Old 17th August 2007, 07:42   #1

Two option to buy reg ZEN..kindly suggest.urgent PLZ

wITH used ZEN i have 2 options . 1- used ZEN LX 99 done about 70000km & nicely serviced by TVS & service cost was abt 15k( how much mileage can i expect from this carburettor model ).This has average music system/cd player & central lock with remote . priced 1.55 lakh inclusive of service cost.
option 2. ZEN LX 2003 has done 60000 km. vehice is v.good. with music system and central lock. priced 2.25.( how much mileage can i expect from this MPFI model ).
Which one is recommended. TIA.
my requirement
mostly single Driven at times 2 or 3 would travel. monthly 400-500 KMs in city & about 300-450 in hiways. mixed 900 km per month.
looking for COMFORTABLE drive mainly w/o any body or back ache / good mileage /easy maintenance .one more point im not very keen to keep this vehice 1 OR 1 and a half year. so resale is also a factor
Old 17th August 2007, 17:19   #2

2nd option is good. But the price is too steep.
Old 17th August 2007, 17:42   #3

could you please further clarify:
1.can you up your budget a bit?
2.why the one year disposal intention?
3.why do you have to decide between these 2 specific cars only?
never found the zen seating position comfy.
Old 17th August 2007, 17:54   #4

ZEN LX 2003 is better option as it has a MPFI engine, you will get good mileage, but cost is too high, you shd get same vehicle at around 1.80 / 1.90 lakh Rs, Don’t make hurry if , Negotiate and get the vehicle

Jitendra
Old 17th August 2007, 18:01   #5

Go for the 2003 model, you get 10 bhp more compared to the Carb model, which translates to better power and the AC also functions a little better in the MPFI model accodring to me, and the power drop is also less with AC compared to the carb model. Try to bargain though, as there is room for it.
Old 17th August 2007, 18:19   #6

Hey, look at his location, it's chennai and prices are very different then that of Mumbai.Here, down south prices are bit on higher side. Yeah still it's a bit high and you can negotiate 15k less for both these cars.
As per mileage, I'm getting around 11-11.4 km/ltr (city driving) and yeah I've checked it top-up to top-up many a times. I think Highway it gives around 15km/ltr not more then that.
Old 17th August 2007, 22:18   #7

MPFi is always a better option.
I drive one and i get around 13-15kmpl in city depending on the way i drive. Highways it has never given me a FE below 15 kmpl..
Old 17th August 2007, 23:10   #8

I had a Zen LX, March 2000, Carb, and it regularly gave me a milegae of 15-17 KMPL with AC in Delhi city driving and highways with a mix of 60/40. If you can get it around 1.35-1.40 K buy it as you dont want to keep it for long.
Old 18th August 2007, 00:30   #9

Originally Posted by shapath View Post
option 2. ZEN LX 2003 has done 60000 km. vehice is v.good. with music system and central lock. priced 2.25.( how much mileage can i expect from this MPFI model ).
Shapath,

I bought a June 2001 Zen Lx, in December 2004 (so that made it a 3.5 year old car) for 2.15 l in Mumbai. Car had done 26,000 kms and came with power windows, remote locking and an 'ok' music system.

Although Chennai prices may be higher than Mumbai, I think 2.25 l for a car thats done 60,000 kms is on the higher side, also considering that this Zen is now discontinued.

Try and negotiate down to a little under 2l. Also, is this car through a dealer or private seller. I wouldn't mind paying a little extra to a Maruti true value dealership, for that little extra peace of mind.

Suhail
Old 18th August 2007, 00:45   #10

for this kind of price, you could, i am not saying you would, get a sweet esteem mpfi all of 85 BHP & a true 11 Kmpl in the city.
Old 18th August 2007, 09:54   #11
j_j

I would agree with John, but may be we both "love" Esteem.

If in case you have fixed your mind on a Zen, then u could go for the Carb model itself. Should give you 12 to 14 per lit n resale value might not drop that steep, may be you will loose about 20k max after a year, so your spending only about Rs 55 a day to keep the car.

Forget the power diff between the MPFi n carb one, coz in Chennai even Auto's goes faster than the car, for once in a while long drive, enjoy your drive by sticking between 80kmph to 100kmph, which even the carb on will do with out any second thought.

Try to neg for 20 to 25k less for the carb model, coz the qoute is a little high even for Chennai, which will cut even the Rs 55 spent by you per day. So you will be saving about 75, with that money you can keep half for spenting on fuel (in case you feel that MPFi gives better fuel economy, though its a hype IMHO) n the rest to upgrade your car, may be the tyers, mag, filter, FFE n list goes on.
Old 18th August 2007, 10:13   #12

Two option to buy reg ZEN..kindly suggest.urgent PLZ

thanks for the responses. yeah this is from MYTVS with 1 year warranty for engine & gearbox with 3 free service .CARWALE itself quotes about 2.24 for good condition ( which CAR is ) with dealer warranty. reg the 99 zen the dealer has spend about 17k recently & vehicle is real good condition so it is 1.55 instead of 1.35.

Originally Posted by swale84 View Post
Shapath,
I bought a June 2001 Zen Lx, in December 2004 (so that made it a 3.5 year old car) for 2.15 l in Mumbai. Car had done 26,000 kms and came with power windows, remote locking and an 'ok' music system.

Although Chennai prices may be higher than Mumbai, I think 2.25 l for a car thats done 60,000 kms is on the higher side, also considering that this Zen is now discontinued.

Try and negotiate down to a little under 2l. Also, is this car through a dealer or private seller. I wouldn't mind paying a little extra to a Maruti true value dealership, for that little extra peace of mind.

Suhail
Old 19th August 2007, 06:04   #13

Go in for the 2003 mpfi because:
-Its a newer model
-Will have better resale
-more power

FE shouldn't be an issue. Refer to nitrous' post. Try to bring the price down though.