Old 27th April 2009, 22:51   #31

1.1 or 1.3

Originally Posted by loving_alaap View Post
What is the real difference in FE between 1.1 & 1.3 Getz?
Hey,

if you are bothered about mileage then go for 1.1, if not go for 1.3 you will always have extra power with you. Well i have a 1.1 getz its a new one and giving me 11kmpl with 100% AC city driving sedate driving. My accent with 94 bhp gives around 8. to 8.5 city 100% ac on same roads.

Just drive both cars check for your yearly usage, if used more than 10k 1.1 will be fairly economical. 1.3 as i have heard gives around 8 to 9 in city with AC. The showroom guys are itself telling this,i dont know why they are not promoting 1.3. But my advice if you can stretch to the price of 1.3 then i20 will be anyday better choice for you, bcos getz may be discontinued in future, but the I series are here to stay.
Old 28th April 2009, 15:22   #32

8-9 KMPL by a hatch!!!! (1.3 Getz)

No way.

1.1 is the practical choice.

Better go for Accent / Getz CRDI than.
Old 2nd May 2009, 15:23   #33

yeah alaap, that was the figures showroom guys also quoted for 1.3 getz, around 8 to 13, city and highway and overall 11. thats why he wanted to go for 1.1.Any discounts avaliable guys if someone know, as i said its just 20K on exchange nothing else.
Old 4th May 2009, 16:04   #34

Well, there are lots of adds coming for big discounts on getz 1.1

starts at 3.99 lacs, 20K loyalty bonus, 10K something corporate discount etc etc.
Old 7th May 2009, 11:16   #35

Originally Posted by loving_alaap View Post
Well, there are lots of adds coming for big discounts on getz 1.1

starts at 3.99 lacs, 20K loyalty bonus, 10K something corporate discount etc etc.
Now Hyundai have reduced the prices for Getz 1.1 by 30 K, so base model of getz is costing
406000 (chennai) - 20000 (loyalty or exchage bonus) - 4000 (corporate disc) = 382000 onroad + floor mats + remote lock (bargain).

So the rate is less than Astar and its twice as big and well built as Astar. Real VFM guys. The car is even bigger than a sedan inside even the boot space is lot bigger. Actually this car shouldnt be compared with A star at all, but its so cheap.
Old 7th May 2009, 13:27   #36

i enquired in ahmedabad and the rates for 1.1 base model is 3.95/- on road less 20k exchange discount, nothing else like mats,perfumes,remote nothing is offered.so it gets to 3.75/- on road for base 1.1.
Old 11th May 2009, 14:28   #37

well than, its a real VFM.

I remember Santro at once sold 3.75 +++ even 5-6 years back.
Old 11th May 2009, 16:10   #38

Checked with the Pune dealers. OTR is Rs. 4,12,000 and they are offering a corporate discount of Rs. 8,000.
Old 11th May 2009, 17:15   #39

I use Getz Prime 1.3, 2007 model.

I have not got a mileage below 10. Usually, the mileage is between 11 and 12. My usage is bumper to bumper bangalore traffic with regular use of A/C.
Old 12th May 2009, 15:33   #40

Is it wise to go for GetZ 1.1 instead of Santro/Wagon R. I am looking for a perfect City car (bangalore). Don't have big family, only wife and a small kid. I am considering this since it comes in sub 4 lakhs.
Old 13th May 2009, 11:34   #41

I own Getz Prime 1.3 and I am surprised to see someone saying thats its underpowered due to some gearing issue. I can get to 100 kmph speed in very less time(cannot say the correct time as I had never checked). Its all about how you revv the engine. Its has a great performance for sure and at 83 bhp/1341 cc its a great drive.

My mileage is between 12-12.5 kmpl with 50% AC. and I must say I drive hard so that mileage might go up more in case I become a sedate driver.

I generally drive in Bangalore city office hours and sometimes take a trip to some other city say Chennai. On Highways 120 - 140 kmph is easy especially on the Bangalore - Chennai highway from Hosur. the road is awesome and the car is revv friendly and very stable at high speed. In hindi we say 'dubb ke chalti hai' .

It has loads of space too.

1.1 is just enough for the city and my neighbour who has 1.1 says he gets 13-14 kmpl with 50% AC but he feels a bit underpowered. So if you do not need power go for 1.1 otherwise 1.3 should be the case.

Drive well, agree with the traffic rules and wear seat belts please.
Old 15th May 2009, 15:40   #42

Rev it, The 1.1 Getz

You cannot call it underpowered, but it fails (1.1) to pull in 4th or 5th gear for a overtaking procedure, or after a turn made, if the speed falls below 50. Its better to downshift to 3rd or 2nd from 5th to overtake, else you cant make it in 1.1. The inital response of 1.1 is more than my Accent but after thats its the big brother.
You just need to maintain 1 gear down lesser in traffic than bigger cars to maintain more accelaration. Speed is not a problem as it touches 120 with ease and Top is 160 as tested.

I am getting a mileage of 12+ with 100 %AC in my getz 1.1 in city bumper traffic, for its space and comfort its more than enough not to forget its price!
Old 15th May 2009, 18:43   #43

Originally Posted by krish82 View Post
You cannot call it underpowered, but it fails (1.1) to pull in 4th or 5th gear for a overtaking procedure, or after a turn made, if the speed falls below 50. Its better to downshift to 3rd or 2nd from 5th to overtake, else you cant make it in 1.1. The inital response of 1.1 is more than my Accent but after thats its the big brother.
You just need to maintain 1 gear down lesser in traffic than bigger cars to maintain more accelaration. Speed is not a problem as it touches 120 with ease and Top is 160 as tested.

I am getting a mileage of 12+ with 100 %AC in my getz 1.1 in city bumper traffic, for its space and comfort its more than enough not to forget its price!
absolutelyright. 1.1 is the preferred choice for city driving.
Old 3rd August 2009, 14:26   #44

Originally Posted by vijaythacker View Post
if it has 5 adults and full trunk then you do feel its less powerful but overall was good ride and very comfortable and easy to drive.Very good quality overall outside as well as inside atleast after driving indica for 5 years. What do you all experts suggest he shall go for, 1.1 or 1.3. His friends 1.1 gle i guess is the base one gives him 17 kmpl on highways and 13 in city, what could be expected in 1.3 getz.Pour your inputs.
Dude i just bought a Getz Prime 1.3GLS 2 months back the car has done 6900Kms on the odo. It gives me a FE of 10.8 to 11KMPL(while using Speed fuel) after driving it decently in the city conditions with the ac switched on all the time & gives 13KMPL on the highway with an average speed of 120-130. Its an excellent car on the highway as well as for the city driving i've never felt that the car is underpowered but if you are looking for a good mileage then don't go for the 1.3 i guess 1.1 would be a better option.
Hyundai Getz Prime 1.1/1.3-getz-1.3gls.jpg  

Last edited by caroholic1 : 3rd August 2009 at 14:28.
Old 9th September 2009, 10:09   #45

Originally Posted by caroholic1 View Post
Dude i just bought a Getz Prime 1.3GLS 2 months back the car has done 6900Kms on the odo. It gives me a FE of 10.8 to 11KMPL(while using Speed fuel) after driving it decently in the city conditions with the ac switched on all the time & gives 13KMPL on the highway with an average speed of 120-130.
What is the recommended tire pressure in the GLS. (175/70/R13). On a friend's car, I felt 30 psi on the lower side. I think, it could do with 31 or 32.

What are the RPM readings in 5th gear while doing 100, 110, 120, and 130 speeds.

Last edited by dipen : 9th September 2009 at 10:12.