Old 15th May 2007, 15:46   #16

Getz or swift if you want petrol. In diesel its the Swift diesel.
With your kind of running swift diesel makes a lot of sense.
You had a Palio before, not wanting to buy a palio again?
Old 15th May 2007, 15:50   #17

True Story
My close friend's(Sarang) dad drives Esteem
My friend's brother(Mangesh) recently bought Palio 1.2.
My friend(Sarang) do drive Mangesh's car sometime.
Earlier Sarang is having plans for Esteem, after driving Manhesh's Palio. His mind changed.
Now Sarang is gonna settle with Palio Stile Sport 1.6
I drove Palio 1.2 and dont like other hatch in that segment.
This is for those who love driving.
Old 15th May 2007, 15:56   #18

Arre yaar please stop this Palio v/s Esteem thing.
Both the cars are not even in his shortlist.
Please stick to the topic.
Old 15th May 2007, 15:58   #19

Parag, since you have already had your share of fun with the Palio for 5 years I would recommend the Swift Diesel. Its a nice car to drive. Haven't seen or driven the U-Va yet hence cant comment.
Old 15th May 2007, 16:18   #20

I drove Diesel swift. Its good, silent. But found some engine noice/vibration at particular RPM. When you do a test drive try with higher gear at low speed. Revv hard. Do some cornering too. At idle it was awaysome silent, no one can figure out from the engine sound whether it Petrol or Diesel (at idle), even with open bonet.
Old 15th May 2007, 16:39   #21

Originally Posted by Ajay_J View Post
U-VA OR Swift ZXI/VDI.
How is the service of GM in Pune? and Are spare parts costly?
Old 15th May 2007, 17:00   #22

Swift Diesel...Or try a good second hand Accent CRDi....
Old 15th May 2007, 17:03   #23

I will not suggest for used diesel vehicle. If it is not maintaned well will cost you a lot.
Old 15th May 2007, 17:14   #24

Is ford fusion worth considering?
Old 15th May 2007, 17:50   #25

Originally Posted by paragindia View Post
Is ford fusion worth considering?
If you can stretch your budget Fusion TDCi can be a good option. It may arrive in July this year. Fusion petrol may not suite you. Low FE.
Old 15th May 2007, 18:09   #26

Please get the Estilo out of the picture. After driving around a Palio, the Estlio will leave you cursing yourself.

I would suggest go in for a Swift-D, despite the waiting period, if you can wait.
Old 15th May 2007, 18:12   #27

I'd suggest Indica Diesel, if you don't mind the taxi-looks and modest prestige factor. It'll save you a lot of money, both at the time of buying and in the long run. Or.. get Swift Diesel... but sit in the front, next to your driver.

Fusion is out of question, due to its poor mileage. You might consider Ford Fiesta, if resale value, maintenance costs are not a problem.
Old 15th May 2007, 18:47   #28

Parag. Still looking for your requirements in detail ...

Originally Posted by paragindia View Post
I was driving palio for 5 years I sold it this this month.

I am looking for car:
- 50 KM daily running - city or highway
- Driver drives on weekdays
- I drive on weekends - what kind of car would you like? Sedate, frugal, sporty?
- 3-4 long trips in a year
- Budget is < 6 Lac
What else would you like from the car? In terms of interiors? Power windows, child locks? Who else will be using the car? Etc. etc.

I would think, you being in Pune, the Indica diesel would be the best bet, but waiting to hear more.
Old 15th May 2007, 18:52   #29

Swift Zxi makes sense
Old 15th May 2007, 18:54   #30

Originally Posted by typeOnegative View Post
I would think, you being in Pune, the Indica diesel would be the best bet, but waiting to hear more.
Nope! You don't buy an indica if you have 6 lakhs to spend. If you want something < 4.5L and want great economy then you buy an indica.
When you have 6 lakhs you look at Swift/Getz or UVA which in my opinion is overpriced just like the getz.
If he does not mind the petrol bills and wants a spacious hatch, getz makes more sense than the UVA.
If he wants a performance machine and is happy with A.S.S. then Palio 1.6 is a good choice.
If he wants reliable nice hatch with adequate performance and does not bother much about interior space you have the swift.
If he wants an oil burner, its the Indigo vs swift diesel slug. Depending on what he wants(Space or performance) the choice swings either way.

In all this the indica is nowhere in question when you are willing to spend 6 lakhs.
Ask me, have owned lots of indica's in the family and one indica myself. Have owned indigo too. The reason was VFM. Most car/buck is what we wanted. When you have 6 lakhs lying around, you don't buy the humble indica