Old 31st January 2008, 02:26   #1

Second hand car suggestion

Hey guys, I am posting this on behalf of a friend of mine. The budget is 1.3-1.4lac apart from another 10-15k set aside to get the car done up.

The car will be kept for another 3 years at the most, in the process might run for another 25k kms(at the most). FE requirements not very rigid, ~10kmpl in the city should do. No issues about resale value after 3 years.

Not looking at alto/800/santro and other small cars, mostly looking at palio/siena/petra 1.6, is that a realistic budget?(in Bangalore) and also what about fusion petrol/ikon 1.6? or will that be way over the budget? Basically looking at decent fun to drive cars that did not set the sales charts on fire, as a result, is a good deal as a used vehicle.

One thing I hear about is non-availability of spares for fiat vehicles, is it really going to be a very huge problem(in bangalore) considering the low usage the car will be subjected to? Also, what about ford spares availability and after sales service?

I have suggested(and what might also be a viable option) is to get an MPFI esteem, but wanted to know all your opinions first.

ps: I did run a search and went through the last 25-30 pages, but did not find anything similar already discussed, http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...rd-escort.html came close though.
Old 31st January 2008, 10:57   #2

Hi buddy i have been in this problem just a month back, For your budget 1.3 to 1.4
and your choices palio/siena/petra 1.6 you would search a lot to get a good car i didnt find any in that price range ....this just my opinion so i guess if u search hard you might be able to get ...a palio...
Old 31st January 2008, 11:07   #3

With the budget of 1.3L - 1.4L in Bangalore, Options you have are(small cars left out as per ur sugestion) Esteem(carb), Sienna. But I doubt about the other cars for this rate, you may need to add another 25K for the other cars.
Old 31st January 2008, 14:32   #4

You have to increase your budget if you are not looking for a small car.
Old 31st January 2008, 17:35   #5

i think you ll get ford ikon in this budget,(70000+kms,2000-01 model)but i ll suggest either you increase your budget or go for santro/wagonr(2001-02)
Old 31st January 2008, 17:45   #6

Originally Posted by ankit.jhamb View Post
i think you ll get ford ikon in this budget,(70000+kms,2000-01 model)but i ll suggest either you increase your budget or go for santro/wagonr(2001-02)
You will not get the Santro/Wagon R for his budget. Last year I sold my 2002 wagonR for 2.2L. How come in one year it will reduce a Lac of rupees. What is needed is he has to seriously relook into his budget.

Last edited by snaronikar : 31st January 2008 at 17:46.
Old 31st January 2008, 18:28   #7

The only 'big car' (that will not kill you with repair bills) in a decent shape that is available at this price is Esteem.
Old 31st January 2008, 18:44   #8

Esteem or Palio is fine. In that budget you will not find anything else.

Esteem is a great car. Siena I am not sure of !!
Old 31st January 2008, 19:43   #9

My vote is for Esteem. You will be getting a 8 years or older car - so service and availability of spares is important.
Old 31st January 2008, 19:52   #10

I think you need to increase your budget. OR look for pre-2000 esteem.
Old 31st January 2008, 21:46   #11

Hey thanks for the comments guys, its not my budget, I am posting on behalf of my friend, anyway.. I was under the impression that its not so difficult to source an MPFI esteem or siena/palio 1.6 in that budget, I have come across posts on various threads in the last 25 or so pages that claim sienas/palios usually go for around 1.1-1.2lac at the most and stuff like that. Isn't it true that there aren't many takers for these cars in the second hand market and hence they dont command very good resale value? well, I will tell my friend to increase the budget.

Increasing the budget aside, what is the feedback on getting siena/palio considering the fact that it will be used for another 3 years/25k kms?
Old 1st February 2008, 12:35   #12

We are not saying you won't. But, a well maintained car at that price is hard to locate.
You buy a badly maintained car and end up spending huge amount to get it going which brings the cost to again 1.7 - 1.9 range.

But if you are able to locate a good one at that price, go ahead surely but do pl check throughly.
Old 1st February 2008, 14:43   #13

Originally Posted by windsurfer View Post
We are not saying you won't. But, a well maintained car at that price is hard to locate.
You buy a badly maintained car and end up spending huge amount to get it going which brings the cost to again 1.7 - 1.9 range.

But if you are able to locate a good one at that price, go ahead surely but do pl check throughly.
what is the point to find a badly maintained car @1.1-1.2 Lakhs and spend huge amount on repairs!!
Old 1st February 2008, 14:49   #14

25k kms in 3 years is the estimated usage of the car.
This translates to about 600 ~ 700 kms a month.

While that is not a lot, your friend will need to have his car in decent shape and ready to use everyday.
Such a thing may not be possible with a sedan bought with so much depreciation.

He can either raise the budget or buy a good Alto/800 for 1.25 lakhs.
The car will still be in the prime of health (unless he gets a lemon).

IMO: Its a choice between reliabilty and space.
Old 1st February 2008, 15:01   #15

yeah I do agree, the car being a lemon is hypothetical, the least janjhat thing to do now would be to either settle for a decently maintained siena, or increase the budget and get a ~5 yr old esteem mpfi, me thinks. while we are at it, I've heard that IT companies have an internal circulation of employees cars on sale and stuff, if any of you are aware of good sienas/esteems for sale do PM me.. thankyou