Old 17th May 2021, 12:23   #1

Diesel workhorse: Hyundai i20 VS Tata Altroz

The only two hatchbacks with diesel heart.

Quoting from official reviews:

TATA Altroz

Pros:

• Looks absolutely stunning! Solid build too
• Nice interior with good quality parts & adequate space
• Accommodating 345-litre boot is among the biggest of the segment
• Competent turbo-diesel engine. Good driveability, punchy & fuel-efficient
• Mature on-road behaviour, including at highway speeds
• 5-star NCAP safety rating! Safety package includes dual airbags, CSC, break reminder etc.
• Enjoyable Harman 6-speaker ICE. Superb sound quality
• Impressive kit (auto headlamps & wipers, cruise control, ambient lighting, adjustable armrest...)
• Factory-fitted customisation packs available

Cons:

• Diesel variant carries a high premium! Works out to 1.5 lakh rupees on the road
• The Altroz diesel should have gotten the Nexon's tune & gearbox
• Under-powered, weak & noisy 3-cylinder 1.2L petrol engine
• Suspension has a firm edge at low speeds (16" rim variants). Bad roads will bother you
• Service visit every 6 months / 7,500 km (1 year / 10,000 km is the norm today)
• Some missing features (auto-dimming IRVM, thinner spare tyre on top trims, split-folding rear seat...)
• No automatic variant in a market that loves its ATs
• Tata's after-sales service quality is a hit or miss. Remains a gamble
• Concerns over niggles in a freshly-baked Tata product
Hyundai i20

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
Ride & Handling

The i20 uses a McPherson strut suspension with coil springs at the front and a coupled torsion beam at the rear. The suspension tune is sorted & owners will be satisfied. Low speed ride quality is compliant & mature,
Out on the open road, straight line stability is excellent, while the handling is neutral & predictable. It's no VW or Ford, yet the behaviour is sorted. The i20 remains composed through fast corners too....
The grip provided by the 195/55 Ceat Secura Drive tyres is acceptable for regular drivers.The electric power steering is light and butter-smooth at parking / city speeds.
All variants of the i20 come with disc brakes at the front and drums at the rear, with ABS + EBD. The brakes perform as expected. The car stops in a straight line sans drama when braking from high speeds.
  • i20 is lighter and has 240Nm torque vs Altroz with 200Nm
  • Altroz felt solid and felt much better while going through rough patch.
  • i20 diesel, I assume is Fixed Geometry Turbo which does duty in Sonet and Venue, felt linear in PD which coupled with light clutch and low NVH, made it a better city car. Altroz on the other hand is more composed over the undulating highways.

What would you choose?

Mods please add poll, as I coudnt.
Old 17th May 2021, 17:25   #2

Re: Diesel workhorse: Hyundai i20 VS Tata Altroz

Please refer to this thread

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/hatch...mpetition.html (Tata Altroz vs the competition)

Kindly search before starting new threads. Thank You.
Eddy is offline   (4) Thanks