:40.
Old 3rd October 2006, 11:15   #12
elf

Firstly Its not me who's getting a car and secondly for parents who are not comfortable with less space and restricted with mobility Alto will no cut out.
In that case, I'd like to second maxbhp. The Palio would make a good choice, though check for cost of spares & the service network in your area.
Old 3rd October 2006, 12:23   #13

It looks he is more inclined towards the palio. Its only done 38K and is costing 1.6 if I remember correctly.
what are you (or rather your cousin) waiting for???

Last edited by arif_t01 : 3rd October 2006 at 12:25.
Old 3rd October 2006, 20:52   #14

I am in Canada and he is in Ahmedabad. We are yet to talk again. Will post the proceedings as soon as We have talked.

I think its palio 1.2 as of now. Its a 2002 model with 38K on the odo. He said its in pretty good condition which makes the deal kinda sweet.

Will post an update soon.
Old 6th October 2006, 14:39   #15

Since the parents are aged, the Indica would also be preferable due to its tough suspension that absorbs most irregularies on a road, making for a more comfortable rear-seat experience. The Indica has very comfortable rear seats as well