Team-BHP - pre-owned Wagon R or pre-owned Bolero - pls advice
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Hatchbacks (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/hatchbacks/)
-   -   pre-owned Wagon R or pre-owned Bolero - pls advice (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/hatchbacks/21057-pre-owned-wagon-r-pre-owned-bolero-pls-advice.html)

Hi,

I am planning to buy a car. Was using a bike so long. But with a baby due, have decided to buy a car. Currently also using my dad's M800.

I am an IT professional based in Bangalore. My current situation is that I will be in India for 1 to 1.5 years, before I go for a long term stint abroad (2 years).

Hence I have decided to go for a second-hand car, as I would lose too much money on the new car depreciation, if I ty to sell it after just 1 to 1.5 years.

I have short listed my choice to a Bolero or a Wagon R (with LPG conversion).

My requirements from the car are as follows:

1) High reliabilty (no break downs)
2) Good resale value
3) Low maintennance costs
4) ability to take bad roads as the road to the area I live in has a large stretch (2 km) of dirt roads with big pot holes

The points that I would like information on to make a decision are:-

Regarding Bolero

1) How is the re-sale value of a Bolero? Is there a ready market for it, in case I need to sell it in a hurry?

2) How reliable would a second hand bolero be? I have read in reviews that a Bolero can be expected to be virtually problem free for 10 years?

3) Is it ok to drive a Bolero through badly pot holed roads without reducing speed (say 40 kmph). Is it buit to stand such treatment? Or will it damage the vehicle or say even lead to the development of rattling noise, etc?

4) How is the Bolero in city driving conditions (turning radius, parallel parking, etc)?

Regarding Wagon R

1) How tolerant is the car to bad roads?
The M800 I am currently driving has developed a couple of rattling noises, because of the bad roads in the area I live (this despite driving